SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
40 196117 8/8/2012
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $619.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.45
spacerspacer
9.83
spacerspacer
9.45
1sigma150f28.jpg


Keywords: Sigma Canon Nikon Four-Thirds Tele Prime Macro 35mm DG HSM APO Tested


sonylover1

Registered: August 2012
Posts: 5
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by sonylover1
Review Date: 8/8/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp. Supergood feel when MF.
Cons: No OS

Needs microadjustment but when you are finished with that cumbersome work you are really rewarded.


With that manual fovus and silent HSM you can film very nice macros.


You need steady hands or tripod for best results.
Kills my Canon 100 mm 2.8 - so I sold it.


Best bang for the buck!
Kenneth67c

Registered: June 2011
Posts: 3
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by Kenneth67c
Review Date: 6/7/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $770.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Really sharp and bright tele macro lens
Cons:

A good tele and macro lens, with excellent sharpness. Virtually no CA, worth every cent.
Can use it as a portrait lens too, and here the bokeh is really nice round donuts.
Gatorowl

Registered: October 2009
Posts: 2
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by Gatorowl
Review Date: 2/2/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $750.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Tremendous sharpness even wide open
Cons: Could use IS/VR on Crop Sensor

I gave this lens a 9 overall because it lacks vibration control. At this length, VR could make a significant difference-or not.


I probably should use a tripod with lens, however, I'm usually too lazy to pull one out.


The image quality is phenomenal. I use this lens in a Nikon mount, but it compares favorably to the best Canon lenses I have including the 70-200 2.8II. In terms of macro, I can't tell whether my Canon 60mm or this lens is sharper. What I can say is that the color saturation and contrast are amazing.


I'm not sure about the AF. It seemed okay, however, I was more concerned about holding the camera steady to notice any problems.


The lens seems to be well made. It's heavy without being too heavy, and the rings turn without any looseness. I see no reason why this lens won't last a very long time.


If you get a good copy of this lens, you will not regret it. I have an excellent copy and am very satisfied.
Momiziano

Registered: December 2010
Posts: 4
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by Momiziano
Review Date: 12/11/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent sharpness
Cons: Vignetting wide open on nikon fx

This lens is really amazing. I use it since 2007 and I can say that plays very close to legendary lenses like my Leica 100 elmarit, very close.. It costs so much less.
Higly recommended
andre_

Registered: December 2008
Posts: 29
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by andre_
Review Date: 11/9/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $700.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: optical quality, even at f16 or more, nice bokeh, precise AF
Cons: AF slow in close-up range, finiture

Coming from an old 105mm Micro Nikkor AF (not -S), I like the possibility yo adjust the focus together with the AF.


AF is precise and fast, in mid and long range, but only precise in close-up.


Optical quality is very high, with a great definition together with a very nice out of focus (bokeh).


Colors are quite shifted to Magenta (like every other Sigma lense), compared with the Nikkors.
This lens have just a little CA, and the flare is restrained.


I consider this lens one of the best choiches for marco and close-up, and a good choiche for portrait and even landscape.


Less flexible than a 70-200/2.8, but lighter, I think it'd be a better choiche for many photographers.
a_
hackmann

Registered: September 2010
Posts: 5
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by hackmann
Review Date: 10/18/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $700.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image Quality, sharpness, color, contrast
Cons: no OS

This lens make you think sigma is the best lens manufacture in the world. Its very affordable due its quality.


In aps-c sensor you can use as short telephoto also. Macro shots its awsome, but i found a very good use to portrait and long distance shots.


Check some cool shots at my webpage:


http://www.carloshackmannphotography.com/Galleries/Flowers/14214321_Nk7s4#1049989532_3tAjs
http://www.carloshackmannphotography.com/Galleries/Flowers/14214321_Nk7s4#1049996631_6qbDK
http://www.carloshackmannphotography.com/Galleries/Flowers/14214321_Nk7s4#1050000030_3pP7Y
http://www.carloshackmannphotography.com/Galleries/Flowers/14214321_Nk7s4#1050000854_fbGJu
http://www.carloshackmannphotography.com/Galleries/Flowers/14214321_Nk7s4#1050001585_wmTMD
http://www.carloshackmannphotography.com/Galleries/Flowers/14214321_Nk7s4#1050002391_qUJ4M
http://www.carloshackmannphotography.com/Galleries/Flowers/14214321_Nk7s4#1050003191_dtM62
http://www.carloshackmannphotography.com/Galleries/Flowers/14214321_Nk7s4#1050003893_tMake
Luv2Jeep

Registered: March 2010
Posts: 2
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by Luv2Jeep
Review Date: 8/27/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very good at 2.8 and tack sharp at 5.6. Built like a tank
Cons: Heavy

This thing is awesome for close-up work. I bought it used from Adorama and it is just fantastic. Maybe I will look again to the Sigma EX line for my next investment.
Blame

Registered: July 2010
Posts: 2
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by Blame
Review Date: 7/6/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Very sharp, fastish auto-focus
Cons: horible front focusing.

Initial results were disappointing. A line of trees was a blur. A second look showed that the grass in front of them was sharp. I was a victim of the dreaded Sigma front focus.


Mercifully I had a canon 50D, and a full +20 of microfocus adjustment solved the problem, although I could have done with a bit more.


My new 7D with +20 seems better. When I focus on a tree the front leaves are perfect as before, but the back leaves are better. A bit of back focus? If so I like it. You may be focusing on the front of a duck, but you are hoping that all of it will be sharp, and even on a duck the range of perfect focus is a few cm. On a dragonfly it is a fraction of a mm. Sigh.


The 7D autofocus can get confused. When moving from focusing on a dragonfly to a distant shot of a swan it just gave up! This is when the full time manual autofocus comes in. The shift from macro to teli is best done by hand. One quick turn and then let the autofocus take over. It's very fast if it doesn't have to travel far.


I love this lens. It is mostly the focal length. The flowers that I didn't have to stoop for, or trespass over flower bed borders. The dragonflies that didn't notice. The close up of a duck with 6 fluffy ducklings (a 100% crop of the ducklings showed no noticeable blur).


The speed of focus that let me catch a fleeing grass snake (swimming on the Thames) made my day!


This is going to be my number 1 lens until such time as somebody produces an affordable macro with the same sharpness and fast focusing with ether significantly longer focal length or image stabilization. It could be a long wait.
HighSierra

Registered: June 2008
Posts: 13
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by HighSierra
Review Date: 6/30/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Perfect images, every time
Cons: AF not blazing as ring-type HSM should be

What an excellent lens! Though it is nothing new, I must add my name to the list of those singing the praises of this macro lens.


Pretty much regardless of aperture and subject distance, you are guaranteed to get a superb image from this lens, with impeccable sharpness, clarity, bokeh (where applicable), and very low optical distortions. There is nothing bad I can say about the optics of this lens. It does just as well at portraits and landscapes as it does macros and product shots.


The AF mechanism is the only slight letdown of this lens. For macro, the average speed is not a big deal, but for general telephoto use, I wouldn't mind it being a bit quicker. Otherwise, the physical attributes of the lens are all very well done, including the removable tripod foot.


Unless you feel that a fixed lens in this focal length class would be too limiting for your uses, there is no reason not to buy this lens.
lightknight

Registered: November 2009
Posts: 21
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by lightknight
Review Date: 2/16/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp - even in the extreme corners on a full-frame, good value, silent HSM
Cons: autofocus in macro mode not the best

This is a good value lens. It doesn't have the REALLY solid build of a Nikon 105VR but its not bad. I don't like the unique Sigma velvet finish as its seems hard to keep clean. Like any macro lens macro focusing is slow -but then compare its performance from 1.5 metres to infinity with say the Nikkor 70-200 and its fast...this is a more realistic test of focus speed and in this regard its as fast as any other lens I possess although I have yet to try its performance when tracking a subject at long distance. (I suspect that SWM / HSM lenses are quite susceptible to focus inaccuracy anyway - for tripod use focus manually its less hassle) it also shows some reluctance to auto focus on the last few millimeters down to 1:1 but I suspect that's down to lens shake when not mounted on a 'pod.


Sharpness wise its good: its very slightly soft at F2.8 but improves until it peaks at F5.6 - but we are talking fractions here - its more than adequately sharp at F2.8 and this is a realistic aperture for portraits on landscape where its ability to produce great OOF comes to the fore. I have seen unattractive OOF but this was at F8 - generally I would say its excellent.


At 1:1 Macro mode it reports its aperture wide open as 5.6 - this is normal I guess. Even at 2 meters its F3.3. At 1:1 its reports its min aperture at F45 - and stays reasonably sharp here too.
You need to be aware, as Cliff notes below, that the DOF in macro mode is wafer thin...150mm is long so even at F5.6 the DOF is almost non existent so its performance at F22 and beyond is very relevant. some examples from my flickr page:


http://www.flickr.com/photos/lightknight/4386355777/sizes/l/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/lightknight/4363925123/sizes/l/
Cliff Beard

Registered: May 2009
Posts: 12
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by Cliff Beard
Review Date: 9/28/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Optical quality, good build quality, takes teleconverters, good working distance, doesn't extend
Cons: Easy to get motion/camera shake blur if technique not spot-on

I use this lens along with a Sigma 105mm macro.


The 150 probably just has the edge in sharpness but its effective depth of field is notably smaller, which makes it harder to get focus where you want it. The 150 definitely copes better with being stopped down for more depth of field, with little diffraction limiting.


I tend to use the lens for macro only so use manual focus but the HSM does give it good focus performance for telephoto and other work.


The focal length gives useful working distance for bugs at 1:1 and makes it a great dragonfly lens for lower magnification work, where extra reach means less chance of spooking them.


Being able to add the 1.4 teleconverter is a big bonus as you get 1.4x extra magification for tele or macro work.


Owing to the effective focal length of over 200mm on crop frame you have to watch your shutter speeds in the macro range as its easy to get shake which softens or blurs images. Its good to use short duration flash to help alleviate this (get the flash close so it fires at lower power and short duration). Even at max sync shutter speeds of 1/200 or 1/250 it is possible to see motion-induced blur, so I tend to use a bamboo cane as a versatile prop to grip and add stability when chasing bugs about.


A great macro lens with no real cons at all.
dawnii

Registered: October 2008
Posts: 3
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by dawnii
Review Date: 5/8/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: outstanding image quality, very good built quality, nice handling
Cons: my lens is front focussing..

I have it now for some years in my bag, and I have to say that I'm always pleased to see its performance. For the moment, I'm experimenting with this lens and a 2.0x converter from Sigma. Thanks to the great sharpness of this lens, even wide open, you can almost use the 2.0x tc wide open.


The only weak point on my lens, is its front focussing. It is not much, but in tele use, you will not be right on the point you wanted to focus.. The speed of the AF is for me ok. You have to keep in mind, that it moves heavy glass through a long way, as every macro lens.


A long macro, with a decent range, exceptionnal image quality and a very attractive price tag.
PeteD

Registered: March 2009
Posts: 12
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by PeteD
Review Date: 3/13/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: quality performer, build
Cons: no anti shake

if you want a macro at something like this length then this should be on your short list
Renato

Registered: January 2009
Posts: 5
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by Renato
Review Date: 1/1/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $700.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super Super SHARP!!! Great handling
Cons: none

This lens is a true gem!! Spectacular image quality at most apertures and ALL distances, fast focusing (HSM), well built. tripod collar very useful, perfect size and balance. I could not have been happier, the pictures are amazing!!!
bobbibrown

Registered: May 2008
Posts: 4
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by bobbibrown
Review Date: 12/9/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great IQ even at f/2.8, fast AF, great tripod mount, very good for macro and tele
Cons: none

It's just a great lens. Nothing else to say!!!
photographybyajit

Registered: September 2008
Posts: 4
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by photographybyajit
Review Date: 9/28/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $640.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharpness; built quality; price;
Cons: weather proof sealing;

After reading many reviews from various sources, finally I purchased this lens a month back. Trust me, I was not disappointed and it came out to be more that I expected. my first time into macro photography and on a tight budget, I think I made the right choice.


Few shots that I'd like to share shot at life-size (1:1 magnification) taken using the Sigma 150mm f2.8 lens fitted on a Canon 400D/XTi body: http://www.photographybyajit.com/Macro/index.html


Solid bullet proof body,
Sharp results and nice contrast,
wide aperture of f2.8 really gives control over the DOF with extremely nice bokeh (see sample shot at f2.8 http://www.photographybyajit.com/Flowers/slides/IMG_1332.html)


the best deal is that it comes with a tripod collar which is extremely useful.


I plan to purchase the Kenko extension tubes kit next to try out extreme levels of macro.


Thanks for reading,
Ajit Pal Singh.
norcalphotographer

Registered: July 2008
Posts: 6
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by norcalphotographer
Review Date: 7/21/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $550.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: outstanding image quality
Cons: none!

I can't say enough about this lens' image quality. The size and weight are about right too.


Very good job Sigma!
brad t

Registered: July 2008
Posts: 1
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by brad t
Review Date: 7/11/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $585.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great image quality and build, internal focusing
Cons: The focus can hunt a bit in low light

I use this lens on a Canon Rebel xti. I recommend getting it from B&H or Amazon.


It's a large lens, yes, but smaller than other f/2.8 lenses of with similar range. It is even small enough to fit in my little Lowpro Slingshot AW200 Bag while still attached to the camera.


This lens is a lot of fun to use! It's like having a telescope and a microscope attached to your camera at the same time.


Great for use indoors (low light) and outdoors. This is good to shoot, portraits, family moments across the room, or maybe a wedding. It's not just for bugs and flowers. However it is really good at bugs and flowers, and they are surprisingly fun to shoot.


For image quality.. the test results above speak for themselves.


It is a bit of a challenge for a newbie to place the narrow depth of field at f/2.8 correctly all the time, but its a fun and rewarding challenge.


The motor is fast, and very quiet, however this is a macro lens so fast is a relative term here. The focus ring must rotate a full 270 degrees to move the focus from 1:1 macro all the way to infinity, so it takes a bit more time than you may be used to on non-macro lenses.


I like the build, it feels like this lens will be sturdy enough to be a longterm investment. It's kind of expensive, but that is also relative... it is a great price, comparatively, for a lens of this quality.
onlyone

Registered: May 2008
Posts: 8
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by onlyone
Review Date: 6/1/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $715.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Close to be a perfect lens !!!
Cons: I can see nothing.

I love it !!!
Its construction is perfect. Good weight and focus ring iseasy to use.
Image quality from this len is very sharp even in the widest apeture. The sharpest image may be at f/5.6 but f/2.8 give me the impress one.
AF is fast and accuracy, nothing dissapointed.
Hood and collar, even lens bag in a box.
Macro is fine and the bokeh is pretty nice.
It's worth for every baht I paid.


Highly recommended !!!
lextalionis

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 82
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by lextalionis
Review Date: 3/24/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $610.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: For the price this is a great macro lens. Also lighter than the more professional Canon version.
Cons: Slow AF...but MF is used a lot in macro. Need a stead hand and fast shutter speed.

For the price this is a great macro lens. Also lighter than the more professional Canon version.


Slow AF...but MF is used a lot in macro. Need a stead hand and fast shutter speed.


Sample Photos taken with a Nikon D80


-Lex
edwardo

Registered: August 2007
Posts: 5
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by edwardo
Review Date: 8/8/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: high resolution
Cons: none

this has to be the best macro of this focal length I have ever used. An amazing lens. highly recommend. even with the sigma 1.4 its results are excellent.
check out review below:
http://www.photozone.de/8Reviews/lenses/sigma_150_28_nikon/index.htm
rainerknappe

Registered: May 2007
Posts: 24
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by rainerknappe
Review Date: 5/16/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $550.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: everything
Cons: bulldog-feeling

My only bulldog-lens (I call the lens "the thick big Bertha!"). Strong optics, good handling - a lens, who is worth every Euro u Dollar. Sharpness is exellent, nice bokeh, no weekness at all - but handle this monster carefully..... the insurance-company will not pay frontcrashes!!!
katzer

Registered: April 2007
Posts: 4
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by katzer
Review Date: 4/28/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superb optics, featured package:HSM, FTM, 3-stage Focus Limiter, build,
Cons: none really

Everything said about this lens is true.
Super sharp, great color, contrast, bokeh.
HSM focusing is very quick and accurate.
Build is excellent. Even the tripod collar is removed easily.
Looking at the competition in this range:
Tamron 180 - no HSM/FTM and almost twice as expensive where I live.
Canon 180L - good lens but too expensive for me (though weather sealing might be nice to have for some).
Sigma 180 EX - I wanted a 2.8 for telephoto,


If I were on Nikon I would have considered the 100mm just for the stabilization sake, but my equipment is canon.


Highly recommended!


Erez Katz
www.pbase.com/katzer
acarodp

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 4
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by acarodp
Review Date: 4/27/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $817.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very, very, very sharp. Well built, silent nad (relatively) fast AF
Cons: occasional AF hunt (uncommon)

This is one of the best lenses I own. I mostly use it as a "normal" tele lens on my D200, much more rarely for macro.
I bought it for I wanted a medium-long fast tele lens, and zooms are much bulkier and no as sharp (yes even the 70-200 2.8 VR) and of course much more expensive.
This lens looks truly well built, sturdy metal with a pleasant (for my tastes) finish. The AF is rather fast and truly silent, with a pleasantly damped ring for manual focus or AF retouch. The tripod collar is a nice plus and is easily detachable. The lens is overall compact and nice to handle, and its length does not vary when focusing. It is a very pleasant lens to use.
But more important, this lens is extremely sharp already from 2.8, and has negligible chromatic aberration and purple fringing. It beats the Nikkor 70-200 2.8 VR in all these fields ath the same focal length. At 5.6, I would say, is already exceeding what the D200 can resolve. Contrast is always very high, some flare can sometimes creep in if sunlight falls on the front element, using the hood solves the issue.
lajos

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 7
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by lajos
Review Date: 1/14/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Incredibly sharp; silent and *relatively* fast AF; very solidly built
Cons: It's not a small or light lens

I bought this lens to replace my previous Sigma 105 mm maco - the snail-pace autofocus with the extending lens was driving me mad. The 150 mm Sigma is much better in this regard, although it still often hunts - but that is to be expected with a macro lens. The greater working distance is a boon with bug photography. The image quality is great, just as with all dedicated prime macro lenses. In this respect, it's not better and not worse than the old 105 mm lens.
nikoskard

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 17
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by nikoskard
Review Date: 1/14/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very Well Build Quality, Silent AF operation, Sharp, Accesories (case&Tripod mount)
Cons: Nothing so far

I am very happy with this kind of glass. It is very sharp, same compared to Tamron90, and much more silent.


It is inner focus operational, so you will not afraid of been captured by your creature while you are trying to focus on it.


The second thing i like very much in par with tamron is the 150mm. Combined with the inner focus and you have a winner.


I much prefer this lens, although i will not give my legendary Tamron 90mm. But for macro, wild life job it is the best you can get.


highly recommended.
Turk182

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 4
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by Turk182
Review Date: 1/8/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $550.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Can beat this one.
Cons: A little heavy

I did a lot of research before purchasing this lens. I read the reviews on a number of macro lens. I already owned a AF 60mm f2.8 Nikkor, but it at time didn't allow me to get close enough to bug and or small moving creatures that I was trying to photograph. This len does that. I almost purchased a Nikon AF 200mm f4.0, but I like the f2.8 speed that this Sigma gives me. All in all it is a very good lens. Plus I like being able to remove the tripod collar.
jcsoniat

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 7
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by jcsoniat
Review Date: 1/1/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build, Sharpness, Excellent macros!
Cons: Focus a bit slow and hunts

Excellent lens, period. It's a great focal length on a crop camera, and it is super sharp. The focus is smooth and somewhat snappy. But if the light is low, then it hunts. If it can't find the subject, it will just stop at one of the extreme ends of the focal range. The focus limiting switch does help, as well as setting the focus manually near the subject first. In most cases this will not be an issue, as I only notice it when trying to catch moving subjects (Kids) indoors. For tripod work, bright active shots, and macros it is excellent.
Matthew Saville

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 21
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by Matthew Saville
Review Date: 12/29/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $680.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sigma did everything right with this lens
Cons: None

I purchased this lens right when it came out, back in 2005. I have used it very heavily and love it to death. It is the wisest lens purchase I have made to date.


It beats the new Sigma 50-150 f/2.8 DC AND the Sigma 70-200 f/2.8 DG Macro by a long shot for sharpness close up. And as an added bonus that most macro lenses lack, the Sigma 150mm is sharp all the way through infinity, not just close up.


Built tough, love the tripod collar, quick AF. (though it does have a lot of distance to cover even with the AF limiter switch, so it takes some mastery)


-Matt-
photo Art

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 3
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by photo Art
Review Date: 12/22/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $780.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, build,tripod mount and hood,2.8,nice medium lengh tele
Cons: a little heavy

All in all, very lettle to complain about. Excellent build and tripod mount, hood included in a nice pouch too. Collar is easy to rotate. Slightly soft at 2.8 (not much though) and gets really sharp with each stop down. Working length is great, makes a nice medium length tele and has great bokeh, focuses fairly fast for a macro. It can hunt in low light, but all macros do this. Internal focus is a bonus because the lens does not extend. Can be used for excellent portraits from a distance. Probably one of the sharpest I have used. The only complaint is that it is slightly heavy and I found hand holding difficult. Highly recommended for the price.
NYCMario

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 4
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by NYCMario
Review Date: 12/14/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, solid, tripod-mount
Cons: Getting long for hand-holding

If you're looking for Macro abilities, this is an awesome lens. This is my first prime lens in this range, but I mostly purchased it for its macro abilities.


I had some debate between the 100mm and the 150. The extra 50mm allows you to stand back a bit further from your subject, good for bugs that scare easily. But, at the same time it makes camera shake even more apparent when hand-holding. But with calm composure and a little practice, hand-holding it will produce excellent images.


Focus can be a little slow, and may hunt now and then, but it isn't horrible.


CA is barely noticable in my opinion, and usually not worth fixing in post-processing.
gadgetguy

Registered: May 2006
Posts: 62
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by gadgetguy
Review Date: 12/13/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: small size (relatively, for FL and 2.8 macro), Good IQ, working distance
Cons: slow AF

I got this to "complete" my macro lenses (100mm and 50mm) for the times I need more working distance. This lens is relatively lightweight for the specs.


However, for the safety of the working distance you lose out on DOF (it's much shallower) so you'll need to stop down to get more things in fous - which means you'll need to be working in good light to handhold this lens. This is especially moreso in an APS-C DSLR.


It is an excellet lens when it comes to IQ, which is to be expected from a "true" macro lens such as this. As with many macor lenses, AF is slow (because of the working range).
j_scuba

Registered: May 2006
Posts: 2
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by j_scuba
Review Date: 12/9/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superb optics, exelent built quality
Cons: slow focusing

I have the oportunity to use this lens a couple of times with small critters, and due to the long working distance, I do no disturb any aminal at all.
The optics are superb, so the contruccion.
Is a lens I recomend for small macros at a great working distance.
spuelijah

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 9
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by spuelijah
Review Date: 12/2/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $465.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent Build, great tripod collar, no extending or rotating front element
Cons: Fairly slow to focus for a HSM

This is my favorite lens by far! The first thing I noticed when I received this lens was how impressive the build quality was. Its got a good heft to it and the Sigma black matte finish is a nice change from the shiny black Nikon does. Its softer to the touch. I also like the gold accents Sigma used. Nothing about this lens feels cheap except for maybe the lens caps.


As for the optical quality and clarity, I would say it is as good as my Nikon 50mm 1.8D prime lens. A lot of other owners of this lens lament on how slow it focuses. This is greatly offset by using the focus range limiter switch. I only notice the slow auto focus in macro shooting. But I usually manual focus so this doesn't bother me at all.
aviatorbumm

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 5
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by aviatorbumm
Review Date: 11/27/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, constant f2.8 aperture, build quality
Cons: None

This lens is PERFECT in all respects (I use it on my Nikon D200). If you are at all interested in macro photography, get one.
julioalperi

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 15
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by julioalperi
Review Date: 11/20/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $615.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Resolution,distortions,vignetting,CAs,bokeh.Good tripod collar.
Cons: No aperture ring ( NIkon )

This is an excellent lens. Very high resolution from F:2,8 even at borders .Distortions are very low ( no visible ).Vignetting is very low too. Chromatic aberrations are exceptionally low. The bokeh is very smooth. Construction quality is very good. The HSM AF is near silent ( focusing speed could be faster) . Good tripod collar.
archiart

Registered: August 2006
Posts: 1
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by archiart
Review Date: 8/2/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fantastic Sharpness, Fulltime Manual Focus, Quiet HSM, Nice case, hood, and collar
Cons: Aperture only up to f22

I bought this lens over Canon's best selling macro 100mm and expensive 180mm. The longer focal length makes it easier take pics w/o disturbing your subjects and also allows you to have more blurry bokeh. This lens also comes with a tripod color, which allows you conveniently change from vertical to horizontal, and it adds stability with your lens better balanced on your tripod. It is a little slow to focus, but since you will most likely be using manual focus a lot of the time anyway, this is not a big problem.
sduford

Registered: August 2006
Posts: 9
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by sduford
Review Date: 8/1/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super Sharp, Handles Great, Versatile Focal Length
Cons: none

This is my favourite lens. It is super sharp and I find the focal length to be ideal for macro work. Shorter lenses are too short for bugs, but longer ones are too long for larger things like butterfiles and flowers.


It is very well built and handles beautifully. The lens collar and foot are great for switching to a vertical orientation without having to reset your tripod position.


This lens works great with the Sigma 1.4x TC for even more working distance or magnification.
NikonEddy

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 3
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by NikonEddy
Review Date: 11/14/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $450.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build, quality, looks
Cons: slightly heavy

I bought this lens almost as soon as it came out, originally I was after the new version 105mm but the extra focal length makes it so much better for working close. So far I've only used it on my D70. Its beautifully sharp with no obvious drop off at the edges. I have blown the images up(on RAW files) about 400% and am very impressed with the result. The tripod mount makes a very good handgrip, Its quite heavy but thats a good point, lighter lenses do not instil peace of mind IMHO
sjms

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 4
Sigma 150mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM APO Macro review by sjms
Review Date: 10/29/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: outstanding lens
Cons: tends to run away on the AF every now and then

excellent lens for my FF and 1.3 crop. allows me the room to shoot and light rather then being right on top of the subject. one of sigmas best products. gives canon a run for the money.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.