SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
7 32430 4/27/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
71% of reviewers $105.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
6.14
spacerspacer
6.00
spacerspacer
6.14
1sigma18-50f35-56.jpg


Keywords: Sigma Canon Nikon Minolta Pentax Four-Thirds Wide Mid Tele Zoom DC APS-C


joe88

Registered: January 2014
Posts: 17
Sigma 18-50mm f/3.5-5.6 DC review by joe88
Review Date: 4/27/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $60.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: sharp lens in center, good macro
Cons: some visible CA's, corners not so sharp

not excellent, but not bad;too


a simple build zoom for beginners, for prints up to 8x10"


some CA's, weak in the corners


it must be closed to f8-11


pentax 18-55 is nearly full open much mor sharper, especially in the corners. red fringings wide ope with 18mm
trentdp

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 26
Sigma 18-50mm f/3.5-5.6 DC review by trentdp
Review Date: 1/5/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $125.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great walk around lens when you want to travel light
Cons: Rotating lens

I must have been fortunate enough to get a really good copy of this lens because it has been a pleasure to use and the quality of pictures is much better than you may have read from other reviewers. I like this lens much better than the Nikon kit lens on the D50 as it has much better build quality and comparable image quality.
If you are on a strict budget, don't hesitate to buy this one as you will most likely not be disappointed. You can buy this lens used for about $70 at your local camera shop so this is a way you can limit your investment and still have a good lense to get started.
llbeanie1

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 17
Sigma 18-50mm f/3.5-5.6 DC review by llbeanie1
Review Date: 1/1/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros:
Cons:

good cheap lens
spender

Registered: May 2006
Posts: 1
Sigma 18-50mm f/3.5-5.6 DC review by spender
Review Date: 5/21/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Image quality, color, contrast, price!
Cons: corner sharpness;

I own this lens since half a year and compared it to a hand full other lenses including nikkor 50 , 1,8 and i can say, that on a d50 the results are excellent even compared with the 50mm, 1,8. Given the price tag this lens is not to beat. Sharpness and contrast are excellent. Only the coners drop a little, but nothing to concern. Some of the guys that worry about this jewel , havern´t ever tried it or or too snobby with their 17-55 ´s.
minimax

Registered: April 2006
Posts: 1
Sigma 18-50mm f/3.5-5.6 DC review by minimax
Review Date: 4/20/2006 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 2 

 
Pros: Mechanics is quite ok for the prize, it has a REAL focus ring,
Cons: Less than average imaage quality

I just bought it as a 2nd lens in addition to my 28 -135 IS. It was cheap, so I did not expect stellar image quality. But this lens is really nasty, it has an allways unsharp area about 10% from the left hand, oddly its ok reight hand. Maybe de-centered?


This effect does not go by stopping down the lens.


If the image quality (in terms of resolution / sharpness / contrast) would be like on the right hand side, I'll rate it about 6 on that scale above
Pasma

Registered: December 2005
Posts: 2
Sigma 18-50mm f/3.5-5.6 DC review by Pasma
Review Date: 12/27/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $130.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp
Cons: Quality body

i like
Anakin

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 5
Sigma 18-50mm f/3.5-5.6 DC review by Anakin
Review Date: 10/21/2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 2 

 
Pros: price
Cons: range, aperture, construction, image quality, AF ,

very poor image quality
vignetting
very very slow AF


construction: plastic, when you touch it, you want to throw it in the bin.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.