SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
9 98284 12/4/2009
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $439.50
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
7.78
spacerspacer
8.89
spacerspacer
8.78
1sigma18-50f28.jpg


Keywords: Sigma Canon Nikon Minolta Pentax Four-Thirds Wide Mid Tele Zoom DC APS-C


Nikoboyd

Registered: March 2009
Posts: 12
Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC review by Nikoboyd
Review Date: 12/4/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $360.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent IQ; very very sharp from edge to edge from f/4 to f/11, solid built, very light weight
Cons: nothing

Firstly, I bought the macro version "used" and have problems with the communication between the lens and my S5Pro, so, I returned the lens and I bought this old stock non macro version.


I have an experience that any zoom lenses usually sharp at 18mm. So,I zoomed the lens at 50 mm. tried the lens with every f/ and see what this thing can do.


At 2.8, sharp at center and SLIGHTLY soft at very far corner.


It's extremely sharp from edge to edge from f/4 to f/11. So sharp that can compete with my vintage 50 1.8 AIS. Yes, it's that sharp.


But from f/16, IQ drops because of diffraction.


About the construction, it's very solid. I prefer this lens to Nikkor 17-55 because of it's very light weight.


Very good lens, highly recommend.
f43tgv

Registered: September 2007
Posts: 16
Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC review by f43tgv
Review Date: 11/16/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $427.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, Cheap
Cons: Mock teflon finish

I bought this lens from my local camera store to go with an EOS 20D, having decided to go back to Canon. I always buy seconhand, the savings are huge.


I have used the 17-40L Canon lens a lot in the past, and have always thought it is a great lens.Very pricey though, not a lens I would stump up for at new prices.


At first glance I was not over impressed with the Sigma, as new , in its box for less than half the cost of a new 17-40L.


I really dont like the Sigma finish on the EX Lenses, it is almost impossible to keep clean, its almost tacky.


However on the basis of "bring it back if you dont like it" I decided to give it a try.


A smart move. The lens is smaller and lighter than the Canon without feeling too flimsy. It has a sensible size and shaped hood too, unlike the bucket like affair the Canon comes with.


Having used the lens for a couple of hundred shots, I have to say I am mightily impressed.


The lens is very sharp indeed , the colour and contrast are excellent, and the edges are fine.


Clearly designed to work well with a cropped sensor, Sigma have got this lens right.


It balances beautifully on the Camera and works well with the built in flash, ie no shading.


I am happy with it, and having compared a number of shots I have taken with the 17-40L with the same or similar shots taken with this lens, can see no difference at all.


At half the cost, I cant argue.


A very, very good lens at a bargain price


Highly recommended.
JGLarson

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 6
Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC review by JGLarson
Review Date: 1/13/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $450.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Extremely sharp, very compact, yet a wide max aperature
Cons: No 17mm or even 16mm, No IS like the expensive Canon

As a Pro, this is the first lens that I purchased when I switched from Nikon/Fuji to the Canon system 1.5 years ago. I first got the Canon 20D, and thought this would be a great all purpose lens. And yes, it is. I wanted a general purpose wedding lens, that could focus in dim situations. This was before Canon came out with their 17-55 f/2.8 IS, but if I were buying today, I think I would have a tough time justifying the Canon lens that was 2x the price, poorer close focus range, ~50% heavier, and bigger, just to get Image Stabilization.


I was originally going to couple it with a 100mm Canon Macro, and the Canon 70-200 f/2.8 IS to round out my begining kit. The 100 had focus accuracy issues, and had to be returned. But I found that the found that the range of the Sigma lens, it's close focus abilities, and it's resolution more than satisfactory. I have used it alot on location, but even used it for small studio catalog photography.


The resolution is very high at all apertures, and even good wide open. Sigma seems to have definately tweaked the optics to excell on a smaller chip camera, as I compared this to my friend's Canon 16-35mm f/2.8L series lens (full frame lens). The Sigma equalled or out-performed the L lens in resolution and flair control (for about 1/3 the price) in the entire zoom range (I have since also purchased a 17-40mm f/4L lens for my 5D, since my results with the 16-35 were so marginal).


Construction is not overly robust, but more than adequate, roughly equal to the Tamron 28-75 that I previously owned. The Tamron 17-50 lens was not out when I chose this lens, so I couldn't compare it at the time ( though I have been very pleased with 2 Tamron lenses when I owned Nikon/Fuji).
Wolfini

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 10
Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC review by Wolfini
Review Date: 1/5/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $580.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: IQ, size, weight, f2,8, price
Cons: AF-issues

This is my favourite walk-around lens for standard use, including landscape, cityscape, people, etc. (on a Canon 30d)


IQ is really right up there with the big boys, and I can compare it to a 85/1,8 or a 200/2,8L.


Contrast is great, and I also like the colors although there is definitely a yellow cast. (Let´s call it "warm")


Sharpness is very good at 2,8 and gets even better when stopping down.


I also have to mention the very compact size and weight, which make it very useful to carry around all day long, which is really impressive for a constant f2,8 zoom.


So, the AF .... I consider myself lucky, as my specimen focuses fast and accurately - AT 50mm!


At WA settings the focus is more hit and miss (more miss then hit) - BUT: fortunately this lens is parfocal, which means, that focus is not changed by zooming. So I always focus at 50mm, and then zoom out to the appropriate setting. Yes, that is annoying sometimes, but the great IQ I get from such a small and light lens makes it worthwhile for me. (I should add that I have put AF on the *-key, so I do not have to refocus for every shot).


I also have an AF-issue when using the AF-illuminator of an external flash unit. Unfortunately my local Sigma service (Vienna) was not able to fix this, although I have read on the internet, that a solution for this specific issue exists. Pity. But I do not use flash very often anyway, and when I do I use other lenses.


Still: despite of its flaws I love the lens and even more so the pictures it produces, am very happy with it and will recommend it to anyone who asks me.
kirehe

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 9
Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC review by kirehe
Review Date: 12/5/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $370.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Relatively light, sharp, low distortion.
Cons: Maybe you should buy the updated macro version instead

Sharp from f/4.0. Low distortion. Pretty good build quality. Rated as topclass in Sweden's premier photo magazin (and they're pretty stingy with that label).


Only concern could be that perhaps it would be better to buy the Macro version - same lens but focuses closer.
Magdy Kamel

Registered: June 2006
Posts: 3
Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC review by Magdy Kamel
Review Date: 6/27/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: light weight, wide coverage& sharp images
Cons:

Enjoyable useage of this lens as the respionse for focusing is very reasonable. The image quality is also point of interests.
gerrysnaps

Registered: May 2006
Posts: 5
Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC review by gerrysnaps
Review Date: 5/2/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $450.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fast f/2.8 aperture and flexible zoom range in a small, durable package
Cons: Noisy and slower AF than with an AF-S lens

Sigma's 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC is a wide, constant aperture autofocus zoom lens for use only with digital SLR cameras using APS-C sized sensors. The zoom range is ideal for covering events, going from wide enough to cover a scene or a table of guests, to a 'mild' telephoto good enough for portraits, so it is currently my most used lens. In the studio, it can find use for full-body portraits and groups, and its image quality holds up to scrutiny.


The Sigma 18-50/2.8 is an EX lens, which denotes high-quality construction. The lens feels solid and the weight is considerable for its size, making it feel packed, and it is, with fast glass. The special Sigma EX 'crinkle' finish is a love-it-or-hate-it look but has the advantage of being not easy to scratch. It has a 67mm filter thread. The lens mount is metal.


AF speed, since it does not have micromotors, is dependent on the camera body being used, but it is fast enough on a Nikon D50. AF action is unfortunately also noisy being without the benefit of Silent Wave Motor technology.


The lens focuses very close, closer than the Nikon 18-70mm (kit lens), but it is not a macro lens.


The Sigma is sharp through the zoom range, especially in the center area. The sharpness looks good at f/2.8 and excellent at f/4 and smaller. Light falloff shows up at the large apertures but is less noticeable past f/4.


I wrote a more complete review here: http://www.gadget-hack.com/2006/04/sigma-18-50mm-f28-ex-dc-af-lens-user.html
rocketralph

Registered: April 2006
Posts: 3
Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC review by rocketralph
Review Date: 4/24/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Weight
Cons: none so far

Bought this as a replacement for the Canon 18-55mm "kit" lens. The comparison is like night and day. If I could do it all over again, I would have paid the extra $$ for the camera body only and this lens. Nice large focusing ring and the ability to use filters without them changing on you while it is focusing. The wider aperture is a bonus too.
fstopjojo

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 9
Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC review by fstopjojo
Review Date: 11/3/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: 18mm Wide (significant difference v. 28mm on 1.6x body), Great focal range, Fairly small and lightweight, Constant f2.8, Excellent center sharpness wide open, Minimum focusing distance nice, EX black finish, Price.
Cons: Wide open edge performance average, Vignetting at 18mm wide open (somewhat expected though), CA wide open, No HSM/FTM, Not FF compatible.

This lens has a lot going for it (which I've stated in the "Pros" section above). A properly working copy delivers good sharpness and contrast even wide open. The focal range along with the constant f2.8 aperture makes it a serious alternative to the lovely 17-40L (at least on a crop body).


www.pbase.com/fstopjojo/lenstests


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.