SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 17141 1/3/2010
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $1,137.50
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
7.80
spacerspacer
8.00
spacerspacer
7.80
1km-7d.jpg



  • 6.1-megapixel CCD delivers uninterpolated images as large as 3,008 x 2,000 pixels
  • Interchangeable lens mount hosts a wide range of Konica Minolta lenses
  • Advanced Konica Minolta Body-Based Anti-Shake Technology
  • Full manual exposure control, with an abundance of custom camera settings and fine tuning for image adjustment

The Konica Minolta Maxxum 7D is easily one of the most eagerly-awaited digital cameras in the last year or so. Minolta film SLR owners have been waiting and hoping for a digital SLR to use with their extensive collections of (typically excellent) Minolta optics. Now that the Maxxum 7D has arrived, their wait is over, and the obvious quality and features of the new model appear to justify the long wait. While it has the usual "Green zone" full-auto mode for pure "point & shoot" photography, the 7D has an absolute wealth of controls and modes, that could make for a longer learning curve before you become familiar with all its capabilities. That said though, once you do learn its ins and outs, the 7D's user interface is one of the most powerful and fluid we've seen to date. The 7D's "bristling" (Shawn's word, and a good one) collection of controls makes for very easy, intuitive operation once you learn where they all are and what they all do. In our testing, the 7D's body-based anti-shake system worked very well, delivering a good two f-stops of improvement in maximum usable exposure times, at least out to the 135mm limit of our testing. (Its effectiveness does seem to decrease somewhat as you get to longer focal lengths.) Considering that this system effectively turns all your lenses into anti-shake models, the higher cost of the 7D's body relative to competing models seems very well justified. Negative points were relatively minor (depending, of course, on the type of shooting you're looking to do) - A slight tendency to underexpose, particularly when confronted with scenes having strong highlights, an occasionally hesitant AF system, and overly aggressive noise suppression at high ISOs. Overall, a camera that we have no qualms about recommending to loyal Minolta shooters, and one that we're confident will prove to have been well worth the wait.


See the full review on imaging-resource.com. Or post your own below!


Keywords: Konica Minolta SLR CF APS-C 6MP Anti-Shake


Rover

Registered: July 2008
Posts: 13
Konica Minolta Dynax Maxxum 7D review by Rover
Review Date: 1/3/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,200.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: stabilizer, controls, big and bright LCD, speed, IQ at low ISOs...
Cons: high ISO noise, KM going out of business

It was a story of (mostly) unrequited love, me and this camera. My first DSLR lasted less than a year because KM went out of business and when my camera's AEC dial snapped off (for seemingly no reason whatsoever) no one wanted to repair it so it had to be sold for parts and I got a Canon instead.


In the meantime, though, it made me quite a few great pictures with a beercan, a 28-75 and a few Sigmas. The built-in stabilization helped me a lot - I miss it in the Canons, because their choice of IS lenses is so limited and I can't have it on, oh say, a 50mm for total darkness. It was by no means a machinegun camera like my current Canon 1D Mark II N but it was also quite fast and responsive.


The control system is great, instead of digging down menus you could have it all on the surface. I wish more of this stuff appears on the market again someday. Though it collected dust very well, and the AEC ring quitting on me led to the demise of this camera.


The 6MP Sony sensor was nothing to write home about though (same as with Nikon D70), not very usable above ISO 800.


Still, I miss this one a bit, though I would have upgraded to A900 had I stayed with the A system.
Verde

Registered: June 2008
Posts: 2
Konica Minolta Dynax Maxxum 7D review by Verde
Review Date: 7/5/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $900.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image Quality. Buttons, knobs, and dials!
Cons: Umm, I don't understand the question.

This camera is amazing in so many ways. I just bought it new in Jan '08 and use the lenses from my Maxxum 9000. I've taken photos of a bee and captured the reflection of the flower in it's eye. Shooting the beercan at f/5.6 it resolved the scales on a butterfly's wings. Maybe it's just me, but mega-pixels mean less to me then quality and functionality... I hate to move the camera from my eye to access menu's (so, no Sony yet, maybe they'll get the A900/flagship right?) The 7D simply rocks and I get to keep using the glass I bought over 20 yrs ago Smile
nowake

Registered: March 2006
Posts: 2
Konica Minolta Dynax Maxxum 7D review by nowake
Review Date: 3/8/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,050.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Dials, Anti-shake, Solid Build Quality, Big LCD, and Superb Pictures
Cons: When reviewing RAW images, can't zoom in on them.

I looked at the D100, D70, D50, 20D, the Rebel, and ended up with the 7D because of two things, Anti-Shake and the external Dials. For the average user, all of these cameras perform great and are for the most part the same, but in the heat of the moment, having big dials instead of computer menus to change settings, is a blessing. The antishake is also great, especially at those times when you are wide open and can't use the flash while inside. If you are new to a SLR system like I was, go for the Minolta. While Canon/Nikon might have a tad better lens system at the high end, unless you can afford 1000+ for each lens, the Minolta will more then suit your needs. Minolta has both a great lens line that rivals Canon/Nikon and 3rd party support with plenty of high quality lenses of their own.
alphadoug

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 1
Konica Minolta Dynax Maxxum 7D review by alphadoug
Review Date: 10/20/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,400.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Extremely Photog friendly external controls, excellent motion correction works with all lenses, great image quality.
Cons: A little heavy.

This camera works with all existing Maxxum lenses. This includes some of the best glass in the world. Also, anti-shake works with ALL lenses, not just VR or IS lenses that cost 3 times as much as non-IS/VR. Best feature in my mind is the quick and easy manual access to virtually all camera functions for shooting on the outside of the camera. Change ISO, press button, rotate dial. Change EV, rotate knob. Change metering mode, click switch. Change to manual focus, press button. Change shooting modes, rotate knob. You can really be ready for that big shot, or react quickly to changes. BIG Lcd is nice also. Camera is also fast and the battery lasts a long time. It's not 8 mpixels, but which would you rather have: 8 Mpixel shaky blurry picture, or 6 mpixel sharp photo. Until there is a 12-13 mpixel camera with full frame sensor at about $1500 for the body, I'm sticking with this camera. Love it. (And, you can get almost the same thing now, without all the knobs and dials, for about half the price I paid by getting the 5D


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.