SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
3 62261 12/30/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $172.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.67
spacerspacer
8.33
spacerspacer
9.00
1sigma17-35f28-4.jpg


Keywords: Sigma Canon Nikon Wide Zoom 35mm DG HSM


yission

Registered: December 2013
Posts: 1
Sigma 17-35mm f/2.8-4 EX DG Aspherical HSM review by yission
Review Date: 12/30/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $180.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp even a 2.8 smooth ring and low used price
Cons: maybe a bit big for my d600

When i compare the result with this lens
compare to canon 17-40L or
nikkor 17-35 2.8
i am impress, nothing to be shy for this lens
lucasbutchart

Registered: March 2012
Posts: 3
Sigma 17-35mm f/2.8-4 EX DG Aspherical HSM review by lucasbutchart
Review Date: 3/6/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $99.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Inexpensive, versatile, HSM, full-time manual focus, 77mm filters
Cons: Big, Not super sharp wide open, some focus issues

Wanted to share some love on this lens. It's similar to other newer plastic Sigma zooms: well made, inexpensive, fast focusing, 77mm filters, very versatile zoom range on full frame, full time manual focusing, focus scale, big zoom and focus rings, flare resistant, decently sharp wide open, nice f2.8 aperture for low light, silent HSM, very good minimum focus distance, and probably more.
The only issue I have on my D800 is that the focus sometimes goes wacky and I have to remove and remount the lens. After that it works perfectly again. It nails focus every time.
This lens offers noticeably less contrast, especially wide open, than my Nikon 20mm AI. But it's also much much more versatile. It also focuses super close for crazy wide angle shots. I can't stop singing praises for this lens, especially for such a low price. Don't be scared to invest in this Sigma. I'd imagine this also would be a decent lens on DX (where it'd be a mid range zoom) but haven't tried it.
JimCee

Registered: February 2013
Posts: 1
Sigma 17-35mm f/2.8-4 EX DG Aspherical HSM review by JimCee
Review Date: 2/19/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $237.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Inexpensive, Good Quality Build
Cons: Not Constant Aperture

I purchased this lens in September 2007 in a Nikon lens mount version from Amazon. I've used the lens extensively with APS-C cameras (Nikon D90 and D7000) and it performs admirably!


DxOMark recently tested the lens and compared it with a much more expensive Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8 II USM lens (which costs $1,549.00 at Amazon). The Sigma lens performed very well in the comparison and held its own.


Here's the review and comparison:
http://www.dxomark.com/index.php/Publications/News/DxOMark-news/Sigma-17-35mm-F2.8-4-EX-DG-HSM-an-old-cheap-and-great-wide-angle-lens


The Sigma is a quality lens, made in Japan which won the European Photo & Imaging TIPA Award as the "Best Consumer Lens" in 2004. It's an older but very worthy lens for an FX or DX cameras.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.