SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
6 82788 12/30/2007
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $259.50
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
7.83
spacerspacer
8.83
spacerspacer
8.33
1olympus4-50f35-45.jpg


Keywords: Olympus Zuiko Tele Zoom Four-Thirds Tested


jfgroen

Registered: December 2007
Posts: 3
Olympus 40-150mm f/3.5-4.5 Zuiko Digital review by jfgroen
Review Date: 12/30/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: lightweight, good range, good image quality
Cons: a bit slow; noisy AF; front of the lens turns while focussing

Unlike the 14-45 which came with my Olympus 330 too, this is a very good lens. The construction is very simple, which might be a drawback because the front of the lens turns while focusing, and the zoom ring is a bit loose -- it almost zooms out on its own when you point the camera down. However, the simple design might be the reason that it performs so well. Images are nice and crisp (one can see it already in the viewfinder), and there are no serious image quality issues at the different f-stops, nor at the various focal lengths (though I also discovered that beyond 100mm the lens is slightly less crisp). I tended to prefer to use this lens more and more over the 14-45 lens. But now I have the 12-60mm/f2.8-4 lens which solves the problem for wide angle shots.
btjh86

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 10
Olympus 40-150mm f/3.5-4.5 Zuiko Digital review by btjh86
Review Date: 12/26/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good zoom range.
Cons: Slow and noisy AF

I used this with a E-300 when they first came out. My first impression was that its a great, compact zoom lens with a pretty wide aperture. It performs well optically too! My only gripe is its AF which can be slow and noisy. Otherwise an excellent lens for the 4/3 system.
clark666

Registered: January 2006
Posts: 5
Olympus 40-150mm f/3.5-4.5 Zuiko Digital review by clark666
Review Date: 11/28/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: comes with camera. Sharp images, light weight no need to replace it
Cons: There is nothing wrong with this lens

This is an excellent lens. It is 3.5-4.5 but has no problems. You do need to stand at least 10 feet away from your subject to get a decent image; it doesn't focus at closer distances
cra3y

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 3
Olympus 40-150mm f/3.5-4.5 Zuiko Digital review by cra3y
Review Date: 11/24/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $220.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Lightweight and compact, sharpness when stopped down
Cons: Build quality, very slow AF, soft at long end

This is amateur tele lens that in pair with ZD 14-45 3.5-5.6. It is smaller and lighter that older heavyweight and much more expensive - ZD 50-200 2.8-3.5.


The main advantage is size and lightweight of this lens (similar size to ZD 14-54 2.8-3.5). This lens perform very well in good light, especially wide end to middle stopped down to 5.6. At long end is soft and AF hunting much more than ZD 50-200)


This lens perform better than ZD 50-200 when stopped down and won't resolve 1400 lw/ph with E300 (imatest resolution target shot at raw processed byc dcraw and lightroom with no sharpening at all). This lens satisfied E1/E330 sensor resolution and possibly E300/E500 sensors but not E400 sensor.
ExCibular

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 2
Olympus 40-150mm f/3.5-4.5 Zuiko Digital review by ExCibular
Review Date: 11/14/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $299.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Opticall quality, size and weight
Cons: Speed

I bought this lens for my E-300 and I am very satisfied. This lens is an excellent performer and it's low weight makes an interessting travelcompagnion.


For daylight use this lens is quick enough, however I find it a bit slow indoor.
halfmac

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 11
Olympus 40-150mm f/3.5-4.5 Zuiko Digital review by halfmac
Review Date: 11/8/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Small, lightweight, good range, sharp, well made, metal mount and fits in my bag
Cons: Front of lens turns.

I bought this lens as part of the e-300 2 lens kit. I was pleasantly surprised by the quaiity of the lens. I had only seen the 14-45 on demo cameras. I use this lens alot. The 40mm end is almost wide enough for normal photography and is 2 stops faster than the 14-45 at 45mm.


This lens travels well because of it's size. F4.5 is fast enough for most situations.


Very good centersharpness, excellent edge sharpness and very low chromatic abberations.


Much better than my Canon 70-210 that I had on my Digital Rebel.


Came with lens hood!


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.