SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
5 68349 8/22/2007
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $197.40
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
7.20
spacerspacer
7.80
spacerspacer
7.80
1pentax50-200f4-56.jpg


Keywords: Pentax Tele Zoom APS-C DA ED Tested


wavefunc

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 5
Pentax 50-200mm f/4-5.6 ED SMC P-DA review by wavefunc
Review Date: 8/22/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $180.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: small and lightweight, very good image quality for the price.
Cons:

If you want a low-cost, small, and/or lightweight zoom for this range, then this is the perfect lens. The image quality isn't the greatest, but is as good as one could expect at this price and weight. I got it because I wanted a telephoto zoom that I would be able to take on long hiking trips where weight was an issue, and I was on a tight budget. This lens fit those criteria and I'm very pleased with it overall.
dreamlogic

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 7
Pentax 50-200mm f/4-5.6 ED SMC P-DA review by dreamlogic
Review Date: 1/10/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $180.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: affordable, very good for the price, decent bokeh, 1:4 macro
Cons: slow (f/4-f/5.6), seems fragile when fully extended

I bought this lens as a cheap way to cover the 100-200mm range and the 1:4 macro, not expecting much from it in the image quality department. I was very surprised by how well it performs, even at 200mm. Images are much shaper than I expected and the bokeh is not bad either. I haven't really used the 50mm side as I have primes in that range.
ivegotacamera

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 4
Pentax 50-200mm f/4-5.6 ED SMC P-DA review by ivegotacamera
Review Date: 1/8/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $220.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: great value, nice and small
Cons: kind of slow

This a great zoom lens to use with the Pentax DSLRs. It's small and lightweight, inexpensive and gives good reults overall. It's a little slow and not the best near wide open, but I'm very glad it's in my camera bag. It's a little plasticky felling for my tastes, but it seems to be holding up fine.
bobtreat

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2
Pentax 50-200mm f/4-5.6 ED SMC P-DA review by bobtreat
Review Date: 1/7/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $227.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: This is another very good & affordable Kit lens from Pentax
Cons: Somewhat slow in low light f4.0-5.6

Metal lens Mounts. Large rubber zoom ring. Quiet, quick & accurate auto focus. Quality of photographs very high for a kit lens and are comparable to much more expensive pro caliber zoom lenses. Good close focusing distance for macro shots (39.5" to 42.5" aprox) Quick shift AF/MF mechanism. For the price this lens is a steal!
ccallana

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 9
Pentax 50-200mm f/4-5.6 ED SMC P-DA review by ccallana
Review Date: 11/30/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $180.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Small, light, great quality for the price
Cons: None so far

This lens is a perfect companion to the 18-55mm kit lens. The price is not a good indicator of the performance of this lens. It is very light, compact and provides great optics. Its a little short on the 50mm end for a perfect walk-around lens, but it comes close. Great value for the money - highly recommend picking this lens up.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.