SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
6 29403 12/22/2009
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $127.25
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.20
spacerspacer
9.20
spacerspacer
9.40
1kenko14xprodg.jpg


Keywords: Kenko Canon Minolta Nikon TC 1.4X PRO AF


griffithds

Registered: November 2009
Posts: 1
Kenko 1.4X Teleplus PRO 300 DG AF review by griffithds
Review Date: 12/22/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $119.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Lightweight and small. You will forget it's attached.
Cons: None

I bought this teleconverter to use with my macro lens,to increase their magnifacation. What a supprise I got when I decided to try it on my Nikon AF 70-300 VR lens. When I couple this lens and the teleconverter to my D300s, I wind up with a VR lens that has a reach of 630mm. The AF works flawlessly. Focusing is a little slower, but that is a small price to pay to have a VR lens with a 600+mm reach for an additional investment of $119. This Tele is simply an absolute steal.
shoppix

Registered: March 2007
Posts: 1
Kenko 1.4X Teleplus PRO 300 DG AF review by shoppix
Review Date: 9/1/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 0 

 
Pros: short and lightweight
Cons: see below

Just bought this new, and having focus searching problem on my Sigma f2.9 70-200HSM. Will not stop searching. Does not do this with my other 'shorter' zoom - Nikon 18-79, Sigma 24-135, & Tamron17-50.
anyone know - what's up??


Steve Hopkins
dcp

Registered: March 2007
Posts: 2
Kenko 1.4X Teleplus PRO 300 DG AF review by dcp
Review Date: 3/3/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $140.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Clean, sharp, cheap, fits most lenses
Cons: none

This complements my Kenko 300DG pro 2X well giving me a 98-280 and 140-400. Needs to be stopped down 2/3 stops for optimal resolving power.


Some images here: http://www.davidcheok.com/jpserver/gallerysports/
perpera

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 13
Kenko 1.4X Teleplus PRO 300 DG AF review by perpera
Review Date: 1/6/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $140.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very good IQ. Cheap
Cons: None

I use it to extend my Canon EF 135mm F2 L to an 189mm F2.8, which means that I (almost) have 200 mm length without noticeable loss of AF speed or IQ.
Tomti75

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 13
Kenko 1.4X Teleplus PRO 300 DG AF review by Tomti75
Review Date: 12/5/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $110.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Hardly no IQ loss, price
Cons: ??

Compared to the 1.4 Canon TC, it has a lot of pros : it is light, black, can be used on much more lenses and more than 2 times cheaper !


I use it on a Canon USM 100mm f2 on a 350D (Rebel XT), which gives a real 160mm f2.8, and the 35mm equivalent field of view of a 224mm in a very compact set up.


There is hardly no loss in image quality (maybe slightly soft borders wide open, but deep pixel peeping is required !)
I haven't tested the Canon, but for my use I really see no reason to put a twice the price, twice the weight big white TC between my small black lens and my small black body !!
jeans

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 15
Kenko 1.4X Teleplus PRO 300 DG AF review by jeans
Review Date: 11/17/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: IQ, compatibility
Cons: low magnification

The king of all the Tcs!
Image quality is on par with its most expensive counterparts
Cheaper than it's rivals
Works with all lens types (unlike Nikon ones that work with either AF or AF-S lenses)
Though it's made of plastic, the build quality is fine for what it's required to do.
Note that there are no weather seals on this TC.


Bottom line:
This TC gives you more reach without sacrificing image quality, Unlike its x2 sibling.
Highly recommended.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.