SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 56311 2/15/2009
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $279.74
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.75
spacerspacer
8.25
spacerspacer
8.25
1sigma28-70f28.jpg


Keywords: Sigma Canon Nikon Minolta Pentax Wide Mid Tele Zoom 35mm DG


theflyingmoose

Registered: February 2009
Posts: 2
Sigma 28-70mm f/2.8 EX DG review by theflyingmoose
Review Date: 2/15/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: good value, decent optical performance, seems sturdy
Cons: odd plastic, bit soft at f/2.8

As a replacement for a kit lens (even one that was as reasonable as Pentax's 18-55), this lens seems worthy of my investment. While I'm used to really sharp images through my elderly 50mm prime, changing from regular use of a kit lens (it being convenient and auto-focus) was an eye opening experience.


This said, it is soft at f/2.8, not very badly, but enough that stopping down is usually in order. Of course, stopping down from f/2.8 still gives you more leeway than stopping down from f/4 or f/5.6. I have found though that f/8 is more like it for really sharp images (but this isn't unexpected judging by reviews of many lenses of this ilk). In all, a minor criticism really.


The lens seems well constructed, not a fabulous all metal affair, but nothing to complain about except the very strange texture, which is erm, shark-skin like? Difficult to explain, but its not going to stay pristine from the moment you put the lens on your camera.


While this is no replacement for a really good prime, I don't think anyone would suggest that it should be; but it covers a very useful range, and I have found it to be an excellent portrait lens, as it allows you to cover the important range (with the sensor crop) of about 70-100mm.


While sales literature will describe this as a lightweight and compact lens, that's only compared to a huge-range zoom I think, its much bigger and heavier than a kit lens (think bigger more expensive filters...). That said, the payoff for that weight is detailed above. If you want a really light lens, and you use Pentax, apparently their pancake lenses are excellent (though I've never had the chance to try one).


Overall, for the price, any minor complaints I've written here are pretty much moot - plus, dare I say it, having a wide barrel and a gold band, it makes you look like a big shot photographer Smile Not that any of us would be so concerned about our image, only those which we produce!
thomasjohnlynch

Registered: January 2009
Posts: 2
Sigma 28-70mm f/2.8 EX DG review by thomasjohnlynch
Review Date: 1/6/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $189.95| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: price, quality, speed
Cons: no canon logo?

Being new to SLR 35 and having just an XTi I am very nervous about wasting cash or not getting any value or return on a "toy part" for this hobby. I took about 2,485 pictures last year and have save and been taking digitial photography since the mid 90s when my son was first born. I have been swapping out the plastic freebie and bought a Sigma 70:300 zoom for outdoor sailing and wildlife and now picked up this lens for close up and indoor and flash. This is a very well constructed, fast and accurate lens! Bought out here on Long Island for under $200 new. I also picked up a Bowers .42X fisheye to get a little bit more data in those close shots with just a hint of distortion, it has a Macro lens for this Sigma which just gives a more Swiss Army knife use to this lens. Picked up a Bowers SFD35C flash ($134.95) and some 2900mAh rechargables) after sticker shock on the Canon stuff. This lens and that flash work GREAT. Not sure how to post samples shots so maybe Ii can put that in my profile.
lextalionis

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 82
Sigma 28-70mm f/2.8 EX DG review by lextalionis
Review Date: 5/26/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Price point compared to similiar class lenses.
Cons: Zooms opposite of most other lenses.

Really a good bang for the buck lens. Here are some sample photos taken with a Nikon D300:


Sample Photos


-Lex
RonaldH

Registered: December 2005
Posts: 1
Sigma 28-70mm f/2.8 EX DG review by RonaldH
Review Date: 12/5/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $329.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Nice construction
Cons: Slightly disappointing at f2.8

This lens is nicely finished and works flawlessly on my Nikon D70. Of course I don't have the test equipment to say anything meaningful about image quality compared to other lenses... with one exception. The point of lenses like this is their speed. If you need f2.8 you are going to use it. The difference between f2.8 and f3.5 is easily seen with this lens. f2.8 is much softer. Despite this I think it represents good value for money. Try it out for yourself to see if it fits your needs. I'm currently not tempted by alternatives.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.