SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
10 221240 10/12/2012
Recommended By Average Purchase
80% of reviewers $366.63
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
7.56
spacerspacer
7.56
spacerspacer
7.22
1tamron18-200f35-63.jpg


Keywords: Tamron Canon Nikon Minolta Pentax Wide Mid Tele Zoom APS-C Di-II LD Tested


dugong5pm

Registered: October 2012
Posts: 52
Tamron 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF AF review by dugong5pm
Review Date: 10/12/2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $360.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: versatile, price
Cons: slow AF, lens creep, f/6.3, soft tele-end

good for basic and walkaround lens. Used outdoor in daylight, this lens performs well. It gives decent sharpness & color renderings.


Use in lowlights/indoor.. this lens will hunt for focus like crazy. It won't be pretty usable in lowlights due its slow aperture (f/6.3) and lack of VC. I prefer using the lenskit combo (18-55 & 55-200 with VR/IS) than this lens.
Milo2041

Registered: February 2012
Posts: 3
Tamron 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF AF review by Milo2041
Review Date: 6/18/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 4 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I am very unimpressed with this lens on the A77 Sony and while it may be a good lens, I believe that it is not that compatible with the Sony camera. Likely works better on Canon or other cameras. I sent it back within 2 days to Amazon and exchanged it for a Sony 18-250mm The results are like night and day.
nabarunguha

Registered: April 2012
Posts: 1
Tamron 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF AF review by nabarunguha
Review Date: 4/16/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I have a Nikon D3100 dslr with the nikon 18-55mm kit lens.i am planning to buy the tamron 18-200mm.what i want to knwo is whether this lens autofocusse with the d3100 and whether anyone has used this combination.
Niel

Registered: February 2007
Posts: 7
Tamron 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF AF review by Niel
Review Date: 8/29/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $110.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Price, zoom range, compact, reasonably well built.
Cons: Zooms the wrong way on Nikon. Low AF gearing.

Bought new when one of the chains was off-loading stock to buy in the motorised version at a price I couldn't beat.
Normally on my D50 as a walk around, also used on my D1x when I need the reach and minimal gear to carry, though I prefer my Nikon 18-70 and Adaptall 80-210 MF on that one normally.
Nikons 18-200 VR is too expensive, the VR and Sigma's OS version reportedly have issues with their VR reliability, so the simple NON VR option has advantages, if they'd only include a manual aperture ring as well!
Compact, good range, cheap, well built, not perfect but acceptable enough.
Simen1

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 6
Tamron 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF AF review by Simen1
Review Date: 10/26/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $545.00| Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Very usefull Zoom-range, fair corner sharpness.
Cons: Cost more then Sigma 18-200 but performes generally worse, rotating lens.

Why does this get better grades then Sigma 18-200?
http://www.slrgear.com/reviews/showproduct.php/product/175/cat/31


When i compare theese side by side it seems Sigma 18-200 is better in important areas like 200mm f6.3 and center sharpness.


Tamron 18-200 seems to have blur at lager areas of the picture then Sigma's 18-200 but Sigma have more blur at the corners.
kbaird

Registered: April 2007
Posts: 2
Tamron 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF AF review by kbaird
Review Date: 4/26/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $320.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very nice lens all around, great for the price.
Cons: When in manual focus it is not very smooth.

I decided to try it because the price and availability of the Nikon 18-200mm VR. The VR would be good for shooting at 200mm in low light. It is far better than I had expected.
cwantuch

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2
Tamron 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF AF review by cwantuch
Review Date: 1/7/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $369.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Zoom Range, compactness
Cons: focusing speed

I've been using this lens for about 6 months on my Pentax *ist DS and taken a few thousand shots. Since I'm looking more for convenience than absolute image quality, I would have to say I'm mostly satisfied with this lens. Outdoors the lens performs well. Indoors with flash, my most common usage, I've had some auto-focusing problems, but not consistently. In those situations I just fall back to manual focus without a problem. My most common use of this lens is for family photos. When printed at 4x6, the family has often commented how how nice the prints looked in comparison to their point and shoot prints. Construction quality of the lens seems good, but perhaps a notch below my Pentax lenses.
Should this lens ever get ruined, I would not hesitate to buy another as a replacement.
edhoel

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 3
Tamron 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF AF review by edhoel
Review Date: 1/1/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Compact size, sharpnes, color and very well controlled chromatic aberation
Cons: Subject to flare

Just returned from vacation and took nearly 2000 photos and am very pleased with the results. This lens will never be confused with a Canon prime or an L series lens it is an excellent value. All photos were shot using RAW and process using DXO and PhotoShop Elements.
finalcut

Registered: October 2006
Posts: 2
Tamron 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF AF review by finalcut
Review Date: 11/29/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $350.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good zoom range, feel quality build
Cons:

I bought this lens over the Sigma 18-200. I never did regret my choice.
DARKSUN

Registered: May 2006
Posts: 1
Tamron 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 XR Di II LD Aspherical IF AF review by DARKSUN
Review Date: 5/17/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $479.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great Price, Good Range, Zoom Lock., Great sharpness
Cons: Noisy motor, slower than average AF.

I recently upgraded from my Kit 18-55 nikon lens to this all in one zoom, and I must say, I love it. It was within my budget and I get to have a all-in-one solution. Now I no longer have to chnage between my old 18-55 and 55-200 anymore. (worried about dust. etc)


Sure the Nikon Vr 18-200 is better, But not everone has the money to pay 2X the amount i paid for this lens to do the Job. On my D50 and my brother's D70s, it works flawlessly.


I especially love the barrel lock to prevent creeping when I am holding facing downwards and it comes COMPLETE with Flower Hood and all caps, and a 6 year warranty.


Overall a GREAT lens for hobbists like myself.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.