SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
5 72356 4/25/2011
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $493.75
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
6.80
spacerspacer
8.80
spacerspacer
8.40
1tamron28-105f28.jpg


Keywords: Tamron Canon Nikon Minolta Wide Mid Tele Zoom 35mm LD SP


norcalphotographer

Registered: July 2008
Posts: 6
Tamron 28-105mm f/2.8 LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by norcalphotographer
Review Date: 4/25/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great focal length range, sharp images, decent af performance.
Cons: big heavy lens, not AFS, no longer being made so take care of them if you have one!

This is an excellent portrait or party lens due to its fast aperture and excellent focal range.


It is a bit heavy but not anything I'd really complain about handling. I've heard of issues with the barrel extending due to gravity although I haven't experienced it in my unit (my best friend though has).


That said, I'd recommend it without reservation to any photographer who wants to shoot in moderately close quarters and moderately low lighting.


It's just really too bad that Tamron nor any of the other lens vendors offered an updated equivalent.
wesfoto

Registered: June 2008
Posts: 5
Tamron 28-105mm f/2.8 LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by wesfoto
Review Date: 7/7/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $275.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great Images, Fast, good zoom range
Cons: Heavy, Heavy, Heavy

This is one HUGE hunk of glass! But, what do you expect for a 105mm f/2.8 Full Frame lens? Its both long (when extended) and wide. It is also quite heavy. It does focus slowly, which is more the norm for something this big and heavy (exactly how fast and strong do you expect your camera's focusing motor to be be?) If you're looking for a high quality, fast lens, this is a great choice. If you're looking for a "walk around" lens, look elsewhere, this thing is closer to a bowling ball than a feather.
cjbowlsby

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 17
Tamron 28-105mm f/2.8 LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by cjbowlsby
Review Date: 12/28/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $650.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Bright, BEAUTIFUL BOKEH, Sharp sharp sharp, zoom range
Cons: SIZE, speed of focus

I really like this lens.


First of all, it produces GORGEOUS pictures. Remarkable really. Almost all of the focal lengths you'd ever want for portraits. It's bright and clear with beautiful bokeh. It's a bit soft wide open on the wide end, but from 40mm on, it's really exceptional for an off-brand 2.8. When it's stopped down to 4.0, is fantastically sharp.


The autofocus is quite slow, I'll admit, especially in low light on thelong end. But it doesn't really hunt. It knows what it's focusing for, and gets there with determination and really startling accuracy.


On the down side, it's huge and ugly. I dislike the texturing (or more appropriately, lack thereof) on the zoom and focus rings. It feels slippery and cheap. The huge front element makes me very nervous. I haven't found a lens hood for it, but a high quality UV filter is an adaquate second choice.


But at half the price of the canon 24-105 2.8L IS, with a usable extra stop, it really is a bargain.


Highly recomended if you can accept the slow autofocus (and can find one... it's discontinued)
mbunge

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 10
Tamron 28-105mm f/2.8 LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by mbunge
Review Date: 12/13/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $800.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: very useful focal length
Cons: barrel extends a long ways, too much plastic

This was my first lens when I upgraded to a Nikon F100. I did so because the focal length covered a gap between my 20mm and my 80-200 zoom. I have no complaints about its image quality; I always got good shots. When zooming to 105mm, the barrel will extend several inches. After using it for five years, I was a little concerned about the "play" in the lens when it was fully extended. Also, the lens would sometimes extend on its own when I was carrying the camera on my shoulder. The autofocus is slower than Nikon's silent wave lenses--and much noisier.


Because of my durability concerns and the tendency of the lens to extend itself, I ended up buying a 28-70 Nikon zoom to replace it.
rocketralph

Registered: April 2006
Posts: 3
Tamron 28-105mm f/2.8 LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by rocketralph
Review Date: 4/24/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Excellent zoom range for all around, Great with a flash
Cons: Weight, slow auto focus speed.

I had bought this lens primarily for use on vacation. A lens I could keep on the camera for all around touring. The zoom range works excellent with my 580EX flash. The biggest plus, F2.8 through the entire range, which makes it nice in low light conditions where a flash is not allowed. There is slight color aberration at 105mm @ F2.8. This is a heavy lens and the weight is noticable. The antislip feature on the zoom ring is a nice addition but I can see it as a wearable part in time. One of my biggest negatives is the speed of the autofocus. Very slow and it seems to hunt alot. However the diversity of this lens makes up for that.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.