SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
8 46238 4/27/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
88% of reviewers $122.29
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
7.75
spacerspacer
8.00
spacerspacer
7.50
1tamron28-200f38-56.jpg


Keywords: Tamron Canon Nikon Minolta Pentax Wide Mid Tele Zoom 35mm


joe88

Registered: January 2014
Posts: 19
Tamron 28-200mm f/3.8-5.6 XR Aspherical IF Macro AF review by joe88
Review Date: 4/27/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $100.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: big zoom range, sharp photos, 135mm very sharp with f11 and additional macro ring
Cons: plastic body

a very good zoom lens for travelling, sports, family etc.


good sharpness,high contrast,nice colors, some few CA's on both extreme ends wide open, but they can be reduced by stopping down a few (and the rest by PhSh)


135mm with f11 and macro ring:best results very sharp
macro shootings with this lens possible
fashionfoto

Registered: June 2012
Posts: 1
Tamron 28-200mm f/3.8-5.6 XR Aspherical IF Macro AF review by fashionfoto
Review Date: 6/21/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $166.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, lightweight
Cons: None

Sharp! Useable even wide open in corners on full frame (D3). Tack sharp everywhere from 5.6.


Good contrast. Less prone to flare than my 28mm prime.


Tiny and lightweight. Substantially smaller than my Nikkor 28-200. And better optically.


Negative: Won't replace a hammer on the construction site, but consider that it was designed to be light weight.


This is a perfect all-around lens for full frame bodies.
yoster

Registered: May 2012
Posts: 2
Tamron 28-200mm f/3.8-5.6 XR Aspherical IF Macro AF review by yoster
Review Date: 5/8/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $106.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fantastic IQ, sharp, Great Range, REALLY good colors, not much purple fringing, smooth zoom, focus fairly quick, compact, GREAT bang for buck, no zoom creep (has zoom lock but doesn't need it), has nice, sturdy hood
Cons: Wish it went down to 18mm, a bit slow at 3.8(4)-5.6, body plastic 'creaks' at times when zooming

I have to say, I love this lens. I bought it last year on clearance as new old stock for $96 + $10 shipping. Came with a full warranty.


I'm using this on a Sony a55. I wasn't expecting SUPER great performance at such a low price, and didn't expect to use it a ton being that it's not 18mm and is a bit slow.


I was wrong. If I'm outside, I use this lens. I'm blown away with the picture quality vs price ratio. This is sharp all the way up to 200mm - I use this over my 70-300mm lens because the sharpness at 200mm is better than my 70-300mm at 200, plus it has less purple fringing.


The zoom is smooth, but it does 'creak' if in hot weather. Not sure why, it's still smooth and doesn't feel like it's being stressed or anything. The focus is acceptable fast. Not blazing, not slow either. I think the focus motor on the a55 helps out a lot with this.


I team this lens up to my Tamron 17-50mm F2.8 (AWESOME lens - holds F2.8 throughout entire zoom range - tack sharp) and I have the perfect "one two punch." I have a 50mm F1.8 prime and a Tamron 70-300mm, but neither of those see much use now that I have this 17-50mm F2.8 (for low light) and the Tamron 28-200mm combo.


Link to the Tamron 17-50mm if you're interested:
http://www.slrgear.com/reviews/showproduct.php/product/355/cat/23
yavorberov

Registered: December 2010
Posts: 3
Tamron 28-200mm f/3.8-5.6 XR Aspherical IF Macro AF review by yavorberov
Review Date: 12/9/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $139.00| Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Is sufficiently sharp, comfortable, relatively lightweight.
Cons: I think this is not a macro lens.

This is a good lens for that price. Is sufficiently sharp, comfortable, relatively lightweight. Slightly slower and more noisy mechanics, but it is cheap. His biggest problem is that this is NOT A Macro lens. I shoot with a Nikon D80 and I have 18-135 lens, both are equally macro - ie they are not.
tachyon1701

Registered: May 2008
Posts: 8
Tamron 28-200mm f/3.8-5.6 XR Aspherical IF Macro AF review by tachyon1701
Review Date: 9/14/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $120.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Inexpensive, light, good zoom range, decent IQ
Cons: Construction quality, slow focus in low light

It seems everybody expects every lens to be tack sharp, ultra fast AF, and all for under $200. That is simply impossible.


What this lens is, essentially, is a vacation zoom. You buy a lens like this because you don't want to have to carry all your lenses with you, so portability is the most important factor. This this lens is fairly light for its zoom capabilities so it meets that criteria with flying colors.


The image quality is not bad either, i've seen softer images on some 70-300mm budget telephotos. AF works fine in the daytime, but is slow and sometimes gives up at night. Construction quality is typical budget Tamron. While it might not feel like a gem, everything works and seems quite tough.


The important thing when shopping for a large zoom range lens like this is to keep in mind what you are after, portability. This is one of the lightest of them all, so it is one of the best valued vacation zooms out there.
johnyeros

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2
Tamron 28-200mm f/3.8-5.6 XR Aspherical IF Macro AF review by johnyeros
Review Date: 1/11/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Light, Very Fast Focus with my K100D. Great during the day on out door shot.
Cons: Indoor at night time is not so great. Quality of picture become very dull

I bought this lens as part of a kit with my K100D. For 590-50 rebates, it's not a bad deal. The lens produced some very nice picture outdoor. For a range of 28-200 (42-300 in DSRL), the quality was consistence throughout the zoom range. The color is vibrance. Focus seem very fast. One problem was when it's on AF, it's kind of loud. In door is not so great. This lens make a great budget walk around lens. Indoor this lens fail because it's simple too slow for non-flash shoot.
_Mike_D

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 12
Tamron 28-200mm f/3.8-5.6 XR Aspherical IF Macro AF review by _Mike_D
Review Date: 12/3/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $150.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Inexpensive, surprisingly sharp, large zoom range, solid build
Cons: 135-200 not very sharp, lots of purple fringing above 135, must stop down 1 stop

My previous wide angle lens (sigma 18-125) busted right before a trip to white sands NM. I was in a pinch so I bought this lens and hoped for the best.


The lens turned out to be very good for the money, There were a couple of shots that I took at max aperture that didn't come out very nice, but as long as you stop it down 1 stop it produces great pictures. I didn't notice any vignetting at all throughout the zoom range.


Build quality is very good, with no hit of zoom creep. Also the auto-focus worked perfectly with the Pentax camera I have.


I won't pretend this is the best lens ever made, but I had to choose only one lens to go on a trip with, I wouldn't hesitate to take this one.


All of the pictures on my site from 11/28 - 12/7 were produced with this lens.
http://www.one-blind-eye.com/index.php?showimage=111
eddie_kawasaki

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 2
Tamron 28-200mm f/3.8-5.6 XR Aspherical IF Macro AF review by eddie_kawasaki
Review Date: 11/25/2006 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $75.00| Rating: 5 

 
Pros: large range
Cons: need lots of light

This lens is not bad if you want a low cost lens that can cover a large range, but, you need plenty of light, preferably sunlight, I find it useless for me to use indoors, mostly because I will not use a flash for the type of events I shoot (I don't want to blind my kid when he's fighting), so for indoor photogrphy I use a different lens. Even if I use it with a flash, when the surrounding light is dim, the picture quality with this lens seems horribly grainy. But as I said before, when used in sunlight the pictures turn out decent. I paid 75 US dollars for this thing used, so I can't complain too much.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.