SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
6 32281 1/31/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $135.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.00
spacerspacer
8.50
spacerspacer
8.83
1tokina19-35f35-45.jpg


Keywords: Tokina Canon Nikon Minolta Pentax Wide Zoom 35mm


joe88

Registered: January 2014
Posts: 19
Tokina 19-35mm f/3.5-4.5 AF 193 review by joe88
Review Date: 1/31/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $130.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: very sharp wide angle zoom
Cons: few CA's

when stopped down to f8-11, sharpness is really high.


beautiful colors and bokeh
Gromit

Registered: June 2013
Posts: 8
Tokina 19-35mm f/3.5-4.5 AF 193 review by Gromit
Review Date: 7/3/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp optics, built like a tank, bargain price
Cons: None, especially when it's so cheap.

A friend of mine kindly let me borrow his AF193 whilst I was deciding on a 'full time' lens for my EOS 40D. To my surprise (especially at the price) the Tokina is superb.


Good: It's beautifully built, feeling very solid. It's sharp right to the corners when stopped down beyond f5.6 and focuses very quickly. I did a back-to-back with my Canon 17-40L today and in good light (ie sunshine outdoors) the Tokina is virtually identical, only with the Canon showing slightly richer colours. If anything, the Tokina is slightly sharper!


Bad: Seems cruel to criticise at this price.


Summary: If there's a true bargain out there in photo-land it's called the Tokina AF193. I'm seriously considering selling my 17-40L and going FF, using the Tokina as a super wide-angle. It's a fabulous little lens. Buy one (for not much £!) and enjoy it.
the_photo_nut

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2
Tokina 19-35mm f/3.5-4.5 AF 193 review by the_photo_nut
Review Date: 1/22/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $100.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: good build, IQ and sharpness. excellent price.
Cons: a little soft wide open and could be faster

I have had this lens as a temporary lens till I had enough money to purchase a Canon 17-40 f4L lens. Shot many family outings and parties with it. So far all pics have come out very sharp with good detail, color and contrast. I was pleasantly surprised. I did use a Canon 430ex flash with it indoors. Lens still performed very well. With the money I paid for it and quality of the photos I had gotten, I may just save my money for the 17-40 and keep this lens as my primary wide angle lens. Enjoy !!!
drjones

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 1
Tokina 19-35mm f/3.5-4.5 AF 193 review by drjones
Review Date: 12/29/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $190.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Rapport qualité/pris - fabrication au top
Cons: pare soleil en option

très bon zoom grand angle que ce soit pour de l'argentique 24x36 ou pour du numérique à petit capteur.
Une excellente qualité de fabrication, metal et très peut de plastique. Zooming et mise au point fluide et silencieux.


Un achat à recommander surtout si vous avez un petit budget, ce zoom est d'un excellent rapport qualité/prix.


;-)
pieder

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 1
Tokina 19-35mm f/3.5-4.5 AF 193 review by pieder
Review Date: 12/9/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $120.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: solid construction, good image quality already wide open, improves with stopping down, exceptional value
Cons: somewhat stiff zoom ring (minor nuisance, might be just my copy), limited zoom range

The Tokina 19-35mm is a rather exceptional lens. I had never seen before such a well-built and optically good zoom lens sell for just a little more than a hundred dollars. A lens that delivers both on crop as well as on full frame bodies!


Very little on CA, little distortion, good contrast and sharpness, some flare, slightly warm.
You will not be in Canon L Lens territority but - considering the price - surprisingly near.


If the limited zomm range is no major obstacle for you go for it. This will be one of your no-regrets purchases (if you don't pick up a dud).
Joi

Registered: April 2006
Posts: 1
Tokina 19-35mm f/3.5-4.5 AF 193 review by Joi
Review Date: 4/19/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: build like a tank
Cons: non

works on Eos 33V and Eos 30D.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.