SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
11 68009 11/11/2010
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $558.63
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.64
spacerspacer
9.73
spacerspacer
9.73
1nikon10_5f28.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Fisheye Wide Prime APS-C DX


JoeD90

Registered: November 2010
Posts: 1
Nikon 10.5mm f/2.8G ED AF DX Fisheye Nikkor review by JoeD90
Review Date: 11/11/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Small, sharp, predictable, well built
Cons: None

This lens, like all fish-eye lens, is all about understanding where it will be at its best. I love to use it in big spaces. The bigger the space, the less noticeable the lens will be without editing. The fish-eye effect is great, when that is what you want, but when you want to squeeze as much of the Grand Canyon into one picture, there is no better way. When space is limited, the fish-eye will have maximum noticeable distortion on the image. As many have already said, there is software to remove that distortion, if that is what you want. If you buy this lens, you must experiment with it so you can get a feel for where is shines. Many people judge the fish-eye by the pictures they have seen that only exploit the obvious. Skate park pictures are one.
adrian snow

Registered: March 2010
Posts: 6
Nikon 10.5mm f/2.8G ED AF DX Fisheye Nikkor review by adrian snow
Review Date: 3/27/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: f/2.8 maximum aperature, sharp..even wide open, ultra-wide
Cons: Build quality left wanting, don't lose your lens cap.

What a great lens. Don't listen to people that tag this lens as a lens that is exclusive to skateboarder/snowboarder photography.

This is a great lens that allows you to take some pretty unbelievable shots.


Just keep in mind when you are shooting the actual distortion properties of the lens and you can get some pretty amazing and unique shots.


I use mine as an ultra-wide angle lens when I need something more than the 17mm end of my Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8.


If you wanna get rid of the fisheye effect there are many programs and patches for editing software that you can use. The ability to do this makes this a versatile 'prime' wide-angle lens, which allows you a lot of room for creativity.


PROS
This lens is SHARP and has excellent overall image quality.
It is able to focus extremely close with your subject almost touching the front element.


CONS
If you want to use a filter it is going to be mounted on the back of the lens.
Don't lose the front lens cap...cause I doubt your local camera store has a replacement on site.
Build quality leaves a little to be desired. It has a lot of plastic.


CONCLUSION
If you are looking for the extra-wide fisheye effect...buy it. You won't regret it. Find a used one at a good price and you won't lose money as this lenses resale value holds pretty well.
Cliff Beard

Registered: May 2009
Posts: 12
Nikon 10.5mm f/2.8G ED AF DX Fisheye Nikkor review by Cliff Beard
Review Date: 5/15/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Tiny, fun, optical quality
Cons: as with any fisheye limited use

Tiny lens I always tend to keep in the bag as it takes up so little space.


Dense and solid build quality.


Wonderful distortion and angle of view for the right shots. Its sharp where it matters and very good into the corners, with the lovely contrast and colour rendition of the pro lenses. Some inevitable CA in the corners.


Mind that front element as the lens can focus very close and make you feel a long way off even when you are about to knock it on the subject!


As with any fisheye, it has limited use but is a little jewel and a lot of fun when the inspiration strikes.
lextalionis

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 82
Nikon 10.5mm f/2.8G ED AF DX Fisheye Nikkor review by lextalionis
Review Date: 12/19/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: MFD is only 1.2 inches!
Cons: As with most fish-eyes...front element is exposed.

Jason Stuck of http//www.beakspeak.com was nice enough to provide me sample photos taken from his D200 here:


http://www.motleypixel.com/reviews/index.htm?openfolder=Nikon%20Primes/NIKKOR%2010.5mm%20f2.8%20DX%20Fisheye/


-Roy
Smackdown1976

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 3
Nikon 10.5mm f/2.8G ED AF DX Fisheye Nikkor review by Smackdown1976
Review Date: 1/11/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

This is easily the most fun lens in my bag. Anytime I hit a creative block all I need to do is throw this on and go nuts.


Obviously this is a fisheye and you get the crazy distortion effect, but come on, isn't that the point?!?!


Lens itself is sharp, and quick to focus. f/2.8 allows you to get some interesting lower light effects as well.


I love this lens and highly recommend it to anyone...anyone who understands it isn't to be used for everything, but is a heck of a lot of fun when you do use it!
marokero

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 7
Nikon 10.5mm f/2.8G ED AF DX Fisheye Nikkor review by marokero
Review Date: 12/15/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $580.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: fun, really wide, sharp
Cons: be careful with the front element!

I initially had read Ross_Alford's review (down below), among others from around the web and decided to get the lens. It definitely is a fun lens, allowing me to capture shots that would otherwise be impossible in tight quarters, like this shot I took of a photo booth at a wedding:


http://www.marokero.com/2006/large-4.html


Distortion be damned, fun shots like that wouldn't be as fun if this lens was rectilinear Smile


Image quality is great, contrast, saturation, chromatic aberration can be minimized shooting at smaller apertures (and most CA can be further corrected in Nikon Capture or ACR as previously mentioned), virtually no ghosting or flaring as all incoming light is image forming.


As I've stated in the con for this lens, you have to be careful when using this lens. I've already got a very tiny nick on the lens coating - have no idea how or where that happened. I keep the cap handy everytime I use it, so as soon as I my eye is no longer on the viewfinder I place the cap back on.


In my D2x I can use this lens for group shots if in a pinch - I change to HSC mode and get a view slightly wider than I'd get shooting with my 17-35. A bit more distortion, but again, only in a pinch.


I guess my only regret is not getting this lens sooner! Smile
freundez

Registered: January 2006
Posts: 9
Nikon 10.5mm f/2.8G ED AF DX Fisheye Nikkor review by freundez
Review Date: 11/22/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $589.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Unique Perspective, Great Image Quality, Compact Package
Cons: Gelatin Filters only

Can't say a whole lot more than what has already been said about this lens. Very few people probably NEED this lens, but it provides a great creative outlet that enables you to shoot in ways you wouldn't have otherwise thought of.


Definitely has some CA wide open, which I've found is largely correctable in Capture. As has been noted, converting the images to rectilinear format results in cropping and softening of the corners - it is certainly not a replacement for the ultra-wide zooms that are out there.


AF speed is lightening quick (no need for AFS here) and overall build quality and handling are great.


Bottom line, this lens put a smile on my face everytime I shoot with it!
langier

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 7
Nikon 10.5mm f/2.8G ED AF DX Fisheye Nikkor review by langier
Review Date: 11/5/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: One fun lens!
Cons: Soft on the edges when corrected for distortion

This is one fun lens!


It is sharp and if you are careful, you won't notice the barrel distortion.


Its only draw back is that when you correct the distortion in Nikon View, the edges are soft and you are stuck with red-cyan CA on the edges.


Keeping the image distorted and imported via ACR, the CA is easily corrected.


Rather than fight it, I leave the images distorted and just have fun.


If you want a fun lens, this is it. Just watch for your feet, fingers and hat when you shoot with this lens!
Dave Sgt Pepper

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 2
Nikon 10.5mm f/2.8G ED AF DX Fisheye Nikkor review by Dave Sgt Pepper
Review Date: 10/28/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, gorgeous contrast & colour rendering
Cons: Just be careful of that front element

I bought this lens just for a bit of fun without even bothering to read any reviews. I have been absolutely astonished and delighted by the quality of the images it produces which have exceeded any expectations I might have had. I rarely do any correction in post-processing since I love the fish-eye distortion it produces.
It is superbly sharp, but an even bigger surprise was just how beautifully contrasty images are, producing sumptuous colour saturation.
Build quality is excellent in my opinion and it feels solid and reliable.
My only warning is, just be ultra-careful of that exposed front element. There is a huge temptation to get really up close and personal with the subject you are shooting and it's all too easy to bump into something whilst concentrating on the view through the viewfinder.
Highly recommended.
ljsegil

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 3
Nikon 10.5mm f/2.8G ED AF DX Fisheye Nikkor review by ljsegil
Review Date: 10/24/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: excellent image resolution edge to edge, compact, fun, little flaring
Cons: none

An extremely fun lens that produces a very high percentage of keeper images. Sharpness is excellent. Very little flare or ghosting even if the sun is brought into the field. Color rendition is also excellent. Nikon Capture works very well and easily to convert to rectilinear image, although I find that I usually prefer the fisheye perspective. Full field view is also a big advantage over circular fisheyes.
Highly recommended.
Ross_Alford

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 36
Nikon 10.5mm f/2.8G ED AF DX Fisheye Nikkor review by Ross_Alford
Review Date: 10/23/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: excellent image quality, small, light, well-built
Cons: none

This is a superb lens. Image quality is really stunning; sharp from corner to corner even near wide open (I have not done careful tests, so am not sure about f/2.8 which I rarely use, but even 1 or 2 stops down it is superb, easily coping with the dense pixels of a D2x). There is little if any vignetting, CA is pretty well under control , but there is some, worth correcting in post-processing, particularly at wider apertures.


Even when remapped to extreme-ultrawide rectilinear using Nikon Capture or Panorama Tools it retains excellent quality, except at extreme edges (which cannot be avoided as distortion due to mapping onto flat projection gets to be extreme and every pixel is smeared out). You can get about 120-130 degrees with very high quality by doing this.


Physical quality of the lens seems excellent, it is solid and feels well-built. Interestingly, it appears to cover edge-to-edge on full-frame 35mm. Top and bottom are vignetted by the lens hood, but corner-to-corner appears reasonably sharp and covers well over 180 degrees. Unfortunately, due to almost never shooting on film anymore, I have not yet gotten any full-frame photos developed; it will be interesting to see how they look.


samples:


image remapped to panorama


http://www.pbase.com/northqueenslandphotos/image/43490026


images remapped to ca 120 degree ultrawide


http://www.pbase.com/northqueenslandphotos/image/43490028
http://www.pbase.com/northqueenslandphotos/image/43490048


(note that, amazingly enough, the built in flash on the D70 actually covered the whole frame on the second one!


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.