SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
10 67975 10/12/2012
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $366.56
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.45
spacerspacer
8.00
spacerspacer
7.91
1tokina100f28.jpg


Keywords: Tokina Canon Nikon Tele Prime Macro 35mm AT-X PRO D


dugong5pm

Registered: October 2012
Posts: 52
Tokina 100mm f/2.8 AT-X 100 AF PRO D review by dugong5pm
Review Date: 10/12/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $360.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: price, build quality, IQ, sharp
Cons: none

a great macro lens. better than my nikkor 105/2.8 in terms of build quality. it produces sharp & beautiful images. Bokeh are wonderfull & buttery smooth. Tone reproduction are great. For the price, it's a must have. no brainer!
ChrisI

Registered: September 2009
Posts: 3
Tokina 100mm f/2.8 AT-X 100 AF PRO D review by ChrisI
Review Date: 12/29/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: build, size, handling
Cons:

Excellent lens. I'm very impressed with the build quality and handling of the lens. I've used it for just a few days so don't have any comparison images yet but wide open it is definitely quite sharp and the contrast is very good. The lens will not auto focus on Nikon bodies such as my D5000 and can take some trials to get a sharp image hand held. Using the magnified live view and a tripod I can get the focus spot on. A pleasure to use!
shamtastic1

Registered: November 2010
Posts: 2
Tokina 100mm f/2.8 AT-X 100 AF PRO D review by shamtastic1
Review Date: 11/10/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $420.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: solid built, sharp
Cons: not noticed yet

Highly recommended lens for its price and quality. Sharp image, solid built.
Bee

Registered: April 2009
Posts: 3
Tokina 100mm f/2.8 AT-X 100 AF PRO D review by Bee
Review Date: 4/21/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $350.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Price, Sharp and Contrasty, Build quality
Cons: Slow AF, CA

I have used this lens for almost a year now.This is an excellent lens, very well build and balance and very nice image quality for the price.
To me, it produces warmer images than Canon lenses and sharpness is almost the same.
It shows some CA when wide open. However, if you are buying this for macro shots ( which it's designed for) you probably will not use AF and you will use it in smaller apertures. I am using a Canon version and I am happy I saved some money instead of buying the more expensive Canon, which has a lot faster AF and less CA.
I believe when this lens is mounted on Canon EOS Digital, it drains battery (at least on my camera), but I searched the web and I just found one complain about this problem with Tokina lenses in canon mount.


You can see some sample shots at http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2470/3707470317_72c6052909_b.jpg
lextalionis

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 82
Tokina 100mm f/2.8 AT-X 100 AF PRO D review by lextalionis
Review Date: 7/25/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Solid build, good price, great option over the Canon and Sigma versions.
Cons: Slow AF

Great alternative choice for 100mm f/2.8 macro. The build quality is wonderful. I would say IQ is an 8.9 of 10 vs the Canon's 100 2.8 as a 10 of 10.


I recommend this as an alternative choice, as a Canon shooter, I would rate all ~100mm macros in order of preference:


1. Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM
2. Sigma 105mm f/2.8 Macro
3. Tokina 100mm f/2.8 Macro
4. Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Macro


Click here to see high-resolution sample photos


-Lex
onlyone

Registered: May 2008
Posts: 8
Tokina 100mm f/2.8 AT-X 100 AF PRO D review by onlyone
Review Date: 6/1/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Sharp, Good construction
Cons: Slow AF

Good lens.
High image quality and good construction len.
Slow AF may be a little problem but it's not significant.
I'd used this before I bought Canon 100 f/2.8 Macro and I can say it's one of good lens. (even I sold it for 2 months)


In this price, has a lot of choice, check your Canon's or Nikon's first is my suggestion.
edwardo

Registered: August 2007
Posts: 5
Tokina 100mm f/2.8 AT-X 100 AF PRO D review by edwardo
Review Date: 8/8/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $450.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: very sharp
Cons: none

very solid construction, very sharp,not for one who uses auto focusing for macro for everything, Is there a macro
capable of this?? really disagree with the suggestion that a zoom with an extension would give similar results, actually thats absurd in my opinion. This is a classic macro lens highly recommend. It is very simmular in sharpness to the tamron 90 macro I have used in the past.
clemong888

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2
Tokina 100mm f/2.8 AT-X 100 AF PRO D review by clemong888
Review Date: 1/11/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp ,nice working range,cheap
Cons: the focusing starts hunting at times

i got this instead of a nikon mainly because i couldnt afford a nikon! but i havent had any regrets getting this lens. build quality is good, more favourable than other 3rd party lens. it's sharp as expected from a macro but focusing is kind of slow(as with most macros too) it's a good makeshift portrait lens too. the push button to switch from af to mf can be handy at times. overall, i'll recommend this to anyone!
theoak

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 7
Tokina 100mm f/2.8 AT-X 100 AF PRO D review by theoak
Review Date: 11/20/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Cost, large manual focus ring
Cons: Slow to focus, large hood

I opted for this lens over the canon based on price.


Overall I am happy with the lens. It suffers the same maladies as other macros - very slow to focus and a lot of hunting beyond macro focus lengths - the limit switch helps, but not as much as someone without macro lens experience might think . The only other complaint I have is that in bright light, colors seem more muted than they should be.


The large focus ring is nice. When you are manually focusing on bugs/bees, you don't want to be looking for the ring. The lens hood is included, but no case.


The lens is plastic, but the best-built plastic lens I have ever used.


After using the lens for awhile, however, I have thought it might be a better investement to try out extension tubes with a zoom like the 70-200.
freundez

Registered: January 2006
Posts: 9
Tokina 100mm f/2.8 AT-X 100 AF PRO D review by freundez
Review Date: 3/23/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $369.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good working distance, great sharpness, nice bokeh, excellent build quality
Cons: autofocus hunting when using other than center AF sensor

I've worked with this lens for a little over 3 months, and am very happy with it. My primary purchase criteria were:


1) Optical quality
2) Build / Lens construction
3) A macro lens that can double as a good portrait lens


Optics are excellent in my opinion. When used for macro work, the lens produces tack sharp images with good contrast. The working distance of ~12” is great for both floral, as well as insect photography, and I’ve noticed very little in the way of CA. When shooting on my Nikon D70s, I can’t notice any light fall-off, even when shooting wide open. On my 35mm FA, shooting wide does produce some softness in the corners, but things improve quickly when stopping down to f/4. As a portrait lens, I have been very satisfied with the images that this lens produces. In my opinion, the bokeh is great (thought not as good as what you could produce with say a Nikon 85mm f/1.4), and the lens has produced some overall great results.


Build construction is fantastic. I tend to focus manually when shooting close-up, and the one clutch mechanism works great. The focus ring has the viscous feel of a true good old MF lens and offer the right level of fine tuning for my purposes. If you plan on taking your equipment out in the field, I’m pretty confident that this Tokina will last for a long-time. The focus ring is quite wide, and offers overall good handling.


Not too surprisingly for a macro, AF speed is not the lens’ strong suit. On my D70s, I’ve found the lens prone to hunting, with the condition exasperated when using anything but the center AF sensor. Using the limiter switch on the lens does help, but you won’t be happy with this lens if you photograph a lot of moving objects and are trying to use dynamic focus mode on your camera.


Overall, an excellent lens that I highly recommend.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.