SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 133058 4/5/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $365.78
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.00
spacerspacer
9.00
spacerspacer
8.25
1sigma24f18.jpg


Keywords: Sigma Canon Nikon Minolta Pentax Four-Thirds Wide Prime 35mm DG tested


jedy

Registered: February 2013
Posts: 2
Sigma 24mm f/1.8 EX DG Aspherical Macro review by jedy
Review Date: 4/5/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Price, macro, pleasing bokeh, 1.8 apperture
Cons: focus ring travel, lens breathing, no HSM, CA.

I'm using this with a Canon 600D/Rebel T3i.


For the price, this lens is a true bargain. It offers wide angle (or wide-normal on crop) and macro (not true 1:1) which is a welcome bonus. The bokeh is pleasing enough and shallow depth of field great for arty shots. On the downside, the front element extends when focusing meaning you get quite extreme lens breathing. Also the focus ring travel (rotation) isn't that great (about 90 degrees), meaning manual focus is fairly tricky as slight movements will throw the focus out easily (this issue applies to other Sigma's I've owned). The lack of a silent focus motor (HSM) means this lens is both noisy and slow to auto focus. There's also a fair bit of CA at higher f numbers but this can also apply to other fast primes regardless of price so cant complain too much here.


Overall I am pleased with this lens. The only main gripe for me is the focus travel issue as it would be nice to be able to better control manual focus. Other than that, I can't fault this lens too much as all lenses at lower price brackets will have their issues and compromises. I cannot justify the price for Canon L series lenses and the macro and f1.8 make this 24mm the best non-L alternative.
RGSphoto

Registered: August 2010
Posts: 1
Sigma 24mm f/1.8 EX DG Aspherical Macro review by RGSphoto
Review Date: 8/23/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $303.10| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharpness, bokeh, speed.
Cons: erratic AF in low light but not always.

I needed a standard walkaround lens for my Olympus E510 which can be use indoor and near to macro to take pictures.


I give two links


http://lh3.ggpht.com/_-c7NgvcGHTQ/THBKfm38okI/AAAAAAAAAL8/Brtbck_ty3Y/%C2%A9RGSphoto-art-210058%20%28800%20x%20592%29.jpg


http://lh5.ggpht.com/_-c7NgvcGHTQ/THBLwXzra6I/AAAAAAAAAMk/QcNO589jqjU/%C2%A9RGSphoto-art-8210013%20%28800%20x%20566%29.jpg


Grz,RGS.
newworld666

Registered: April 2010
Posts: 1
Sigma 24mm f/1.8 EX DG Aspherical Macro review by newworld666
Review Date: 4/19/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharpness, bokeh, speed, macro, price
Cons: erratic AF in low light condition a bit soft in the edge

I don't know if it will really help some other people :o but here is my story. (you can open photos in a new tab to make direct comparison in fullhd, by clicking on them)


I needed a standard walkaround lens for my 50D which can be use indoor and near to macro to take pictures of shops, bags, shoes .I would say to take picture of all luxury accessories for a web site.
It was very difficult to get good information about Sigma 20F1.8, 24F1.8 and 28F1.8 .. canon 28F1.8 seems also just acceptable .. and anyway just too long for an APSC.
I could see some reviews were the sigma 20F1.8 was really really soft .. So I decided to buy on ebay a 24F1.8 for 300€.


I own a 24L1.4II which is probably the best lens that exist for FullFrame sharp from edge to edge and an amazing aperture of F1.4..


So I wanted to compare how far is a sigma from a 5 times more expansive canon.
First I had to make an AF micro adjustment otherwise lens is almost unusable :confused: ..(+15 for sigma and +13 for canon) the only lens I can use without adjustment is 85L1.2II ..+0 :cool: ..
so at minimum focus distance I get
with Canon
http://photos.corbi.eu/Other/Sigma-24mm-vs-Canon-24L/50DCanon24L14IIAF1813MFD/821277646_zj2Ta-O.jpg
with Sigma
http://photos.corbi.eu/Other/Sigma-24mm-vs-Canon-24L/50DSigma24F18AF15MFD/821277577_DrDRv-O.jpg
So macro capabilities are really sufficient and good for what we am looking for.


First manuel focus with sigma is very very difficult canon is very smooth and precise..
but sigma AF is working rather good even if sometime you need to put to infinity first and then refocus. Canon has a perfect AF ..


I tried to take "real" pictures in the day time, but in spring wether is changing every 10 seconds, so made all pictures incomparable. So I decided to take night pictures which is also interesting as we want to use this lens indoor, nights and almost of the time wide open with no flash.
So first general test
with canon
http://photos.corbi.eu/Other/Sigma-24mm-vs-Canon-24L/Canon24L18Town/821281071_ybo9V-O.jpg


with sigma
http://photos.corbi.eu/Other/Sigma-24mm-vs-Canon-24L/Sigma24L18Town/821281163_fU9Zv-O.jpg


Focus was made on the church in front, and we can see that canon at f1.8 is much sharper, but sigma results are already quite good ..


If we go in some more detailled pictures
Canon
http://photos.corbi.eu/Other/Sigma-24mm-vs-Canon-24L/Canon24L18Eiffel/821283651_RG8Qj-O.jpg


Sigma
http://photos.corbi.eu/Other/Sigma-24mm-vs-Canon-24L/Sigma24L18Eiffel/821283723_c9wEY-O.jpg



I don't think sigma is a real F1.8 ... if I want to get some background sky I have to adjust luminosity to become equivalent to canon


This time, Sigma softness is to noticable on the edges .. even in the general picture feeling. But still acceptable Wink...


even @f5.6
Sigma can't reach canon sharpness .. and some flare appears ??...


http://photos.corbi.eu/Other/Sigma-24mm-vs-Canon-24L/Sigma24L56Eiffel/821300269_JoGyi-O.jpg


Some other comparison with very acceptable sigma results
Canon
http://photos.corbi.eu/Other/Sigma-24mm-vs-Canon-24L/Canon24L18Jesus/821286088_KtHiV-O.jpg


Sigma
http://photos.corbi.eu/Other/Sigma-24mm-vs-Canon-24L/Sigma24L18Jesus/821286179_azdMq-O.jpg


Some other details with colors


Canon
http://photos.corbi.eu/Other/Sigma-24mm-vs-Canon-24L/Canon24L18Vitrail/821292718_S2W5z-O.jpg


Sigma
http://photos.corbi.eu/Other/Sigma-24mm-vs-Canon-24L/Sigma24L18Vitrail/821292634_yBVVp-O.jpg


Canon
http://photos.corbi.eu/Other/Sigma-24mm-vs-Canon-24L/Canon24L18Moon/821300197_5epzR-O.jpg


Sigma
http://photos.corbi.eu/Other/Sigma-24mm-vs-Canon-24L/Sigma24L18Moon/821300106_A9B7h-O.jpg


Sigma colors are less shiny than canon, not that bad, but difference is quite significant ..



100% crop .. wich shows a very big difference between two lenses ..
In the center, it's acceptable, but outside center, it makes almost impossible to crop heavily


Canon
http://photos.corbi.eu/Other/Sigma-24mm-vs-Canon-24L/Canon24L18MoonCrop/821305193_yBdSs-O.jpg


Sigma
http://photos.corbi.eu/Other/Sigma-24mm-vs-Canon-24L/Sigma24L18MoonCrop/821305249_ov2ZL-O.jpg


I never use a zoom because I prefer to take time to move my feet to the right place and angle and then use my PC to correct the frame .. with sigma it will give quite limited possibilities to crop
(already 50D limits a lot comparing to my 5DMKII)


I love my 24L1.4II ..
but in real life this sigma, when AF is correctly adjusted, is really impressive.. with a 50D .. it really makes a very affordable couple


http://photos.corbi.eu/Other/Sigma-24mm-vs-Canon-24L/4494037208275c434fbeo/839456380_7nbgt-O.jpg


http://photos.corbi.eu/Other/Sigma-24mm-vs-Canon-24L/4493412463994caa8646o/839457687_bfA2W-O.jpg


As my own conclusion, I would recommand the sigma 24f1.8 EX DG .. it's five time cheaper than canon 24L1.4II and results are more than acceptable.


On my 5DMKII difference is more significant, but for 50D, I imagine to be possible to get, in the real life, very good results unless you have to crop a lot. I made several pictures stopped down, and sharpness became even better, but not really significant if not cropped, so I think sigma can be used mainly between f1.8 and F2.8 unless you need more DOF ..


We are going use that lens as a walkaround lens attached to the 50D .. not very heavy, quite fast, with a good macro capability ..
Wolfini

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 10
Sigma 24mm f/1.8 EX DG Aspherical Macro review by Wolfini
Review Date: 1/5/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $360.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: IQ, build, price
Cons: size and weight, performance wide open

I use this lens on a Canon 30d and like the range as a "wide normal" (38mm equivalent) very much.


Because of the large aperture you can shoot indoors at normal lighting without flash - although I usually stop down to at least f2,2, as 1,8 is very soft (hazy).


In very low light the AF is not very reliable, and manual focus is hard, too, when you´re using a large aperture. At least the manual focus ring is very good, and personally I like the clutch mechanism and do not mind the two-step progress for MF/AF.


Apart from 1,8 IQ is great: very sharp and wonderful contrast and colors. Shooting directly into the sun or lamps will produce some small flare spots, but contrast hardly suffers.


My gripe with the lens is the size - a normal prime should be small and light to carry, and this one is neither. So I do not use it very often, also because I have a very good Sigma 18-50/2,8, which is almost the equal in IQ.


Still: for those moments, when you need the fast lens or just feel like shooting prime I can recommend this.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.