SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
35 29258 9/3/2009
Recommended By Average Purchase
91% of reviewers $805.80
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
7.87
spacerspacer
9.16
spacerspacer
8.87
1canonrebelxt.jpg



  • Canon Digital SLR designed ground-up to be digital
  • 8.0-megapixel CMOS sensor, 3,456 x 2,304 pixel images
  • ISO of 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600
  • Impressive image quality, color accuracy, low image noise, resolution
  • Compatible with all Canon EOS system lenses and accessories, focal length multiplier of 1.6, plus the new EF-S digital-only design

The original Canon EOS Digital Rebel made waves in the digital SLR marketplace, offering professional-level features and control at a very low price. Now, the new Canon Digital Rebel XT brings dramatic improvements across the board, with better resolution and speed, and myriad improvements in camera operation and user control. In almost every parameter, the Canon Rebel XT offers significant enhancements beyond the original model, while maintaining the same (original) list price. Despite its advanced feature set, the Canon Rebel XT manages to span the full range of user needs, from the pure point & shoot user interested only in "green zone" operation to the professional looking for an inexpensive second body. As such, it's a nearly ideal option for families or other situations in which users of greatly varying experience levels need to share the same camera. My one biggest gripe with the camera will be some users' favorite feature: The small (tiny) hand grip. While I found shooting with the camera an infuriating exercise in frustration and crunched fingertips, women who picked up the camera immediately loved how it felt in their hands. My advice to ham-handed shooters like myself would be to pick up the optional battery grip. While not doing much for horizontal-format shooting, the battery grip makes for a very comfortable experience when shooting vertical-format images, and generally gives the camera a better sense of balance, at least in my experience. All in all, the Canon Digital Rebel XT is a technological tour de force, delivered in a tiny, attractive package, and with a set of user controls that are equally approachable by novices and professional shooters. Highly recommended, and a shoo-in as a Dave's Pick.


See the full review on imaging-resource.com. Or post your own below!


Keywords: Canon SLR CF APS-C 8MP


Barry

Registered: September 2009
Posts: 6
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by Barry
Review Date: 9/3/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $240.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything except the dim LCD screen
Cons: Dim LCD screen

Due to a new store opening, I was able to get this at an absolute bargain. I had a Canon EOS300D (Digital Rebel) which was also a great camera, but the 350 is streets better. I don't print very large, so the megapixel size is not too important, although it will print as large as A3 without pixellation. Except for the dim LCD, which is difficult to see in bright sunlight, (which we have a lot of in South Africa,) I must rate this as the best buy I have ever made. I kept my 85mm f/1.8 and my 430EX II and I now have an unbeatable combination. The size issue does not bother me although I have large hands. Canon has always made great products and this is another in a great line of excellent products.
I will recommend this camera unreservedly. Excellent value for money and excellent images.
Toco1980

Registered: May 2007
Posts: 5
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by Toco1980
Review Date: 1/10/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,000.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: small, lightweight, image quality
Cons: small viewfinder, small LCD, no spot metering

So far my first and only dSLR, and after 2 years of constant (ab)use, it still works very well...
Bodhidharmazen

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by Bodhidharmazen
Review Date: 1/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Size, clean images up to ISO1600, instant on, good quality even at 4MP
Cons: no image stabilization system, ergonomics for big hands, a little soft images out of the box

NOTE: This is more a comparo between the entry level Canon Rebel XT against the "top of the cream" P&S Panasonic's FZ50


Panasonic FZ50 vs Canon Rebel XT


Cada vez más gente me pregunta sobre cámaras fotográficas. Con la facilidad enorme que otorgan al usuario y los costos básicamente nulos de tomar todas las fotografías que queramos, la fotografía está dejando de ser cosa de unos cuantos (los encargados de la foto familiar), para volverse cada vez más un asunto de todos.


Una de las preguntas que más preocupan a los usuarios es la de cuál cámara comprar. Con tantas ofertas en el mercado, la decisión puede ser bastante difícil (si uno realmente se esmera por comprar la mejor cámara posible y no sólo la que el vendedor le ofrece en su tienda acostumbrada).


En esta ocasión tuve la oportunidad de comparar una Panasonic FZ50, una de las mejores cámaras de lentes fijos del mundo, en contra de una Rebel XT, que es la cámara de lentes intercambiables más sencilla de Canon.


La diferencia de precios entre ambas (en Estados Unidos) es algo así como 100 dólares, siendo la más cara la Canon. En prestaciones, los números de la FZ50 en contraste a la Rebel XT llaman la atención:


• 10 Megapixeles en contraste a 8 MP
• Zoom óptico de 12X en comparación a los 3X de los lentes del “kit” de Canon
• Zoom óptico expandible a 21X a 2 MP en contraste a 3X fijos
• Apertura máxima de 2.8 contra 3.5 de la XT
• Estabilizador de imagen
• Capacidad de tomar películas


Agreguemos que los lentes Leica de la Panasonic son, básicamente, los mejores de todas las Prosumer y veremos porqué todo esto, aunado a su precio, la hacen bastante atractiva a los ojos de los consumidores.


Pero no todo es superior en la FZ50 veamos los puntos fuertes de la Rebel XT:


• ISO 1600 que ofrece imágenes más limpias que las de la FZ50 a ISO200
• Capacidad de 3 fotos por segundo en contraste a 1.5 de la FZ50
• Transparencia visual de los resultados del procesamiento interno de la cámara
• Posibilidad de crecer a mejores lentes


Ahora bien, esta es una de esas ocasiones en que las palabras no bastan (¿recuerda eso de que una imagen vale más que mil de éstas?). Aún así, dada la naturaleza la revista, me veo limitado a tratar de describirle algunas de las diferencias más importantes, pero no a nivel de cámaras, sino en donde cuentan; los resultados.


A plena luz del día y utilizando sólo ISO100 en la FZ50 los resultados son en extremo parecidos, ambas cámaras ofrecen una calidad muy buena. Con la ventaja del lado de la Panasonic a la hora de utilizar su enorme zoom óptico de 12X, que brinda imágenes imposibles para el lente que viene con el kit de la Rebel XT.


Eso es todo. En cualquier otra situación las fotos de la Rebel XT son superiores con relación a las de la FZ50. En ocasiones las diferencias son enormes. Por ejemplo, en condiciones de poca luz, cuando hay que escalar el ISO hasta los 1600. La Rebel XT ofrece simplemente fotos más limpias que las que la Panasonic logra a ISO 200.


Ahora bien. Esto parece indicar que la Rebel es mejor cámara. Pero esto no estaba en discusión. Por supuesto que es mejor, tiene un sensor que resulta varias veces más grande que el de la FZ50 lo que requiere mucho menos manipulación digital de la imagen y brinda fotografías más nítidas y claras.


Pero no olvidemos que no todos los usuarios somos iguales. Habrá quien no quiere gastar fortunas en adquirir buenos lentes para una cámara como la Rebel y tampoco quiera estar cambiando los lentes constantemente.


Este tipo de personas se sentirá muy a gusto con una cámara como la FZ50 ya que es fácil de usar, ofrece una calidad de imágenes extremadamente competente cuando la comparamos con el resto de las Prosumer y es más barata que la XT.


Por otro lado, hay quien se ha vuelto mucho más exigente con las imágenes que quiere lograr. Una persona que se ha convertido en un creativo y necesita una herramienta que le permita expresarse, en contraste a otra con la que tenga que estar peleando.


Es para estas personas para las que la Rebel XT resultará un aliado invaluable. La calidad de sus fotos rivaliza la de cámaras bastante más caras de nivel profesional, y su tamaño y peso la hacen lo suficientemente portátil como para llevarla y traerla a todos lados. Es simplemente una pequeña maravilla que le permitirá tomar fotos realmente impresionantes.


En Resumen:


Al final, y como siempre, lo que cuenta es usted, el tipo de fotógrafo que lleva adentro. Las cámaras no son más que herramientas diseñadas para un fin, y también para un determinado tipo de usuario. Sólo me resta recomendarle que, si está pensando en adquirir una cámara, exija en la tienda que lo dejen probarla (ahí mismo, tampoco es que lo dejen llevársela a su casa), vea si se siente cómodo con la misma. Luego verifique la opinión de otros usuarios en la Red. Si puede vivir con los puntos débiles de la que escoja, ¡ya la hizo!
kankushok

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 3
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by kankushok
Review Date: 1/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: fast focus, good high ISO performance, small and light
Cons: uncomfortable grip, not very intuitive controls, fast AF

Used this with a Sigma 28-300 during a trip to DC. The high ISO performance was great, and overal IQ and AF speed good. however, it's ergonomics are mediocre with a too small grip, and unintuitive controls.
matthewporter

Registered: August 2006
Posts: 12
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by matthewporter
Review Date: 1/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 0 

 
Pros: CMOS Sensor, RAW Software
Cons: Tiny hand grip, Poor shutter release button design

I tried this camera extensively before going for the Nikon D50 in the end. While it features one of the fantastic Canon CMOS sensors, I found that the design of the body let it down badly.


As soon as I picked it up I found the hand grip too small. I don't have big hands yet it proved impossible to hold and support the camera in a way which was comfortable. Nikon have managed to make the D40 small yet comfortable so Canon have some catching up to do here.


I also found that the shutter release button didn't feel very well made. It didn't have the positive feel that I have experienced on other cameras.


Canon do supply RAW manipulation software though - pay attention Nikon!
amelo14

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 10
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by amelo14
Review Date: 1/14/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $850.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Cost, Pixel count, WEIGHT, Image quality
Cons: Build, 7 Fouces zones, up to ISO 1600

After having had my Canon G3 and being accustomed to P&S cameras, I finally decided to purchase an SLR. They had gone down in price a lot and I took the plunge not knowing exactly the world of difference that was opening up. What I loved most about the XT is its size and weight. Its build could be better, but then it would be a 20D or 30D! If it is more important to invest on lenses than on bodies than this is the way to go. Image quality is on par with the venerable 20D and if you are careful it will last many years. Even if you purchase the new XTi, it won't be much of an upgrade (perhaps a better AF system being a real advantage.) So all in all, and for much better overall value than a Nikon D40 or D50 given that NOW they are at very similar prices now. The money you save in the body can go into buying those lenses which will allow you to learn more about the different ways of viewing the world that each lens provides.
hbcc100

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 6
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by hbcc100
Review Date: 1/14/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I looked at this on the internet and from the values was convinced it was better than the Nikon D50, in particular I liked the faster burst mode. However, when I tried it in the shop, I found it flimsy and impossible to hold - I have relatively small hands, but my hand didn't fit on the grip and I couldn't hold it so it was stable which might be a problem when taking pictures! The controls also felt flimsy and in the end, I ended up buying the D50 instead. It's a shame, because the 30D has none of these issues and from the pure stats this ought to be a good entry level camera.
MJG

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 5
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by MJG
Review Date: 1/14/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,070.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent image quality, compact
Cons: Autofocus performance in low light; setting of ISO etc.

I switched to the EOS 350D from the analog 50E and 100 and felt "at home" right away, man of the controls being very similar.
Image quality is excellent, even for larger prints (8x10). ISO 100-400 can be used without any problems. 800 is useable with some caveats (better turn back sharpening), 1600 shows noticable noise (better take RAW and postprocess) but can get you the shot you would miss otherwise.
Autofocus is good, although in low light it's considerably behind the performance of the 50E and 100.
Note on the price paid: This is an early adopter's price converted from Euros at the current exchange rate.
John H Maw

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 15
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by John H Maw
Review Date: 1/14/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: