SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
8 51032 5/31/2012
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $686.86
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.63
spacerspacer
9.75
spacerspacer
9.75
1olympus11-22f28-35.jpg


Keywords: Olympus Zuiko Wide Zoom Four-Thirds


jnolan

Registered: May 2012
Posts: 7
Olympus 11-22mm f/2.8-3.5 Zuiko Digital review by jnolan
Review Date: 5/31/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $600.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Image quality, Focal length range, Size, Weather sealing
Cons: Chromatic aberration, Distortion, Cost

I'd first like to address the cons I've listed above. The chromatic aberration and distortion are to be expected given the zoom range. In that regard, I suppose these cons are applicable to all but the most advanced wide zooms. In truth, I have no problem eliminating them in post-processing. The cost is a tad high.. around $800 new. $700 would seem more appropriate. That said, I got mine used so it's not really an issue.


The pros are much more apparent than the cons. I put this on my E-5, which means I never worry about the weather. It's a good sized lens, but it's not overwhelmingly huge. If you compare it to the 9-18 or the kit 14-42, though, it is certainly larger and heavier.


The image quality is very good. It's a High Grade lens, a its image quality is a noticeable step above the Standard Grade lenses such as the kit 14-42. The colors pop more and the contrast is more pleasing.


Of all the lenses I have, this is my favorite lens to travel with. It doesn't weigh enough for me to get tired, it offers great image quality, and its speed and focal length range suit my destinations.


One thing that sets this lens apart from the 9-18 is its speed. I've recently returned from a trip to Stockholm, Sweden. The old quarter of the city (Gamla Stan) has narrow streets and alleys. This lens isn't a crazy f1.4 or even a f2.0, but the f2.8 at the wide end is great for capturing these sorts of environments at the time of day when the light is good. 11mm is wide enough for my purposes. And it's long end, while not crazy fast at f3.5, is fast enough, and it's essentially a normal lens (technically, 21mm is normal for a 4/3 sensor.. remember a 50mm lens is not normal on 35mm film.. a 42mm lens is).


In short, you get everything from a decently fast, fairly wide angle to a normal, all with great image quality and sufficient speed.


To me, the only realistic alternative to this lens is the 12-60, but then you have to deal with the 12-60's complex distortion (and higher price).
donmcmahan

Registered: December 2009
Posts: 1
Olympus 11-22mm f/2.8-3.5 Zuiko Digital review by donmcmahan
Review Date: 12/14/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $550.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: image quality, lack of distortion,
Cons: limited zoom range, zoom range overlap with standard zooms

since the introduction of the 12-60 this lens seemed to have no place in the overall lens lineup of the 4/3rds system. with the 12-60 being a standard zoom that is nearly as wide and the 9-18 even wider though not as fast and the 7-14 for the ultra-wide money is no object segment of the market the 11-22 was left out in the cold. but it is just too good a lens to not have a place in my bag. a used 11-22 and 14-54 combined, cost me a little less than a new 12-60. I think I got quite a good deal. i get an extra mm in width, a bit faster, outstanding IQ and the only trade off is the extra 6mm of reach at the long end and the convenience of just the one lens. i am happy with this combination.
Karellen

Registered: February 2009
Posts: 3
Olympus 11-22mm f/2.8-3.5 Zuiko Digital review by Karellen
Review Date: 4/6/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superb sharpness, CA, distortion; fast, wide; dust and splash-proof; vast DOF with Four-Thirds
Cons: expensive 72mm filters; exposed front element

This is the most distortion free optic I've ever used. In fact, I chose it over Olympus' excellent 12-60 for this reason. The psychological effect of seeing truly straight lines in a photo where they were straight in life is never forgotten once you've used a lens like the 11-22.
barcoiris

Registered: March 2009
Posts: 2
Olympus 11-22mm f/2.8-3.5 Zuiko Digital review by barcoiris
Review Date: 3/7/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $979.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: wide angle, fast, very fast focussing, weather proof
Cons: very expensive!

i have two E-1 bodys and the 11/22 stays for ever in one of them. all around lens with f2.8 at 11mm! almost allways at that range where you must pay attention to distortion. most of the times i have to use cs3 to correct lines wich makes me lose some area, but for interior is very usefull.
epixx

Registered: March 2007
Posts: 5
Olympus 11-22mm f/2.8-3.5 Zuiko Digital review by epixx
Review Date: 3/16/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $700.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast, great range, weather sealed
Cons: Nothing

This is my combined wide angle, walk-around and travel lens. It's wide enough for anything I do, but have reach enough to be a great walk-around lens as well. Since both this lens and my camera (E-1) are weather sealed, I never worry about rain, spray or dust.
KenH

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 4
Olympus 11-22mm f/2.8-3.5 Zuiko Digital review by KenH
Review Date: 1/2/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $629.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons: None

This lens has very high Image Quality with very little distortion for such a wide angle.





This is a great lens to add to your Zuiko collection.
dccps

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 13
Olympus 11-22mm f/2.8-3.5 Zuiko Digital review by dccps
Review Date: 12/7/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $675.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: excellent size and very good field of view, sharp, good color
Cons: cost of Olympus lenses is relatively high

An excellent lens for scenics and traveling. Small while still fast enough (aperture) for flexible shooting situations. I am still not sold on 4/3rds system... (I use this system, however, when I want good photos and want to travel lighter than with my other SLRs) sensors are too small and noise a bit too high for higher ISOs, but the size and weight of these lenses is a great selling point and the optical quality of this lens is excellent.
Jay

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 4
Olympus 11-22mm f/2.8-3.5 Zuiko Digital review by Jay
Review Date: 10/23/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $675.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: moderate small, good apeture (F2.8/3.5) and excellent sharpness and Contrast
Cons: none

A fantastic lens -- very little distortion or chromatic aberrations, excellent sharpness and contrast. A good size -- not too big nor too small (smaller F-stops) and fits nicely on the E-1.


My travel kit is the E-1 with the 11-22 and the Sigma 18-125. These two lenses provide 22-250 field of view in 35mm terms. I like the overlap in the normal range so that I won't be caught with the wrong lens on the camera in normal situations.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.