SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 35191 2/8/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $351.25
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.50
spacerspacer
9.25
spacerspacer
9.00
1pentax35f2.jpg


Keywords: Pentax Wide Prime 35mm


kiwijono

Registered: September 2013
Posts: 6
Pentax 35mm f/2 AL SMC P-FA review by kiwijono
Review Date: 2/8/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $350.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fairly small and light, fast autofocus, good f2, tack sharp from f4
Cons: Build could be better (normal for FAs though), autofocus could be quieter

I have had this lens for a few months now and its on my camera most of the time, so time for a review.


Its a great lens and is particularly useful on a crop DSLR (field of view on crop is close to 50mm full frame). Look forward to trying it on my ME Super too.


Definitely had to spend some time fine tuning the auto focus (on the K-5) because it was out quite a bit. Once I dialed it in though it is returningg very sharp photos.
Its pretty sharp in the centre of the frame at f2 (a bit soft in the corners) and I find it very usable. Even better the contrast wide open is surprisingly good. Sweet spot seems to be f5.6 where it is very sharp across the frame. f4 is nearly as good as f5.6.


I have noticed a little CA at times but its pretty minimal.


The supplied hood is good and can be fitted in reverse over the lens body when not in used - protecting the lens.


So far I am happy with bokeh and have not seen anything I would call ugly but then when I am looking for bokeh I shoot mostly wide open. The lens can focus relatively closely too - which helps.


The more I use this lens, the more I'm liking it. I'm seeing a lot of good results even at f2. For example take a look at the second f2 image taken in bright contrasty light - there is a little CA (have not attempted to remove) on right side of the dragon head but otherwise its impressive with good contrast.


Samples:
At f2: http://www.flickr.com/photos/kiwi_jono/10399776183/
At f2: http://www.flickr.com/photos/kiwi_jono/11316786296/
At f2: http://www.flickr.com/photos/kiwi_jono/12146154904/
At f4: http://www.flickr.com/photos/kiwi_jono/11233812534/
At f5.6: http://www.flickr.com/photos/kiwi_jono/11320538734/
elho_cid

Registered: November 2009
Posts: 10
Pentax 35mm f/2 AL SMC P-FA review by elho_cid
Review Date: 11/17/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $450.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great optical performance
Cons: expensive

I was initially a bit afraid ofthe focal length on digital, but this lens proved to be very useful companion for APS-C camera. I can rely on it's optical performance on any setting from f2 up to f22.
Pictures are always well focused and sharp with no CA apparent and free of flare or ghosting. It is quite useful for close-up's as well, but there the hexagonal aperture may render unpleasant bokeh sometimes.
In use it is very practical, you can reverse it for macro as it has the aperture ring and the lens shade is easy to use with lens cap or polarizer.
I don't regret the money spent on this one.
grim grimsson

Registered: June 2008
Posts: 6
Pentax 35mm f/2 AL SMC P-FA review by grim grimsson
Review Date: 1/1/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $280.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Usable focal length, light, fast, good IQ
Cons: bokeh

This lens is fast and with good sharpness from f2, even in borders. It is in my opinion lightweight. Even though not the most solid lens built it is tough enough Smile


Since Pentax also has a 40mm Ltd and now a 35mm macro, this one seems forgotten. IQ on this one is just as good as the 40mm Ltd, so this is the right choice if the advantage it offers with an extra stop is important
mvb123

Registered: January 2006
Posts: 1
Pentax 35mm f/2 AL SMC P-FA review by mvb123
Review Date: 1/12/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $325.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: small, sharp, well built
Cons:

This is a good lens for travelling light. It is small, well built and I've not seen any flare, it has very low distortion and practically no CA. Wide open it is very usable, the corners are less sharp but the center is already very good at F2. From F4 the whole image is very sharp.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.