SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
35 25998 9/3/2009
Recommended By Average Purchase
91% of reviewers $805.80
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
7.87
spacerspacer
9.16
spacerspacer
8.87
1canonrebelxt.jpg



  • Canon Digital SLR designed ground-up to be digital
  • 8.0-megapixel CMOS sensor, 3,456 x 2,304 pixel images
  • ISO of 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600
  • Impressive image quality, color accuracy, low image noise, resolution
  • Compatible with all Canon EOS system lenses and accessories, focal length multiplier of 1.6, plus the new EF-S digital-only design

The original Canon EOS Digital Rebel made waves in the digital SLR marketplace, offering professional-level features and control at a very low price. Now, the new Canon Digital Rebel XT brings dramatic improvements across the board, with better resolution and speed, and myriad improvements in camera operation and user control. In almost every parameter, the Canon Rebel XT offers significant enhancements beyond the original model, while maintaining the same (original) list price. Despite its advanced feature set, the Canon Rebel XT manages to span the full range of user needs, from the pure point & shoot user interested only in "green zone" operation to the professional looking for an inexpensive second body. As such, it's a nearly ideal option for families or other situations in which users of greatly varying experience levels need to share the same camera. My one biggest gripe with the camera will be some users' favorite feature: The small (tiny) hand grip. While I found shooting with the camera an infuriating exercise in frustration and crunched fingertips, women who picked up the camera immediately loved how it felt in their hands. My advice to ham-handed shooters like myself would be to pick up the optional battery grip. While not doing much for horizontal-format shooting, the battery grip makes for a very comfortable experience when shooting vertical-format images, and generally gives the camera a better sense of balance, at least in my experience. All in all, the Canon Digital Rebel XT is a technological tour de force, delivered in a tiny, attractive package, and with a set of user controls that are equally approachable by novices and professional shooters. Highly recommended, and a shoo-in as a Dave's Pick.


See the full review on imaging-resource.com. Or post your own below!


Keywords: Canon SLR CF APS-C 8MP


Barry

Registered: September 2009
Posts: 6
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by Barry
Review Date: 9/3/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $240.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything except the dim LCD screen
Cons: Dim LCD screen

Due to a new store opening, I was able to get this at an absolute bargain. I had a Canon EOS300D (Digital Rebel) which was also a great camera, but the 350 is streets better. I don't print very large, so the megapixel size is not too important, although it will print as large as A3 without pixellation. Except for the dim LCD, which is difficult to see in bright sunlight, (which we have a lot of in South Africa,) I must rate this as the best buy I have ever made. I kept my 85mm f/1.8 and my 430EX II and I now have an unbeatable combination. The size issue does not bother me although I have large hands. Canon has always made great products and this is another in a great line of excellent products.
I will recommend this camera unreservedly. Excellent value for money and excellent images.
Toco1980

Registered: May 2007
Posts: 5
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by Toco1980
Review Date: 1/10/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,000.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: small, lightweight, image quality
Cons: small viewfinder, small LCD, no spot metering

So far my first and only dSLR, and after 2 years of constant (ab)use, it still works very well...
Bodhidharmazen

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by Bodhidharmazen
Review Date: 1/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Size, clean images up to ISO1600, instant on, good quality even at 4MP
Cons: no image stabilization system, ergonomics for big hands, a little soft images out of the box

NOTE: This is more a comparo between the entry level Canon Rebel XT against the "top of the cream" P&S Panasonic's FZ50


Panasonic FZ50 vs Canon Rebel XT


Cada vez más gente me pregunta sobre cámaras fotográficas. Con la facilidad enorme que otorgan al usuario y los costos básicamente nulos de tomar todas las fotografías que queramos, la fotografía está dejando de ser cosa de unos cuantos (los encargados de la foto familiar), para volverse cada vez más un asunto de todos.


Una de las preguntas que más preocupan a los usuarios es la de cuál cámara comprar. Con tantas ofertas en el mercado, la decisión puede ser bastante difícil (si uno realmente se esmera por comprar la mejor cámara posible y no sólo la que el vendedor le ofrece en su tienda acostumbrada).


En esta ocasión tuve la oportunidad de comparar una Panasonic FZ50, una de las mejores cámaras de lentes fijos del mundo, en contra de una Rebel XT, que es la cámara de lentes intercambiables más sencilla de Canon.


La diferencia de precios entre ambas (en Estados Unidos) es algo así como 100 dólares, siendo la más cara la Canon. En prestaciones, los números de la FZ50 en contraste a la Rebel XT llaman la atención:


• 10 Megapixeles en contraste a 8 MP
• Zoom óptico de 12X en comparación a los 3X de los lentes del “kit” de Canon
• Zoom óptico expandible a 21X a 2 MP en contraste a 3X fijos
• Apertura máxima de 2.8 contra 3.5 de la XT
• Estabilizador de imagen
• Capacidad de tomar películas


Agreguemos que los lentes Leica de la Panasonic son, básicamente, los mejores de todas las Prosumer y veremos porqué todo esto, aunado a su precio, la hacen bastante atractiva a los ojos de los consumidores.


Pero no todo es superior en la FZ50 veamos los puntos fuertes de la Rebel XT:


• ISO 1600 que ofrece imágenes más limpias que las de la FZ50 a ISO200
• Capacidad de 3 fotos por segundo en contraste a 1.5 de la FZ50
• Transparencia visual de los resultados del procesamiento interno de la cámara
• Posibilidad de crecer a mejores lentes


Ahora bien, esta es una de esas ocasiones en que las palabras no bastan (¿recuerda eso de que una imagen vale más que mil de éstas?). Aún así, dada la naturaleza la revista, me veo limitado a tratar de describirle algunas de las diferencias más importantes, pero no a nivel de cámaras, sino en donde cuentan; los resultados.


A plena luz del día y utilizando sólo ISO100 en la FZ50 los resultados son en extremo parecidos, ambas cámaras ofrecen una calidad muy buena. Con la ventaja del lado de la Panasonic a la hora de utilizar su enorme zoom óptico de 12X, que brinda imágenes imposibles para el lente que viene con el kit de la Rebel XT.


Eso es todo. En cualquier otra situación las fotos de la Rebel XT son superiores con relación a las de la FZ50. En ocasiones las diferencias son enormes. Por ejemplo, en condiciones de poca luz, cuando hay que escalar el ISO hasta los 1600. La Rebel XT ofrece simplemente fotos más limpias que las que la Panasonic logra a ISO 200.


Ahora bien. Esto parece indicar que la Rebel es mejor cámara. Pero esto no estaba en discusión. Por supuesto que es mejor, tiene un sensor que resulta varias veces más grande que el de la FZ50 lo que requiere mucho menos manipulación digital de la imagen y brinda fotografías más nítidas y claras.


Pero no olvidemos que no todos los usuarios somos iguales. Habrá quien no quiere gastar fortunas en adquirir buenos lentes para una cámara como la Rebel y tampoco quiera estar cambiando los lentes constantemente.


Este tipo de personas se sentirá muy a gusto con una cámara como la FZ50 ya que es fácil de usar, ofrece una calidad de imágenes extremadamente competente cuando la comparamos con el resto de las Prosumer y es más barata que la XT.


Por otro lado, hay quien se ha vuelto mucho más exigente con las imágenes que quiere lograr. Una persona que se ha convertido en un creativo y necesita una herramienta que le permita expresarse, en contraste a otra con la que tenga que estar peleando.


Es para estas personas para las que la Rebel XT resultará un aliado invaluable. La calidad de sus fotos rivaliza la de cámaras bastante más caras de nivel profesional, y su tamaño y peso la hacen lo suficientemente portátil como para llevarla y traerla a todos lados. Es simplemente una pequeña maravilla que le permitirá tomar fotos realmente impresionantes.


En Resumen:


Al final, y como siempre, lo que cuenta es usted, el tipo de fotógrafo que lleva adentro. Las cámaras no son más que herramientas diseñadas para un fin, y también para un determinado tipo de usuario. Sólo me resta recomendarle que, si está pensando en adquirir una cámara, exija en la tienda que lo dejen probarla (ahí mismo, tampoco es que lo dejen llevársela a su casa), vea si se siente cómodo con la misma. Luego verifique la opinión de otros usuarios en la Red. Si puede vivir con los puntos débiles de la que escoja, ¡ya la hizo!
kankushok

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 3
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by kankushok
Review Date: 1/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: fast focus, good high ISO performance, small and light
Cons: uncomfortable grip, not very intuitive controls, fast AF

Used this with a Sigma 28-300 during a trip to DC. The high ISO performance was great, and overal IQ and AF speed good. however, it's ergonomics are mediocre with a too small grip, and unintuitive controls.
matthewporter

Registered: August 2006
Posts: 12
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by matthewporter
Review Date: 1/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 0 

 
Pros: CMOS Sensor, RAW Software
Cons: Tiny hand grip, Poor shutter release button design

I tried this camera extensively before going for the Nikon D50 in the end. While it features one of the fantastic Canon CMOS sensors, I found that the design of the body let it down badly.


As soon as I picked it up I found the hand grip too small. I don't have big hands yet it proved impossible to hold and support the camera in a way which was comfortable. Nikon have managed to make the D40 small yet comfortable so Canon have some catching up to do here.


I also found that the shutter release button didn't feel very well made. It didn't have the positive feel that I have experienced on other cameras.


Canon do supply RAW manipulation software though - pay attention Nikon!
amelo14

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 10
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by amelo14
Review Date: 1/14/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $850.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Cost, Pixel count, WEIGHT, Image quality
Cons: Build, 7 Fouces zones, up to ISO 1600

After having had my Canon G3 and being accustomed to P&S cameras, I finally decided to purchase an SLR. They had gone down in price a lot and I took the plunge not knowing exactly the world of difference that was opening up. What I loved most about the XT is its size and weight. Its build could be better, but then it would be a 20D or 30D! If it is more important to invest on lenses than on bodies than this is the way to go. Image quality is on par with the venerable 20D and if you are careful it will last many years. Even if you purchase the new XTi, it won't be much of an upgrade (perhaps a better AF system being a real advantage.) So all in all, and for much better overall value than a Nikon D40 or D50 given that NOW they are at very similar prices now. The money you save in the body can go into buying those lenses which will allow you to learn more about the different ways of viewing the world that each lens provides.
hbcc100

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 6
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by hbcc100
Review Date: 1/14/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I looked at this on the internet and from the values was convinced it was better than the Nikon D50, in particular I liked the faster burst mode. However, when I tried it in the shop, I found it flimsy and impossible to hold - I have relatively small hands, but my hand didn't fit on the grip and I couldn't hold it so it was stable which might be a problem when taking pictures! The controls also felt flimsy and in the end, I ended up buying the D50 instead. It's a shame, because the 30D has none of these issues and from the pure stats this ought to be a good entry level camera.
MJG

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 5
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by MJG
Review Date: 1/14/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,070.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent image quality, compact
Cons: Autofocus performance in low light; setting of ISO etc.

I switched to the EOS 350D from the analog 50E and 100 and felt "at home" right away, man of the controls being very similar.
Image quality is excellent, even for larger prints (8x10). ISO 100-400 can be used without any problems. 800 is useable with some caveats (better turn back sharpening), 1600 shows noticable noise (better take RAW and postprocess) but can get you the shot you would miss otherwise.
Autofocus is good, although in low light it's considerably behind the performance of the 50E and 100.
Note on the price paid: This is an early adopter's price converted from Euros at the current exchange rate.
John H Maw

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 15
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by John H Maw
Review Date: 1/14/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: High quality in a compact package.
Cons: nothing much

I have one of these modified for Infrared shooting, so my use of it is limited, but I think it is a great little camera. I have read criticism of the feel of the camera,but I love it. After-all it is a small camera. Maybe because I used to use film cameras without much or any hand grip I don't see this as a big deal. Sometimes it is really useful to have a small camera, and this is where it scores.


The controls seem to work well and are sensibly laid out (better, I think than the 400D). I have a 20D as backup for my 5D, but I would happily have a 350D if the 20D failed.
lajos

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 7
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by lajos
Review Date: 1/14/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Size and weight are great for the hobby photographer. Imaqe quality, speed of operation
Cons: Size and weight for the pro. Small viewfinder

It's hard to write any new info about this camera that is not mentioned in all the reviews and forum posts. The speed of operation and image quality are great. Before this (my first DSLR), I thought that compact digicams took good pics in strong daylight. Now I can't bring myself to use my little Panasonic for anything but taking 640x480 movie clips. Also, the Canon's pics take Photoshopping (sharpening, noise reduction, contrast/exposure changes) so much better. About the much-debated size and weight issue: what's an advantage to a hobbyist is a disadvantage to a pro. See also my notes in the pros and cons section above. All in all, it's a fantastic camera for a first-time DSLR user.
tdotduffman

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 10
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by tdotduffman
Review Date: 1/13/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $700.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Compact, lightweight powerhouse; splendid image quality
Cons: Smallish LCD; tiny lag when moving from capture to adjust e.g. ISO or WB

Canon CMOSs are known for their images, so enough about that.


I grant that this is a very small SLR. However, though I have large hand and long fingers, I don't find this overly detracting. Since I support the system with my lens hand, I don't need an iron grip with the shooting hand. Having handled a 300D, 10D and 30D, I admit they provide a fuller, grippy feel, but I can't fathom any significant increase in quality of shots due to this. I much prefer the compactness and all-day portability.


The LCD, at 1.8", is adequate for checking exposure and composition, but the newer 2.5" ones bear an unmistakable advantage.


Sure, its plastic, but it won't crack if one squeezes it too hard, and I doubt anyone will conduct a drop test to discover if the 30D will survive any more than this camera.
AlainD

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 8
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by AlainD
Review Date: 1/12/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $670.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: compact, very responsive, great ISO
Cons: small LCD

switched to XT/350D after using 300D for about a year (never crazy about the large light plastic feel of the original Rebel, which was also slow response previewing images, etc..). I've now own it now for over a year and totally love it. Still a great camera even with Xti being out and can be had for a great price now (bought mine 14 months ago with rebates).


Only thing I would change is the small screen (outdated even back then) and would love to have Body IS (Pentax k100d/k10d) rather than spend $$$ per lens. Don't need more mpix, 8 is plenty, and would take better ISO over 10mp any time.
FLASH

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 1
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by FLASH
Review Date: 1/10/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $700.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: AMAZING DETAIL, GREAT QUALITY, EASY TO USE.
Cons: I DON'T CARE FOR SO MUCH PLASTIC.

THE PICTURE SHARPNESS AND QUALITY ARE AMAZING. NO PROBLEMS MOVING AROUND THE BUTTONS. I DON'T CARE FOR SO MUCH PLASTIC BUT IT DID FEEL COMFORTABLE.
six100

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 10
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by six100
Review Date: 1/8/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $900.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Features, 8 megapixels, size (a negative on one side and a plus on the other - for portability). Great camera to switch from P&S to DSLR.
Cons: None for what you pay but I would love it bundled with PC-synchro port, slightly bigger body (when used with big lenses it becomes sort of unconfortable and unprecise) and a brighter LCD screen.

I switch from P&S with this camera. Found it to be an awesome compromise between price and features. No negatives about it except for one time I wanted to connect a radio slave trigger for a flash & of course coulnd´t because of the lack of a PC-Synchro port (you can solve this by using a shoe to PC adapter though, but at the time I chose not to do it). Besides that, I think it´s a solid product. Sold it about 4 months ago to get a 30D. The 400D seems to be an even better deal nowadays.


Some pics taken with it & a Sigma 30mm F/1.4 EX DC HSM lens:


http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/36330443/
http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/36030867/


XT + Sigma 24-70 F/2.8 EX DG Macro:


http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/33973224/


XT + Tamron AF70-300 F/4-5.6 LD Macro (low Q lens but another good beginner´s deal for around 120u$s):


http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/30689176/
amolas

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 6
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by amolas
Review Date: 1/6/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $800.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: price, size, cmos-sensor
Cons: size

It's a good slr to start. The price is very affordable, and the picture quality is great.


Can also be useful as a backup slr.


But the body is too small. With my big hands, I can't handle it very well without the BGE-3 grip
mxwphoto

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 12
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by mxwphoto
Review Date: 1/2/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $900.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very small and light
Cons: Feels like a toy

A revolutionary camera (price wise) during its debut, this camera had garnered the affection of many wanting to join in the DSLR era but couldn't due to its prohibitive prices before.
I used the XT for about 2 months back when it first came out. I had the silver version and was pretty happy with it... aside from a few compromises.


The good:
User interface was clean and intuitive, buttons were big enough (though I do have small hands), and the camera is very compact, perfect for travels, which I often did up and down the coastline. Pictures were good enough (it had more to do with the kit lens' limitations) and the features were plentiful for a novice starter.


The compromise:
Even though I had small hands, the grip seemed a bit restricting. My pinky could never fully get on the grip, so many times I hold it at the bottom of the camera as support. I haven't tried the scroll wheel on the 20D at the time yet, but once I tried it, I knew the 4 way buttons on the back wouldn't satisfy me anymore. The plastic body feels toyish and the silver version scratches easily, so be careful when handling it.


The XT is a good starter camera or a cheap 2nd body but it will leave many wanting more, which is actually exactly what Canon wants it to do. A great success.
edhoel

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 3
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by edhoel
Review Date: 1/1/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $700.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Construction, light weight, quality of photos
Cons: Viewfinder sizes, battery life

Purchased this camera in August 05 and have found it to be an excellent camera. My one complaint is the battery life, I shoot everything in RAW and only get about 250 shots (w/o flash) per charge
logogogue

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 10
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by logogogue
Review Date: 12/28/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent starter camera, Wide variety of features, Bang for the buck
Cons: Smallish, wonky auto-focus points, a tad slow on focusing on fast moving objects

Although this has now been replaced by the far more capable XTi, I tremendously enjoyed using this camera. I learned a lot about photography using it. I decided to get it on a whim for Christrmas and it's been completely trouble free and is pretty sturdy although the body is made out of plastic. If one understands how to use all of the features (flash compensation, etc.) properly, you can take some brilliant photos even with the pop-up flash. If the XTi hadn't come out, I'd tell anyone starting out or just doesn't want to lay out tons of $ for a solid SLR, to grab the XT without even thinking about it. It is an awesome camera and you get far more than what you pay. Kudos to Canon for building a fantastic camera. I have really come to enjoy photography because of it. There isn't any more higher praise for me than that.
johnkeats

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 7
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by johnkeats
Review Date: 12/18/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $498.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: small, easy to use, great image quality, inexpensive
Cons: smaller LCD

This is a well put together little camera. The controls are easy to use, the exposures tend to be right on, and the image quality is great. The LCD is a little small compared to this year's models, but as of 12/06 you can save $200 and spend it on a better lens.
jlam

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 4
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by jlam
Review Date: 12/18/2006 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $859.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Affordable start, image quality, fast AF
Cons: No built-in IS, small hand grip, expensive long term, menu not always intuitive

I purchased this camera with kit lens back in 6/2005. At the time, this was one of the best budget dSLR cameras available. I’m reviewing this now from 12/2006 perspective. The camera is “current” given that Canon is still selling it. You can get one with kit lens for ~$590 and body only for ~$490.


The first thing that struck me when I picked up this camera was how fast the response was in all areas (coming from point-and-shoot and 35mm SLR long ago) – control, AF, etc. The image quality is top notch. The resolution is just right. The features suite amateur photographers well.


If you are considering this camera, chances are, you are a budget shooter. With that in mind, I can’t say that buying this camera and gear would be affordable in the long run. The primary problem I run into is the lack of affordable IS lenses. I believe some kind of IS system is essential to photographers.


Let’s say I buy the hot new Pentax K10D body ($920) today with built-in shake reduction and a decent Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 ($415). Starting cost: $1335


But if I get the XT body ($490) and the 17-55mm f/2.8 IS ($950), I would still end up paying more: $1440. Well, this is just the beginning. Or else compromise and give up IS.


Consider the IS lenses lineup, there are not many with fast lens. This is a significant blow to users who count on every bit of light possible. Worst, IS lenses are expensive! I don’t care how much better lens based IS are than built-in IS system. If you can’t afford one, you’ll have no IS at all!


If you choose a camera with built-in IS, you immediately open up yourself to many walkaround lens choices: Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5, 24-70mm f/2.8, to name a few. Hence I'm giving a conditional “No” recommendation. If you don’t care about IS, this would be a nice starting camera.
mebailey

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 21
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by mebailey
Review Date: 12/14/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $899.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Small, light but excellent camera. Excellent features for price.
Cons: Seems fragile. Pop-up flash is very weak.

This was my first digital camera but I still use it as a back-up. It has an excellent feature set for the price and delivers astounding quality. The high iso performance is particularly good. The battery life is good. The camera is ready essentially instantly when turned on. There is very little delay in the shutter released once focused.
I would pass on the kit lens however. I think the 35L or the 24-70f 2.8 are a great walk around lenses for this camera.
The camera is small and light but seems like it might be fragile if not handled with some care.
razorblack

Registered: February 2006
Posts: 7
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by razorblack
Review Date: 12/7/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $809.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: everything, quiet, small, good image quality
Cons: autofocus unreliable sometimes, some controls hiden

I won't repeat the good things about the 350D, and just mention the bad:


* Takes quite long to switch to mirror lock-up.
* Autofocus once in a while disappoints. Especially in low light.
* Viewfinder is small (but not excessively, to me), and yet the edges are hard to see when wearing glasses, which leads to crooked photos.
* Zooming in and scrolling on photos in playback is incredibly slow and frustrating, slowing you down when checking if the focus was right. The two-year-older Canon G5 does it twice as fast.


Size is small, but you soon forget about it and it just works.
gadgetguy

Registered: May 2006
Posts: 62
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by gadgetguy
Review Date: 12/4/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 0 

 
Pros: lightweight, small, inexpensive
Cons: grip may be too small for some users

The 350D is almost the perfect 'first' DSLR - it's lightweight and inexpensive but delivers IQ when matched with a good lens.


AF is pretty good and what you would expect it to be. It's the perfect 'littlebrother' to Canon's XXD or even XD series cameras for those times when you don't want to carry too much firepower but want IQ and Canon's unequalled high ISO performance.


Since it's cheaper than it's more robust relatives, it also allows its buyer a bigger budget for better lenses, making ideal for one starting a new DSLR system, since it's lenses that ultimately really count for IQ.
Tomti75

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 13
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by Tomti75
Review Date: 12/4/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $900.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Image quality, high ISO performance, size
Cons: Grip size not for big hands, build quality, AF

My first DSLR after years of SLR (and also a Canon Digital IXUS on the way...).


For the price, the image quality is great, and was really exceptional in this price range when the camera was released. Today, it's more common but the 350D is still close to the top for IQ...
The same goes with the high ISO performance. ISO 1600 is perfectly usable for moderate sized print, and also very good for black and white conversions...


On the other hand, coming from higher end SLRs, I find the AF and exposure system quite poor.
The AF quality is a common complaint and has been adressed with the 400D.
Exposure can be a problem with contrasty situations where it tends to overexpose and burn the highlights. That's not such a big problem in RAW, but when shooting jpeg, you're burnt !


The size and weight is really something great too. I think of those days, when you don't take a bag, just the camera with one lens and hang around in a city for the whole day. Happy to avoid carrying a brick !


Personally, I have small hands and don't mind the small grip, but I perfectly understand the problem for the large-handed ;o)
The screen is small at today's standards, but well, that's just a screen... But the viewfinder is a little more than a screen, and I'd definitely like a better one !


I don't intend to change my camera in the near future, because its primary function (taking good pictures) is not a problem, but I know that its functional limitations will finally bother me at some point...
sacchini

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 2
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by sacchini
Review Date: 12/2/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $750.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Light, relatively cheap, good image quality
Cons: Construction quality, easy to get dust on sensor

My first DSLR, coming from a Sony F707.
Good control on shot parameter, very good image quality and very useful on travel when light is better.
Construction quality not as good as other elements but it does not have effect on camera use.
I got dust on sensor even without lens replacement; this happen so often that I think it could be partly caused by a defective design.
The only true complain I can post.
I'm now replacing the 350D/XT body with a 400D/XTi only for dust issue.
AMB

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 4
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by AMB
Review Date: 12/1/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $900.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: price, great pictures, good starter camera
Cons: No AF assist lamp, wear on grip, makes you want more :)

After owning a fuji 2800, making me interested in photographing i bought this camera. For now i really like this camera. Small grip is a bit of an issue, but the price difference with 30D is still quite large which i rather spend on some good lenses.


One negative, the surface of the grip and body has a lot of wear on it in half a year.
cjbowlsby

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 17
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by cjbowlsby
Review Date: 11/30/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: size, weight, resolution, high ISO, instant power-on,
Cons: poor ergonomics, no thumb wheel, no spot metering, small screen

Can't beat this camera's image quality for the price. It's the perfect travel SLR (if you've got canon glass already). Light, with terrific high ISO capability (even better than the 20D @ 1600)


Its auto focus is a bit on the slow side, but by no means is it poor.


Biggest issue is its horrible grip. I have pretty small hands, and even my fingers are cramped. The BG-E3 makes a big difference, but kind of negates the whole idea of having a small camera.
perpera

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 13
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by perpera
Review Date: 11/26/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,050.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Good image quality, lightweight, small
Cons: AF not very good

Had the camera for 1/2 a year and upgraded to 1DMk2, which is of course in a totally different class.
The XT is a good entry level DSLR with very good IQ.
The only thing that annoyed me was AF performance, which is upgraded in the new XTi.
larsrc

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 5
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by larsrc
Review Date: 11/22/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Nice price, works real well, feels good, long battery life, good built-in flash
Cons: No in-camera anti-shake, screen hard to read in sunlight, stupid timer button placement

There's so much good to say about this camera, I'll just bring out some highlights of what impressed me when going from a compact:


Powerful flash for a built-in, though not red-eye proof.
Sits well in my hand.
Reacts very quickly.
Mostly very good button layout and screen interface.
Battery lasts *forever* if the screen is used just for postview.


Some bad points that stand out:


The single image/multiimage/timer button sits where it's easy to hit, especially when using gloves.
Focus assist light is done with the flash, rather powerfully.
ISO is a second-rate setting, requires using the screen to set.
Histogram is not RGB, and doesn't show RAW values.
ddesimoni

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 12
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by ddesimoni
Review Date: 11/18/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great starter body
Cons: small body size, RAW buffer size

this was my first dslr body that I finally sold 6 months ago to upgrade to the 30D.


I would highly recommend this body to anyone, as the image quality is excellent.


image quality compared to the 30D is that the 30D is less noisy through the ISO


what pushed me into another body was that my limit of 3 consecutive RAW files filled the buffer.
Abdee

Registered: January 2006
Posts: 2
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by Abdee
Review Date: 11/17/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $800.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: -size, weight, superb photo quality, overal speed
Cons: -size, weight, controls, viewfinder, AF inconsistent

After one year spent shooting with this lil marvel i'm sure that i'll stay with Rebel series of bodies and spend money on lenses. XTi is what XT should have been but i think that ill skip it and go for future 500D or whatever...


I mostly use my XT for street photography but I also do some product shots and macro work. While small size is blessing in the streets in studio hands sometimes start to hurt... Thats why I see size and weight as pro and con at the same time.
hobbit

Registered: February 2006
Posts: 5
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by hobbit
Review Date: 11/16/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,100.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent image quality, perfect at high ISO, light and small!!! easy to use
Cons: None

I use it for an year with 18-55, 50 and ocassionally other lenses.
It is excellent camera!
The images I get with it are amazing! I think I would upgrade my lens set but not the body for a few years.


I am used to its controls and have no problems navigating them. The automatics of the camera are reliable and fast.


It fits me and my wife as it is small and light, works fast enough and gives great quality of images.


It does not look somehow cheap to me - even though some people may be comparing it to upper models and say so. It is tough enough - I took it to Cuba,Calgary,Vancouver, Moscow, Khazakstan all around Ontarion and to North Carolina.I made shots in mountains and from the Carribean sea (I mean from water:) ) as well as on the sandy beach and from the horse back. It works excellent so far. No complaints.
Well I take nice care of it - it is always shileded, laying in the bag when not used .... but I wonder how long EOS 1 or 5 would last if not taken proper care of?
I do recommend it over anything - excellent, small but nice Camera.
przemekszymbra

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 3
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by przemekszymbra
Review Date: 11/16/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $800.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: low noise, easy to use, weight, image quality, battery life, overall performance
Cons: grip, viewfinder

pros: low noise, easy to use, weight, image quality, battery life, overall performance


cons: grip, viewfinder


--------------------------
Easly justifies its price!
pj1974

Registered: February 2006
Posts: 6
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by pj1974
Review Date: 11/16/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $800.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Small size (for DSLR), fast operation, decent price, great image quality, good focus & exposure, big step up from P&S
Cons: smallish LCD screen, no dedicated AF assist lamp

I have owned the Canon Rebel XT / 350D for a year now and am very happy it. It is my first DSLR and I enjoy using it immensely, it really is a new photographic experience (and a big step up) from my Fuji P&S.


To compliment this camera I have 4 Canon lenses. I would advise all "DSLR newbies" to save up and buy at least one higher quality lens than the kit lens. Not that the kit lens is bad (see my review for that lens).. but there is definitely a noticeable difference in image quality as well as performance (e.g. focus speed / accuracy, CA, "usability" with a lens a step up from the kit lens). As well as the 18-55mm kit lens I have the 28-135mm USM IS lens (this is a good example of a "step up", and is my walk around) as well as the 50mm f1.8 and the 100-300mm USM lens.


Some people complain about the "tiny hand grip" or the menu buttons (e.g. needing to press "OK" to confirm certain menu choices) or the "small / dim viewfinder". These are not problems for me at all. Maybe I'm just a bit more flexible about such things than most people, or my hands (which are NOT large) fit ok... as well I have to admit I never got used to larger viewfinders / different (maybe easier menu systems). But I've used this camera to shoot over 20,000 photos by now, many of them were at camps / conferences or on holidays where I would be shooting all day and I felt great (no tired eyes, hands, etc).


I really appreciate this cameras image quality, both in terms of level of detail / definition, excellent low noise characteristics at high ISO's, dynamic range and colour reproduction. I soon learned that to get the best out of this DSLR (as with all DSLRs) one needs to learn and use some basic post processing techniques. I often find applying some extra contrast, boosting the saturation a bit as well as of course applying sharpening with an unsharp mask does a good job to bring out the digital photos' best from this XT / 350D.


On a simple "test of friends" 10 times out of 10 people would choose the "post processed photo" as the "slightly better one" compared to the original. Having said that, by setting the in-camera settings (parametres) to maximum of each contrast, sharpness, saturation one can get useable / printable results straight out of the camera (but post processing is still a benefit and the preferred option).


It's great to have a DSLR because you have a much more useable depth of field (dof), though especially with large apertures (low f-values) this can also be tricky. An average point and shoot (digital) camera does not have nearly so much control... but then again a P&S is more forgiving too!


The camera's speed (turn on time, autofocus, general operation, continual sequence burst, etc) is great. So fast I never really miss a shot. I usually have the camera on and at the touch of the shutter button it's ready to fire (or already has).


Autofocus is good, and the flash DOES help with low light (fires quick strobes to get a focus), though maybe a dedicated autofocus light would have been more useful (but as I've seen, not so powerful). With this Canon DSLR you can however obtain focus, quickly switch the lens to manual focus and then put down the flash, so you do NOT need to have a "using flash" (flash exposed) photo... but it's a bit tricky... (but possible).


I would prefer the LCD to be a bit larger (and brighter) for outdoor / general viewing, but it's still quite useful - and after a while intuative (especially using the histogram) if you got the exposure right. 10x playback zooming on it is useful to check focus accuracy (though the screen isn't as sharp / detailed as could be... I've seen the newer 2.5 inch Canon DSLR screens are definitely better!) Still it's ok.


I bought this camera for a decent price: with the kit lens it was about $900US, (body itself about $800). I'm very happy with it's exposure, outdoors, indoors, with and without flash. Learning photo techniques helps one really improve though, especially on more challenging situations, and having some extras (good lenses, tripod, etc) is handy.


Many people (including myself) have used my photographs from this camera for inclusion in magazines, displays, presentations (I work for a charity in Romania) and it is a great tool for such tasks - in fact it is often hard to tell this camera's results from a higher level DSLR (even a PRO DSLR) if you know how to use it (as with all cameras!) The cheap price allows many people to go get a better / extra lens or two, which really brings out this camera's strengths. I'm contemplating getting a really wide angle lens (e.g. 10-20mm range) sometme in the future.... we'll see.


Photography using this DSLR is addictive and fun! Beware! Thanks Canon for a wonderful camera which I use and enjoy immensely!


Paul
yotchi

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 1
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT 350D review by yotchi
Review Date: 11/15/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $850.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great image quality, nothing essential missing, cheap
Cons: Medium build quality, needs tweaking for best results

I’ve decided to post a review on this camera after being its happy owner for about a year now, giving something more than just a first impression.
First of all, I think this is a camera really worth buying. No matter what might be missing in comparison to newer and/or more expensive models, it is a fantastic starting point into the world of DSLRs. Great image quality, many options for customising, and a menu/buttons system that manages to just about balance the needs of a more advanced user with the requirements of a beginner.
Just like with any starting point though, there comes a time when you realise there are limitations. The grip does indeed leave a lot to be desired for, something which becomes apparent in long shooting days. The build quality also means that one could feel a bit afraid to go a bit further with this camera (although it’ll probably withstand most things short of a drop into a bucket of water), but it doesn’t make you feel that confident. There is a lot to tweak about this camera, but I found that I needed to tweak them in order to get the results I want, and there’s a lot of post-processing to be done; I could live without that.
Overall, I think this is a really great starting DSLR camera. Absolutely brilliant for someone making their first steps into digital SLRs. And in that respect, there’s really not much to hold against it. Naturally though, this is a camera that you will outgrow, but also dearly remember Smile


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.