SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
6 62547 3/13/2011
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $541.25
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.50
spacerspacer
8.17
spacerspacer
8.83
1sigma14f28.jpg


Keywords: Sigma Canon Nikon Minolta Pentax Wide Prime 35mm HSM


AutoMotoMedia

Registered: March 2011
Posts: 4
Sigma 14mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical HSM review by AutoMotoMedia
Review Date: 3/13/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Well constructed, great pictures
Cons: no front mount filters

Here's some pictures I've taken with the lens:


http://automotomedia.net/showthread.php/84-Canon-Sigma-14mm-2.8-Great-wide-angle-for-the-money!


I like Canon "L" lenses a lot, but there are some times where finding bargains is a good way to go. The Sigma 14mm 2.8 is a really nice lens. It's solid and pretty heavy, image quality is quite good, and it's just Wiiiiiiidddddeeeee! It doesn't focus super fast (not needed for a lens like this) and with the rounded lens, you can't put a filter on to prot ect the glass (be careful!), and lens flare is easy to achieve (the positive spin ).


I use the lens at least as much as anything else in my bag as I love the perspective.
Lethal Innocence

Registered: January 2011
Posts: 1
Sigma 14mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical HSM review by Lethal Innocence
Review Date: 1/17/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $550.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: build quality
Cons: weight

Good lens, fits my needs. Not too expensive. Fast autofocus. Superb construction, nice image quality.
Rover

Registered: July 2008
Posts: 13
Sigma 14mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical HSM review by Rover
Review Date: 5/2/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $750.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: wide; great center sharpness at f/4 and less; solid build; autofocus is fast, silent and decisive
Cons: hard to find; bulbous front element - flare and damage/rain/fingerprint risk; you have to use f/8 or less for great sharpness across the frame

It was a real pain to find one today and get it to its new home. But that is beside the point.


This lens is a gem. Most of the time it delivers outstanding images with dramatic perspective. Despite the 3mm difference in focal length it's very different (and much wider too) than my 17-35 L. Center sharpness is good from about f/4; corner sharpness is not something to write home about even at f/6.3 which I'm used to for outdoor work; I have to stop down more. At f/2.8 it's a little hazy overall (reduced contrast) and vignettes noticeably even on an 1.3x FOV crop body I'm using.


The bulbous front element makes this lens near useless in rainy conditions - the image becomes covered with splats. I always find myself shielding the lens with something and always worrying not to get it damaged. However, I knew it was coming, so it's not so much a detracting element for me.


Flare, however, is this lens' major weakness. You can forget aout this 14mm if you have sun anywhere near the frame, nevermind IN the frame. Maybe some people use it to their advantage; I'm yet to learn this. On the other hand, it's not this particular lens' flaw because every lens with a "lightbulb" front element is doomed to get flare.


So, a 7 for image quality (technically), a 9 for build quality, and overall a 9. A very special lens which can only be highly recommended (if you can find it) despite the technically "average" image quality.
dismalhiker

Registered: December 2008
Posts: 1
Sigma 14mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical HSM review by dismalhiker
Review Date: 12/17/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Excellent center sharpness
Cons: CA in corners

I have had this lens for 3 years, using it on a Canon EOS 10D and really liked it. However, I just upgraded to a full-frame, Canon 5D mkII and I was shocked to see how much chromatic abberation shows up in the corners. Its a fine lens on an APS-C camera, but (at least in my experience) not on a full-frame. Build quaility is very good.
rainerknappe

Registered: May 2007
Posts: 24
Sigma 14mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical HSM review by rainerknappe
Review Date: 6/6/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $550.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: price-quality
Cons: slight corner-resolution-falloff and some shading

This is a very good alternative to the Canon, Nikon 14mm 2.8. Very good centerresolution (a bit falloff in the corners between f2.8 and 5.6). I owned the Canon 14L and I was dissapointed about many aspects (finally I sold it). The Sigma is clearly better (CA´s, cornerresolution, flare and of course price!). I specially love the colourrendition (slightly warm) and solid construccion of this nice lens.
99% recommended!
perpera

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 13
Sigma 14mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical HSM review by perpera
Review Date: 12/6/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $315.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp wide open. Fast AF. Build quality. Fast aperture
Cons: Lens cap system annoying. Flare

This is a very special lens - focal lenght 14mm! And as such it has very special characteristics.
My copy of the Sigma 14mm f/2.8 Aspheric lens is great! It's built beautifully and focuses fast. On 1dMkII I've found this lens' image quality outstanding from it's F/2.8 full aperture till the diffraction limitation of it's smallest apertures which is an inherent flaw in practically any lens. But my Sigma 14mm f/2.8 Aspheric is very good at full aperture and with a unique Bokeh when focused on (very) closeup subjects.
This is clearly one of Sigma's success's. If you need or desire a 14mm superwide for Canon mount then this gets my best recommandations!
NB: Bought it used!


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.