SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
8 31416 9/2/2010
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $284.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.86
spacerspacer
9.50
spacerspacer
9.63
1canon14x.jpg


Keywords: Canon TC 1.4X EF II Tested


charley

Registered: September 2010
Posts: 6
Canon 1.4X Extender EF II review by charley
Review Date: 9/2/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $299.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: light and very well built
Cons: none

I use this with my 70-200 L f/4 IS USM. When attached this lens compliments my lens very nicely and takes some excellent pictures. IQ is fantastic, build quality is great.
climber

Registered: April 2009
Posts: 11
Canon 1.4X Extender EF II review by climber
Review Date: 4/22/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $350.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The best TC, allmost no loss in IQ when used with prime lenses
Cons: NONE

This TC is amazing. I use it a lot with my 200mm f2.8 L prime. There is allmost no loss of image quality.


Superb piece of equipment.
Badmono

Registered: August 2008
Posts: 15
Canon 1.4X Extender EF II review by Badmono
Review Date: 12/1/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Killer piece of kit for use with 'L' primes - You must have one
Cons: None whatsoever

Used with 'L' series primes this convertor works fantastically well, IQ and sharpness lose nothing from the standard lens.
>
A no brainer - just buy one if you use 'L' series primes
>
Doesn't work well with 'Hell' ZOOMs but hey Zooms are for snappers only, this convertor merely magnifies their shortcomings
hitendra

Registered: February 2007
Posts: 11
Canon 1.4X Extender EF II review by hitendra
Review Date: 10/24/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $299.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Build & Image quality
Cons: None

I am mostly using this with 70-200/4 IS here are the results
http://www.hitendrasinkar.com/index.php?showimage=272
http://www.hitendrasinkar.com/index.php?x=browse&category=29&pagenum=1
mxwphoto

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 12
Canon 1.4X Extender EF II review by mxwphoto
Review Date: 1/2/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $260.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Weather sealing, solid construction
Cons: Pricier than competition

I have this TC mated to my 100-400L. There's nothing to complain at all here! The build is as solid as the best L lenses, it includes a weather sealing O-ring, and the image degradation is minimal. In fact, I have to squint hard between an image with and without the TC to even notice a difference at 100%(other than one being more magnified, that is). For those who worry about having a lens that will stop af because it's not f/2.8, simply do a tape mod and things will work well again. The only downside to this TC is that its 3rd party competitors can be had at similar optical qualities for roughly $100 less. But then again, they lack the solid L build and weather sealing. You do get what you pay for!
garys

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 12
Canon 1.4X Extender EF II review by garys
Review Date: 1/1/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: minimal loss of image qualilty
Cons: none for what it is

Modest impact on image quality over the naked lens, especially for primes. My experience is generally that lens magnification of any type produces better results than enlarging in post processing.
mebailey

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 21
Canon 1.4X Extender EF II review by mebailey
Review Date: 12/14/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I bought to use with my 100-400L. It is a high quality piece of glass but does noticebly degrade the image on that lens. I have used it on my 180mm macro with better results. I understand that it even works better with Canon super teles but have not tried it myself.
terryf

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 10
Canon 1.4X Extender EF II review by terryf
Review Date: 12/4/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $280.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Greater reach with minimal loss of image quality.
Cons: None

Well over half of the images that I capture with my 300mm L f4 IS lens are made with the 1.4x Extender mounted. Any loss of image quality is very minimal. It is important to note that both AF and IS are maintained when I use this combination on my 20D. It is true that the AF does seem to take a little longer to find focus when the Extender is mounted but that has not been a big problem, even when photographing wildlife. The only real disadvantage that I can see is the loss of a stop in speed but even that is minimized since I have IS on the lens. I find that I can use this combination handheld quite effectively. Interestingly, I have never found any reason to use the teleextender on any of my other lenses. The purpose of this accessory is to obtain greater reach and so it is only used on the longest lens that I own.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.