SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
5 69504 12/30/2007
Recommended By Average Purchase
80% of reviewers None indicated
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.40
spacerspacer
8.40
spacerspacer
8.00
1olympus14-45f35-56.jpg


Keywords: Olympus Zuiko Wide Mid Tele Zoom Four-Thirds Tested


jfgroen

Registered: December 2007
Posts: 3
Olympus 14-45mm f/3.5-5.6 Zuiko Digital review by jfgroen
Review Date: 12/30/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: compact and light
Cons: a bit slow; vignetting; distortion; image quality

The lens came as a kit with the Olympus 330, together with the 40-150mm/f3.5-4.5 zoom. Unlike the telezoom, I find this lens quite disappointing -- I just expect better quality than 'sufficient' from an Olympus lens. Barrel distortion is on the high side at 14 mm, and stays noticeable throughout much of the zoom range. Though the test results show sufficient sharpness, I find the images slightly, and for my idea: too, fuzzy. Vignetting makes the lens for me in fact only usable from f-stop 8 (given the smaller chip size, and the more square four-thirds standard, I think vignetting should not be a problem at all with these lenses).
epixx

Registered: March 2007
Posts: 5
Olympus 14-45mm f/3.5-5.6 Zuiko Digital review by epixx
Review Date: 3/17/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp, useful range
Cons: Distortion at the wide end, slow at the long end

This is a surprisingly good lens. For me it was "free", since it came with my E-1. I didn't think I would use it much, but for sunny days, its a very good walk-around lens. The only serious downside is distortion at the wide end.
llbeanie1

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 17
Olympus 14-45mm f/3.5-5.6 Zuiko Digital review by llbeanie1
Review Date: 1/1/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 7 

 
Pros:
Cons:

sharp image quality
clark666

Registered: January 2006
Posts: 5
Olympus 14-45mm f/3.5-5.6 Zuiko Digital review by clark666
Review Date: 11/28/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: comes with camera. Sharp images, light weight no need to replace it
Cons: The 14-54 is faster and sharper, but weighes more

It came with the camera and has no shortcomings. A faster lens is better. A wider angle is good, but the 14-45 is fine on its own.
halfmac

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 11
Olympus 14-45mm f/3.5-5.6 Zuiko Digital review by halfmac
Review Date: 11/8/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good sharpness, small size, non-rotating front for shade, metal mount.
Cons: Slow f-stop on the 45mm end (what do you expect from a kit lens)

This is the best kit lens on the market. The only one with a metal mount. Only one the front does not turn.


Very good center and edge sharpness. Seems very well made for a kit lens.


Both of the kit lens compare very well to Olympus OM prime lenses and these are zooms.


Came with lens hood!


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.