SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
6 38579 6/2/2013
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $477.80
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.83
spacerspacer
9.67
spacerspacer
9.17
1sigma15f28a.jpg


Keywords: Sigma Canon Nikon Minolta Pentax Fisheye Wide Prime 35mm DG


CraigH

Registered: October 2011
Posts: 8
Sigma 15mm f/2.8 EX DG Diagonal Fisheye review by CraigH
Review Date: 6/2/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $609.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very sharp. Easy to use; small and light weight
Cons: Tendency to overuse

I was looking for an FX fisheye to replace my DX Nikon 10.5 Fish and it came down to this lens or the Nikon 16 f/2.8. The Nikon was over $200 more expensive and most reviews said this lens was slightly sharper. Both had the same 180 degree view somehow. This lens exceeded my expectations and produces very nice and very sharp images if I do my part. The only tendency is that some folks overuse fisheyes. It should be a very specialized lens.
dugong5pm

Registered: October 2012
Posts: 51
Sigma 15mm f/2.8 EX DG Diagonal Fisheye review by dugong5pm
Review Date: 10/13/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $360.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: price, image quality, build quality
Cons: bad finishing (body) paint

Stellar performance for a fisheye lens. The lens is bright & fast. It's really fun to use. Simply set it in f/5.6 - f/8 and voila, all sharp images across the frame.


I mostly use this lens for film (on my F75 or F90x). It brings great color saturation, sharpness & contrast across the images. It also comes in a small & light package. Like I've said earlier, it's a fun lens to use. If you see it, buy it. no regret!
lensreporter

Registered: May 2010
Posts: 12
Sigma 15mm f/2.8 EX DG Diagonal Fisheye review by lensreporter
Review Date: 3/19/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $550.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp, sharper, Sigma 15.....
Cons: none

Very sharp!!! Very, very sharp on my 5 D M.II! Surprisingly good lens from Sigma, nearly without flaws, not much blooming, nice colours, good construction - BUY IT!!!
lextalionis

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 82
Sigma 15mm f/2.8 EX DG Diagonal Fisheye review by lextalionis
Review Date: 2/15/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fun sharp lens!
Cons: I can't think of any...for a 15mm fisheye that has almost zero flare...super in my book!

This is a great fun lens. I would save a lot of $$ and buy this fisheye over the Nikon and Canon versions...every bit as good.


Here are some sample shots taken with a Nikon D200:


Sigma 15mm f/2.8 EX DG Lens Photo Samples


-Lex
rainerknappe

Registered: May 2007
Posts: 24
Sigma 15mm f/2.8 EX DG Diagonal Fisheye review by rainerknappe
Review Date: 5/16/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: good optic quality
Cons: on APS-C sensor a 10mm would be better

This is a nice lens! Very good optics with high resolution and only very few CA´s. Distorcion could be stronger - I would prefer 10-12mm (8mm are too much - I don´t like the full circle). Good buildings, I gave 9 in construccion and 9 in picturequality. A real fun lens with a hell lot of DOF !!!
Lee Jay

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 16
Sigma 15mm f/2.8 EX DG Diagonal Fisheye review by Lee Jay
Review Date: 1/7/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $370.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fast, excellent IQ
Cons: None

What can I say...just an outstanding lens in every way.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.