SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
7 59006 3/22/2012
Recommended By Average Purchase
71% of reviewers $241.75
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
6.00
spacerspacer
5.29
spacerspacer
5.71
1sigma28-300f35-63.jpg


Keywords: Sigma Canon Nikon Minolta Pentax Wide Mid Tele Zoom 35mm DG


peteln

Registered: July 2011
Posts: 1
Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro review by peteln
Review Date: 3/22/2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $257.00| Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Price, zoom range
Cons: build quality, image quality

I used Tamron's 18-200 with D200 a lot but bought the Sigma for D3 because it is way cheaper than Tamron's offering. I thought the build quality was as good (or as bad) as the Tamron but I was wrong, the Sigma started to create FEE error from time to time in less than a year after purchase and I need to unlock the aperture ring, turn it a few times and relock it to make it work again. Regarding image quality, the lens is actually rather sharp in its short end, ok at mid-range, but anything slightly off-center will become soft at focal lengths over 200. And the softness is somewhat directional so it's very difficult to correct with any sharpening / refocussing software.
Barry

Registered: September 2009
Posts: 6
Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro review by Barry
Review Date: 10/10/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $360.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Price, zoom range
Cons: Soft, soft, soft. Dust pump.

As a light walkaround lens, it is good, but don't expect ultrasharp images. Mine had a sweet spot at f/8.0, but only in the mid zoom ranges.
For its price, its a good lens to learn on, but it is not a keeper.
If perfect IQ is not that important to you, its not a bad lens, but it is not a great lens.
I sold mine and am now going to buy the Canon 70-200.
rainerknappe

Registered: May 2007
Posts: 24
Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro review by rainerknappe
Review Date: 5/18/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $200.00| Rating: 1 

 
Pros: none
Cons: through it in the basket

terrible lens - I trough it away!
kankushok

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 3
Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro review by kankushok
Review Date: 1/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: compact, good range
Cons: soft, focus not accurate, slow, zoom has gritty feel

I got to try this out on a trip to Wash DC on a Canon Rebel XT. The images were ok, but not exceptionally sharp. Get it for its great zoom range, not for IQ.
alberto

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 9
Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro review by alberto
Review Date: 1/14/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $150.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: good walk around lens
Cons: not very sharp

when i want a lightweight all-around lens i use this.


Mine works fine(not very sharp and contrasty, but still usable) from the wide end untill 200mm, then sharpness decline and it's very hard to use.


I use it only with digital bodies because on full format borders are very soft.
gat3keeper

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 1
Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro review by gat3keeper
Review Date: 11/6/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: a good all around lens / macro capability in any zoom range / very affordable price
Cons: zoom is hard to rotate or not smooth enough

I like this lens enough and very satisfied with it. Although, I can't ask for more with its price. If you do not have enough money yet for canon "L" series with 200-300mm range, this is the best alternative.
minsik

Registered: March 2006
Posts: 1
Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro review by minsik
Review Date: 3/12/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: range, small size and average weight.
Cons: zoom tight when not horizontal, not high speed lens

Seems like good value as a walk around lens. On one weekend in Adelaide and travel to and fro it was all i really needed. Impressive zoom range for the size and weight. Picture quality is better than with the canon 18-55 kit lens for my 350d camera.


Shot test so far but i am impressed with the ease of use. large range and reasonable cost.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.