SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 39079 3/12/2010
Recommended By Average Purchase
50% of reviewers $161.67
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
6.50
spacerspacer
5.50
spacerspacer
6.00
1sigma55-200f45-56.jpg


Keywords: Sigma Canon Nikon Minolta Pentax Four-Thirds Tele Zoom DC APS-C


TheK

Registered: March 2010
Posts: 3
Sigma 55-200mm f/4.5-5.6 DC review by TheK
Review Date: 3/12/2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $180.00| Rating: 4 

 
Pros: cheap
Cons: image quality

You get what you pay - and that's not much. I first thought, I'm to stupid to get really sharp pictures, but the lens just can't do more than about 6 MPix. Also the minimum focus distance is very long (1.1m!).


Looks like the Tamron with same spec and comparable price seams to be by far the better choice.
jeremiahblatz

Registered: December 2007
Posts: 1
Sigma 55-200mm f/4.5-5.6 DC review by jeremiahblatz
Review Date: 12/4/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $150.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: cheap! small
Cons: Slow, soft, not the fastest AF

Don't even think about using it wide open. And it's pretty soft even stepped down a bit. That said, it's tiny and cheap. Makes a good supplement for the kit lens for traveling. If you're shooting for the web or for small prints, the softness shouldn't be an issue. It's bad enough that you'll want to replace it, but good enough that you'll have better things to spend your money on :-)
trentdp

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 26
Sigma 55-200mm f/4.5-5.6 DC review by trentdp
Review Date: 1/5/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $155.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: A cheaper alternative to other offerings
Cons: Just so-so performance

I owned this lens for about 6months and used it a fair amount taking several hundred pictures with my Nikon D70. I can't complain about it's overall performance but I found it was not a keeper for me and eventually sold it to my local camera shop for a substantial discount from what I paid.


I recently purchased the Nikon 55-200 4-5.6G and can truly say the Nikon delivers substantially better image quality than the Sigma. Nikon recently lowered the price on the 55-200 and I would highly recommend you buy it for the small difference in price.
llbeanie1

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 17
Sigma 55-200mm f/4.5-5.6 DC review by llbeanie1
Review Date: 1/1/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros:
Cons:

good cheap lens


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.