SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera Reviews



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 23947 11/1/2016
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $383.33
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacer
10.00
spacerspacer
8.00
spacerspacer
8.00
1nikon17xe2.jpg


Keywords: Nikon TC 1.7X II AF-S


Alver1989

Registered: November 2016
Posts: 5
Nikon 1.7X AF-S TC-17E II review by Alver1989
Review Date: 11/1/2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Interesting and amazing how your post is!
http://www.screencast.com/t/sKEbBNowk0
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchthegirlonthetrainonline/
http://www.screencast.com/t/DNnrfBJ0KHZ
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchassassinscreedonline/
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchmanchesterbytheseaonline/
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchthefounderonline/
http://www.screencast.com/t/R49jBRCbfvxv
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchlalalandonline/
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchtheaccountantonline/
https://www.rebelmouse.com/billylynnslonghalftimewalk/
http://www.screencast.com/t/Xzn8hchmDlN
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchdeepwaterhorizononline/
http://www.screencast.com/t/Q9rdMbcfG
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchsingonline/
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchkuboandtwostringsonline/
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchamonstercallsonline/
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchspectralonline/
http://www.screencast.com/t/pSNHgWlTNzO3
http://www.screencast.com/t/1fHBAqWs0r
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchtrollsonline/
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchwardogsonline/
http://www.screencast.com/t/iNn1aJXcF0n
https://www.rebelmouse.com/missperegrinespeculiarchildren/
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchbenhuronline/
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchmechanic2resurrection/
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchthemagnificentsevenonline/
http://www.screencast.com/t/XwOJNrkZ
https://www.rebelmouse.com/fantasticbeastswheretofindthem/
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchmoanaonline/
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchsnowdenonline/
http://www.screencast.com/t/7UkINEIM
http://www.screencast.com/t/OC6sjQDO4z
http://www.screencast.com/t/lTRAdwj7Ovh
http://www.screencast.com/t/9RdJ3GVXGJ
http://www.screencast.com/t/jgUqS66GrdTT
http://www.screencast.com/t/ldNWSyFG
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchpassengersonline/
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchsausagepartyonline/
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchgoldonline/
http://www.screencast.com/t/PSjwLZbKOc1
http://www.screencast.com/t/jVHesf54bHHN
http://www.screencast.com/t/CoSk1Te3iHaW
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchjackreacher2nevergoback/
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchcollateralbeautyonline/
http://www.screencast.com/t/P3GEHY1k1
http://www.screencast.com/t/NyE7NoERBy
http://www.screencast.com/t/2efF85Ms2n
http://www.screencast.com/t/Gn7s9p38MZu8
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchrogueoneonline/
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchtheedgeofseventeenonline/
http://www.screencast.com/t/SVjGmcLLX
http://www.screencast.com/t/FyuCVgiK9C
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watcharrivalonline/
http://www.screencast.com/t/LvlwwYCCL
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchthespacebetweenusonline/
http://www.screencast.com/t/FE4AZHDmex
http://www.screencast.com/t/IxEXO6gGa
http://www.screencast.com/t/F1BzpXMHCyN
http://www.screencast.com/t/7MMsycCfl
http://www.screencast.com/t/xyi8sAqIz
http://www.screencast.com/t/u0x27OXeTknJ
http://www.screencast.com/t/FgvTI0GD
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchstorksonline/
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchflorencefosterjenkins/
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchinfernoonline/
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchdoctorstrangeonline/
http://www.screencast.com/t/ow8xOPQfk
http://www.screencast.com/t/s3c6xEHZ6oUg
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchpetesdragononline/
http://www.screencast.com/t/FmhFpFV0X
https://www.rebelmouse.com/watchlightbetweenoceansonline/
http://www.screencast.com/t/ZHL1LOhjI9
Thanks for all your information,
keegan

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 6
Nikon 1.7X AF-S TC-17E II review by keegan
Review Date: 12/13/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good reach, works flawlessly with top-quality glass
Cons: Not as sharp as 1.4TC

I would rate the 1.4TC as the only TC that will yield excellent results across the board. The 1.7 is a good compromise, but dont expect it to yield tack-sharp results on every lens. You need to stop many lenses down at least two stops when using this TC to achieve max sharpness. For instance, it does NOT function well with the 70-200VR when used wide open at full zoom. You need to either back off the zoom or stop the lens down to achieve really sharp images. You can see more extensive tests I conducted here:
http://zaps21.com/photo/TC17tests/TC17tests.htm


It works very well with the 300mm/F4, and all the top-quality primes, but I would stay away from it on the zooms if you are going to be using them at the long end.
zalan

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 4
Nikon 1.7X AF-S TC-17E II review by zalan
Review Date: 12/5/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $450.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: good compromise
Cons: jack of all trades, master of none

I only tried this teleconverter on my 70-200 VR, so all the comments are about this combination. My feelings are a bit mixed about this TC. I'm not happy with the wide open or near wide open performance, but stopping the lens down will eliminate most of the problems and it brings out the magic from the 70-200 VR. At f4.8 it is very soft, the contrast is noticably lower than usual and I see some chromatic aberration, around f8 the lens becomes very usable and at f11 it is excellent again. Personally I need the reach for shooting wildlife (mostly birds) and I was hoping that adding a TC to my telephoto will give me an affordable and perfectly fine solution. At f8 (which I consider the starting point due to performance issues mentioned before) it is a slow lens, I have shutter speed problems regularly, and also the isolating capabilities are not as good as I hoped since the depth of field is quite big.
mrtim

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 3
Nikon 1.7X AF-S TC-17E II review by mrtim
Review Date: 12/5/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: good magnification factor, sharp
Cons: expensive, only works with pro lenses

I have found this to be an excellent compromise between a 1.4 and a 2.0 TC. I didn't think that the 1.4 added enough focal length to be worth it, despite the excellent image quality. The 2.0s provide more focal length, but cost substantially in both light and sharpness.


This TC is an excellent companion to my 70-200VR. The reduced sharpness is barely noticable; if I stop down to 5.6 or so I don't see it at all. Going from 200mm to 340mm, though, often makes all the difference. I have used it shooting both animals and sporting events where a little more reach was required, and have always been pleased with the results.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2016, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.