SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
12 105940 4/5/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $894.33
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.75
spacerspacer
9.58
spacerspacer
9.58
1olympus50-200f28-35.jpg


Keywords: Olympus Zuiko Tele Zoom Four-Thirds Tested


Tnt1

Registered: April 2014
Posts: 1
Olympus 50-200mm f/2.8-3.5 Zuiko Digital review by Tnt1
Review Date: 4/5/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast, excellent contrast and good bokeh
Cons: Some people may find it heavy

I bought this lens second hand in January 2014 to use with the EC14 on the OM-D E-M1. Before this purchase I used the Panasonic 100-300mm as my main nature/birding lens. In well lit conditions the Panasonic compares pretty well, particularly up to 250mm. The contrast focusing is reasonably fast and accurate as well. The 50-200mm does hunt a little on the E-M1 if the background is busy or bright. Other than that it provides some stunningly sharp images. Even with the EC14 it is a great combination. It is certainly heavier than the 100-300mm and this is a valid consideration if you are going to carry, and hand-hold, the lens for extended periods. Other than that? The Olympus 50-200mm lives up to its reputation for excellent optical quality and I think it is well worth the extra weight.
dda

Registered: July 2011
Posts: 13
Olympus 50-200mm f/2.8-3.5 Zuiko Digital review by dda
Review Date: 7/18/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Monster that takes tack sharp pictures
Cons: It's a bit heavy

Left the Olympus camp for Nikon - do however loved this lens and the 12-60. Got it for a cheap price.


Tried the SWD version. Preferred this one based on the price. Technically it's even a bit faster on some of the focal lengths (due to the SWD engine in the newer version they had to give in a small (read very small) % of speed).


If you find one at the price I paid, don't hesitate ... go for it !
barcoiris

Registered: March 2009
Posts: 2
Olympus 50-200mm f/2.8-3.5 Zuiko Digital review by barcoiris
Review Date: 3/13/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $775.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: fast,sharp, very good build
Cons: none

very smooth handling, fast and good focus, sharp, use allways wide open for nice bokeh, nice glass, not yet used over a tripod. very happy with, one e-1 with it, the other e-1 with 11/22mm...and 50f2 in the pocket...ready for anything.
swintonphoto

Registered: October 2008
Posts: 4
Olympus 50-200mm f/2.8-3.5 Zuiko Digital review by swintonphoto
Review Date: 11/22/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $850.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Razor sharp, great max aperture, built like a tank, pro quality
Cons: Autofocus can be slow at long end in low light

I have been using this lens for about a year now, and have never looked back. It produces amazingly sharp images. It is actually fairly small in my opinion for its max aperture and zoom range. No problems with distortions. It is extremely well built.
I am a professional photographer, and rely on this in many settings from weddings to sports. It performs extremely well in these settings, and I love it. I would recommend it to anybody who wants high quality telephoto image. Can't go wrong with this AMAZING telephoto lens.
ailame

Registered: December 2007
Posts: 4
Olympus 50-200mm f/2.8-3.5 Zuiko Digital review by ailame
Review Date: 12/22/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,000.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: reach, field of depth, usabilty
Cons:

My favorite lens.


This lens extended my photographic extent dramatically. It helped me take great pictures I wouldn't be able to do otherwise. I find the IQ pretty much aligned to IQ of its wider sister 14-54mm f2.8-3.5.


Though being my most expensive photographic device ($2000) I have never regretted this money. And especially currently in combination with IS (E-3).... it is very powerful device.
KenH

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 4
Olympus 50-200mm f/2.8-3.5 Zuiko Digital review by KenH
Review Date: 1/2/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $799.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great image quality
Cons: None

Great image quality, sharp with good contrast.
This lens has very good defocussing (Bokeh).



This is a great lens to add to your Zuiko collection.
llbeanie1

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 17
Olympus 50-200mm f/2.8-3.5 Zuiko Digital review by llbeanie1
Review Date: 1/1/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

great lens, what else can i say
cra3y

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 3
Olympus 50-200mm f/2.8-3.5 Zuiko Digital review by cra3y
Review Date: 11/24/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $850.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Build quality, weather seals, good sharpness
Cons: Slow AF, hunting at long end, lack of IS, weight

This is second mainstream tele lens that in pair with ZD 14-54 2.8-3.5. It is larger and havier that younger lightweight and cheaper brother - ZD 40-150 3.5-4.5.


Build quality is very good, but AF is weak (especially on long end) of this lens in pair with lack of stabilization (like IS/VR ). It is necessary to raise iso in dim light to avoid shake in 200mm (400mm) - tripod is indicated


This lens is perform well, but it won't resolve 1300 lw/ph with E300 (imatest resolution target shot at raw processed byc dcraw and lightroom with no sharpening at all). This lens satisfied E1,E330 sensor resolution but do not exceed E300/E500/E400 sensors.
macdaddy

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 2
Olympus 50-200mm f/2.8-3.5 Zuiko Digital review by macdaddy
Review Date: 11/18/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $775.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: fast, sharp, beautiful bokeh
Cons: bulky; heavy if not used to a big pro-level zoom; but lighter than competitors

I have three Olympus zooms and this has become my favorite. It has incredible "presence", providing bright, detailed, SHARP photos from edge-to-edge. The bokeh and depth of field make art shots so much fun with this lens.
Be warned, though, this is a BIG, somewhat heavy lens and does its best on a good tripod. Every 4/3rds user needs this lens in their arsenal of lenses. That said, though, compared to other manufacturers lenses that are as fast and cover this range, it's a real lighweight!
mfs

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 2
Olympus 50-200mm f/2.8-3.5 Zuiko Digital review by mfs
Review Date: 10/23/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,000.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Light weight, sharpness, fast
Cons: Not stabilized

I used this lens extensively on an African trip shooting wildlife. The light weight was a real plus as we had severe weight restrictions due to small aircraft transfers.


The results were rather remarkable considering the now relatively low resolution of the E-1.


I have made cropped prints of animal faces up to 20 x 24 inches, and I am continually astounded at the sharpness of the facial features, smooth bokeh, and even illumination across the frame from edge to edge.


The only complaint is the lack of image stabilization. I hope that the new version of the E1 contains some form of sensor stabilization to help to realize the full potential of this lens.


Every time I think that I should sell the E system, I remember the quaiity of this lens, and I hope that the new version of the E-1 body will justify my decision to keep the lenses that I own.
Jay

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 4
Olympus 50-200mm f/2.8-3.5 Zuiko Digital review by Jay
Review Date: 10/23/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Good low light capabilities and excellent sharpness and contrast
Cons: LONG and HEAVY

When this lens arrived and I unpacked it, I was really surprised at how heavy and long it was. When I put it on my camera I realized that this is a specialized lens -- and an excellent one at that. A few months latter I got a Sigma 18-125 to use in more everyday, travel situations.


I'm looking forward to the Oly 18-180 to replace the Sigma and will continue to use the Oly "Big Gun" on special occasions.
steverh

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 1
Olympus 50-200mm f/2.8-3.5 Zuiko Digital review by steverh
Review Date: 10/20/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super quality lens, handles very well
Cons: This is a big, heavy lens - but it looks very impressive with the lens hood on!

I've had some excellent pictures with this lens. It's a big beefy thing, but handles beautifully on the E1. Got some great shots at an air display recently.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.