SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
8 122181 4/21/2009
Recommended By Average Purchase
88% of reviewers $275.50
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.75
spacerspacer
9.38
spacerspacer
8.75
1sigma50f28.jpg


Keywords: Sigma Canon Nikon Minolta Pentax Mid Prime Macro 35mm Tested


climber

Registered: April 2009
Posts: 11
Sigma 50mm f/2.8 EX DG Macro review by climber
Review Date: 4/21/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: excellent image quality, EX build
Cons: slow and noisy focus

Excellent image quality, EX build, true macro lens, not expensive.


The only minus is slow and noisy motor.
wesfoto

Registered: June 2008
Posts: 5
Sigma 50mm f/2.8 EX DG Macro review by wesfoto
Review Date: 11/20/2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $150.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: small, light, sharp focus
Cons: noisy AF, the CA is as bad as tested

As a macro lens that works on my full frame Sony a900, this is a good lens at a good price. Just be aware that the focus motor is quite loud (I was trying to use it in a public library) and as noted in the review, there is quite a bit of CA.
lextalionis

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 82
Sigma 50mm f/2.8 EX DG Macro review by lextalionis
Review Date: 2/7/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $270.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, good beginner macro and portrait lens.
Cons: Trombones outward a good bit and AF is slow.

Honestly I wish I had known about this lens when I got started into macro. I could have saved $250 and would probably still have it in my bag after buying a 100mm f/2.8 macro.


At 1:1 mag it's gets "hairy" close, but still a fun all-around lens...highly recommend!


Sample Shots Here


-Lex
rainerknappe

Registered: May 2007
Posts: 24
Sigma 50mm f/2.8 EX DG Macro review by rainerknappe
Review Date: 5/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: price-quality
Cons: none

A very good entrance in the macro-world...
I own the older and better version (in construccion - a lot of metal), the Sigma Ex 50mm 2.8.
The price is very nice and as well its sharp and very contrasty, good colours and bokeh - no weakness at all... And the portraits - nice job... who needs a 50mm - prime?
For macro-beginners the best lens - highly recommended!
katzer

Registered: April 2007
Posts: 4
Sigma 50mm f/2.8 EX DG Macro review by katzer
Review Date: 4/28/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light weight; Optics: sharpness, contrast, bokeh , color are top notch; AF accurate , price
Cons: slow AF (but I knew it wasn't HSM when I bought it...)

I also own the Sigma 150 Macro (which is excellent).
Image quality wise, this one is as good, if not a tiny bit sharper.


It is small and light, so I always have it in my bag, even if I dont plan to do macro. I bought it also a as a walk around prime that can do macro if needed.

The only down side is that the 150's HSM is much quicker, but I knew it wasn't HSM, and the AF is very accurate.


The only canon alternative is the EF-S 60mm, which is very good and has USM, on the other hand I plan to go to full frame at some point, so this one was better choice for me.


Highly recommended!


Erez Katz
www.pbase.com/katzer
julioalperi

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 15
Sigma 50mm f/2.8 EX DG Macro review by julioalperi
Review Date: 11/20/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $313.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Resolution,distortions,vignetting,Low CAs,
Cons: No HSM

This is an excellent lens. Very high resolution from F:2,8 even at borders .Distortions are extremely low ( no visible ).Vignetting is very low too. Chromatic aberrations are very low. The bokeh could be better. The Construction quality is very good. AF speed is OK.
gadgetguy

Registered: May 2006
Posts: 62
Sigma 50mm f/2.8 EX DG Macro review by gadgetguy
Review Date: 11/15/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp, sharp, sharp. 1:1 macro.
Cons: slow autofocus

Solidly constructed and well worth every $. Autofocus is practically useless when shooting macro so be ready to focus manually (which is probably what you'll want to be doing anyway).


Perfect for product or still life macros, but may not be close enough for bugs and the like.
Bomple

Registered: December 2005
Posts: 1
Sigma 50mm f/2.8 EX DG Macro review by Bomple
Review Date: 12/11/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $270.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Excellent sharpness, nice bokeh
Cons: Front lens extends quite far on closest focusing distance

I used this lens on a D70.


Pro:
* Good optical performance
* Good build quality
* Not expensive


Cons:
* Front element extends quite far, working distance from closest focusing point to front element is about 4cm.
* Autofocus is slow (not that important though)


Conclusion:
Very good for macro shots of objects that don't run away. Good for portraits too. Unusable for shooting insects.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.