SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera Reviews



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 52783 12/7/2016
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $160.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.50
spacerspacer
9.00
spacerspacer
8.00
1sigma14xdg.jpg


Keywords: Sigma Canon Minolta Nikon Pentax Sony TC 1.4X AF EX APO tested


ROCKZEN

Registered: December 2016
Posts: 3
Sigma 1.4X EX DG APO review by ROCKZEN
Review Date: 12/7/2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 0 

 
Pros: JHO
Cons: ASD@GMAIL.COM

As i considered together your site because May possibly learned a lot of around ones own content articles. Lucky to imply, that gossip well spoken; you may be top notch during this. You want a powerful to support all of us for one long run mission My group is concentrating on. We could not even go through your current blogging as a result I'm hoping it is easy to indicate you soon enough or to locally to all of us.
mastercard chargebacks
SackvilleJarman

Registered: November 2016
Posts: 4
Sigma 1.4X EX DG APO review by SackvilleJarman
Review Date: 12/1/2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I really needed the Sigma tele converter, I know it's expensive a little but it is still a need which I really require, it's a surprise though to lay hands on it online, but I've been pushed here through the rushessay review and that enabled me to find it.
andre_

Registered: December 2008
Posts: 31
Sigma 1.4X EX DG APO review by andre_
Review Date: 9/27/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Awsome with 150mm Macro
Cons: No AF over f5.6 (Nikon), de facto only for Sigma lenses

I use this TC with the Sigma 150mm f2.8 Macro (pre-OS) on a Nikon, and the results are outstanding.
Even with the D800 the ensamble is sharp enough at full aperture ("f4"), and a razor when stepped down.


Almost no decay in the bokeh and absolutely no CA in any condition.


But, but...
This Converter is mechanically incompatible virtually with every lens but Sigma.
This could be not an issue, since the compatible Sigma lenses have a particular design for mounting the TC, and the results are very high in average.


But, again...
With Nikon mount, Sigma has limited the AF functionality when the luminosity of the lens+TC is over f5.6.
But both my D800 and D600 have an AF system that works well til f8!
And also my old D2x and D700 worked well, covering the electric contact in order to "cheat" with the electronics and hide the TC to the body.


Why the hell I cannot use the autofocus with my Sigma 500mm f4.5 plus the teleconverter ("f6.3" as result)?


Pity, because the optical results are decent, but an MF lens of over 700mm is impractical, at least.
a_
sivrajbm

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 12
Sigma 1.4X EX DG APO review by sivrajbm
Review Date: 9/18/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $160.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, Fast, good construction
Cons: None

A Very Good TC for the $$$. On my 70-200 it is as sharp as without the TC. I didn't notice any degradeing of speed or IQ. The colors are still vibrant and the contrast is still good. Sigma scores again.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2016, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.