SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
6 15694 6/20/2009
Recommended By Average Purchase
50% of reviewers $310.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
7.20
spacerspacer
8.00
spacerspacer
8.00
1sigmaef500dgsuper.jpg


Keywords: Sigma Canon Minolta Nikon Pentax Tilt Swivel LCD Master Slave HSS


Tommygun

Registered: June 2009
Posts: 4
Sigma EF-500 DG Super review by Tommygun
Review Date: 6/20/2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Fantastic value, powerful, just as good as Nikon or Canon flash units
Cons: Not made for professional use

This is a great flashgun for the price. Very powerful and the exposures have been spot on with my D200 and S5 Pro. Plenty of features but these flashguns are not made for professional use. Three of these have died on me each one only having covered around six weddings and just outwith the one year warranty period. Highly recommended for the occasional flasher on a budget but if you are a pro stick with Canon or Nikon guns.
bapfeld

Registered: January 2008
Posts: 1
Sigma EF-500 DG Super review by bapfeld
Review Date: 5/20/2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Powerful, Price
Cons: Cheap Construction, No PC Input, Slow Recycle

This flash offers a whole bunch of options for a relatively cheap price. The zoom covers a broad range and the slave options are what would be expected.


However, there are a whole bunch of shortcomings. No PC input. So if you want to use this with your PWs, forget about it. The flash is cheaply constructed and feels that way when holding it. The design of separate buttons for tilting and turning the flash is an unfortunate choice on Sigma's part. The recycle time for this unit is decent, for 1/2 power and below, but at 1/1 you can expect to be waiting a while. I've also had trouble with the zoom getting stuck at the long end. This may be a problem with my specific unit, but bear that in mind.


Overall, the problems with this flash do not make up for its price. Spend the extra money and get something that will last forever.
thomiz

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 16
Sigma EF-500 DG Super review by thomiz
Review Date: 1/10/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Quite powerful, good in single flash mode (on 20D), cheap
Cons: lesser build quality, master/slave function (on 20D) do not seem to work

This is a really cheap flash that looks good on paper. Quite powerfull and delivers good exposure as a single flash unit on any Canon DSLR. I however puchased two units to use in master/slave setup on my 20D camera and did not get one single correct exposure. I talked to the vendor several times, but he could not help. I also searched the web for help but it seemed like I was using the correct settings. At last i returned both items and purchased two Canon flashes to replace them (580EX and 420EX and later a 550EX). Suddenly the master/slave setup was a breeze and I got correct exposure everytime.
moeman

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 3
Sigma EF-500 DG Super review by moeman
Review Date: 12/12/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $225.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent integration of wireless flash, powerful
Cons: none

Nice flash very powerful and the wireless feature w/ my Minolta/Sony system is very good. I have to say that this is my first wireless flash and the creative options it opens are fun. I can't think of a negative since it sells for so much less than the comparable Sony unit. Recomended!
awalker

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 6
Sigma EF-500 DG Super review by awalker
Review Date: 11/25/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $475.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: As good as the Canon at two thirds of the price
Cons: None

Easily as good as the Canon unit - remember, E-TTL is a feature of the camera, not the flashgun. Can't see any reason to buy the much more expensive Canon (unlike lenses where I believe Canon is clearly worth the premium).
Bisha

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 1
Sigma EF-500 DG Super review by Bisha
Review Date: 9/2/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $230.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Most of the same features as the Canon 580EX
Cons: Nothing sigificant

I have a Canon 20D and used a Canon flash that I had had for quite a few years. It was very similar to the 420EX. It finally broke and the cost to fix was prohibitive so I researched flashes and came down to either the Canon 580EX or the Sigma EF-500 DG Super. They are mostly equal in all ways that I could determine. The 580 has a slightly higher guide number but they are both powerful flashes and the Sigma integrates very well with the Canon body. All the auto and TTL functions work great. So it came down to cost, the sigma is about $150.00 cheaper than the Canon and I could not see that much extra value in the 580EX so I went with the Sigma and am very happy with it. A friend of mine has the Canon 420EX and we compared features and they were very similar, with the Sigma being more powerful.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.