SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 48068 10/18/2012
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $1,512.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.75
spacer
10.00
spacerspacer
9.75
1olympus7-14f4.jpg


Keywords: Olympus Zuiko Wide Zoom Four-Thirds


MartinM

Registered: November 2008
Posts: 29
Olympus 7-14mm f/4 Zuiko Digital review by MartinM
Review Date: 10/18/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,100.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Wide, excellent IQ, almsot without disortion
Cons: none so far

I have tested several wide angel lenses


Sony Zeiss 16-35
Canon EF 16-35 II
Canon EF 17-40


and among these, the Zuiko is the best lens, followed by the Zeiss. Canon has really no wide angle that has usable corners nor an acceptable sharpness wide open.


This is really a very nice lens and it does almost not have a disortion at the wide end.


Wide open, very far corners become a bit softer. But nothing really I could complain of. Paired with my 14-35, this is THE combo.
dccps

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 13
Olympus 7-14mm f/4 Zuiko Digital review by dccps
Review Date: 3/8/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Really wide angle of view, superbly controlled distortion and chromatic aberation, excellent resolution
Cons: a bit large, front element is too large to protect with a filter

I have never used a better wide lens - period! I have shot with many name brand optics... none were as impressive as this one - excellent color, razor sharp, well controlled distortion - Tremendous perspectives for architecture and landscapes!
Bytesmiths

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 2
Olympus 7-14mm f/4 Zuiko Digital review by Bytesmiths
Review Date: 10/25/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,649.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: zero distortion, very low flare
Cons: big & heavy, price

I bought the E-300 just so I could use this lens! No other DSLR manufacturer has anything like it. Only the full-frame hybrids can go as wide, but only with old film lenses, which are not designed for digital.


I typically only use it at the extremes of the zoom range. I would have been just as happy with a fixed-length 7mm, especially if giving up zoom would have given me more aperture. But beggars can't be choosers -- at the time I bought it, it was the only way to get outstanding quality 14mm-equivalent field of view.
wmleler

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 1
Olympus 7-14mm f/4 Zuiko Digital review by wmleler
Review Date: 10/22/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,699.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: fantastic wide angle zoom
Cons: cost

I thought for a while before plunking down the money for this lens, but after using it for a few months I'm really glad I got it. Since I got it, it has spent more time on my E-300 camera than my normal lens (the 14 to 54mm zoom). It gives me a new perspective on photography that goes beyond normal snapshots. To view some photos I took with this lens on a recent trip, see http://www.leler.com/gallery/main.php?g2_view=core.ShowItem&g2_itemId=1309


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.