SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
25 37394 11/28/2009
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $1,739.80
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.64
spacerspacer
9.50
spacerspacer
9.52
1nikon-d200.jpg



  • 10.2-megapixel DX format CCD, 3,872 x 2,592-pixel images
  • ISO from 100 to 1,600 ("ISO Boost" to 3,200)
  • Advanced high-speed, precision image processing engine
  • 5fps; 0.15s power-up; instant response
  • New selectable 11-area AF or 7 wide-area AF
  • Large, bright 0.94x viewfinder
  • 2.5-inch LCD and industry's largest top control panel
  • Magnesium alloy body
  • Full integration with Nikon's Total Imaging System

(From company literature) The D200 combines newly developed Nikon digital technologies with advanced features to create a precision-engineered, high-performance digital SLR designed for the ultimate digital SLR experience.


Employing a newly developed 10.2 effective megapixel Nikon DX Format CCD image sensor, and featuring Nikon's exclusive image processing engine and image optimizing functionality, the D200 captures images with sharp detail and faithful colour to deliver extraordinary resolution that supports significant image enlargement while enabling greater freedom for creative cropping. The new image sensor also incorporates high-speed 4-channel data output and features a new Optical Low Pass Filter, allowing photographers to benefit from a significant reduction in the incidence of moire, colour fringing and shifting. The 4-channel output also allows the D200 to adopt the advanced image-processing engine of the D2x that combines colour-independent preconditioning prior to A/D (analogue/digital) conversion with advanced digital image processing algorithms to deliver fine colour gradations with satisfyingly smooth, consistent transitions.


Advanced auto-exposure is achieved with the newly developed, Nikon exclusive 1,005-pixel 3D Colour Matrix Metering II Sensor that more precisely establishes the position and size of highlight or shadow areas. Brightness, colour contrast, selected focus area and camera-to-subject distance information is evaluated and referenced against the in-camera database of over 30,000 actual photographic scenes. The final value is calculated instantly to deliver consistently reliable exposure, for both automatic and manual operation. Nikon's exclusive 3D-Colour Matrix Metering II is unparalleled in speed, accuracy and efficiency.


Handling response is exceptional. The D200 excels in the capture of fleeting or unexpected moments with power-up in a mere 0.15 seconds, a remarkable shutter time lag of only 50 milliseconds and a shortened viewfinder blackout time of just 105 milliseconds. Performance is accelerated with high-speed continuous shooting capability at up to 5fps, with continuous bursts of up to an impressive 37 JPEG (Fine-large) images* or up to 22 shots* in NEF (RAW) format, making the D200 a perfect fit for discriminating photographers and a natural choice for wedding, event and action specialists.


The D200 features a new and highly accurate 11-area AF system and 7-wide area AF - both of which are based on Nikon's advanced Multi-CAM 1000 AF Sensor Module. This AF system supports the photographer with fast and precise auto focus under a variety of shooting conditions, and offers a pleasing array of functions for greater flexibility. An individual area can be selected from either the 11-area AF or 7-wide area AF sensors for Single AF or make use of multiple sensors to enable Dynamic AF, Closest Subject Priority Dynamic AF and Group Dynamic AF.


Complementing its exceptional handling, the D200 has been created with a magnesium alloy chassis that combines light weight with high-level durability. It also features an enhanced sealing system that helps protect exterior seams from potentially damaging moisture and dust. The D200 viewfinder is bright and offers a large 0.94x magnification to ensure the clearest view possible for precise composition, and a built-in diopter adjustment that allows the camera to be calibrated to the photographer's vision.


Viewing excellence is taken further with an expansive 2.5-inch high-resolution LCD that provides an ultra-wide 170? viewing angle from all directions. It also offers the ability to magnify images by up to 400 per cent to enable photographers to closely inspect images for fine details while offering a selectable RGB histogram display. Photographers can make better-informed exposure decisions through the viewing of a composite RGB histogram, or a separate histogram for each individual colour channel. The large top LCD panel on the D200 provides maximum information at a glance with easy access to shooting data including shooting mode, battery condition, card information, gridline display, shutter speed, F stop and number of remaining shots.


The D200 offers photographers flexible workflow advantages with the option to shoot in their choice of memory-efficient JPEG format, in the NEF (RAW) format or even in both simultaneously. This allows photographers to select the image best suited to their needs. In NEF (RAW) format, not only is the RAW image data captured by the 10.2 effective megapixel image sensor but also a thumbnail image and a highly useful 'Instruction Set' of the cameras settings at the time of shooting.


Adding exceptional versatility after the fact, NEF allows each and every element of the Instruction Set data - such as white balance, colour balance and tone curves and more - to be reset for each recorded image at any time after shooting through the use of Nikon Capture software (purchased separately). The software also allows NEF to preserve a record of the original settings even after the saving of a new version, making it easy to return to the original results in just a few clicks. To be introduced as Version 4.4, Nikon Capture enables a flexible, stable and creative workflow approach for any photographer in both professional and personal use through Nikon's unique approach referred to as 'Camera to NEF to Capture' performance.


Like all Nikon SLR cameras, the D200 also offers all the advantages of compatibility with Nikon's superior and comprehensive Total Imaging System. High image quality is assured through compatibility with over 50 outstanding AF Nikkor lenses, including Nikon's DX Nikkor lenses engineered exclusively for use with Nikon digital SLRs and an extensive array of AF Nikkor lenses designed for use on digital and 35mm SLRs. Expanding the Total Imaging System further, the D200 offers compatibility with the Nikon Creative Lighting System, enabling high-precision flash photography with SB-800, SB-600 and the new SB-R200 Speedlights to offer benefits such as i-TTL flash control, Advanced Wireless Lighting, highly reliable FV Lock and Auto FP High-Speed Sync. Nikon's Total Imaging System also allows the photographer to benefit from the use of Nikon's digital-exclusive DX Nikkor lenses as well as those from Nikon's 35mm/digital compatible AF Nikkor System.


Taking freedom and versatility even further, the D200 is compatible with the Wireless Transmitter WT-3* (available Spring, 2006), which delivers IEEE802.11b/g compatibility to enable cable-free image transfer to a compatible computer with the added assurance of wide-ranging network and security protocols. For additional convenience, the Wireless Transmitter WT-3 provides alternative buttons for shutter release and AF start as well as an extra command dial to facilitate more comfortable shooting in vertical format.


See the review on imaging-resource.com. Or post your own review below!


Keywords: Nikon SLR CF APS-C 10MP


moose

Registered: November 2009
Posts: 21
Nikon D200 review by moose
Review Date: 11/28/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,400.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: high quality build and reliable
Cons: none

Nikon professional user. The D200 is an excellent camera.


In the studio it produces wonderful skin tones and beautiful gradation. Magazine quality images.
RJackson

Registered: June 2007
Posts: 1
Nikon D200 review by RJackson
Review Date: 6/2/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,700.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Weather seals, good controls, fast performance, build quality, flash metering
Cons: Viewfinder, unpredictable focusing, software quirks

This camera was my first Nikon product. I've only had it a couple of months.


The good things about this camera are really good. It's a very solid camera and as responsive as any camera I've ever handled. It's capable of very good image quality and the built-in flash is excellent.


I've noticed a few quirks, though, and I wasn't expecting them. The big one is the autofocus. This camera will focus with a fair amount of accuracy if you keep on top of it and move the chosen focus points around to suit your compositions. It's almost slower than using a manual focus camera in this respect, though, because you have to keep predicting what your focusing needs will be and make preemptive decisions about focus point selection so it can do its job. This can be very frustrating, IMO. My previous DSLR was an Olympus E-1 and it tended to hunt a lot in low light, but it seemed to require a lot less input to do its job.


The viewfinder is also significantly smaller than the images you shoot. Accurate composition is almost impossible.


The other issue has been with the shooting banks. I set up one bank for auto-ISO and the other bank for normal manual ISO selection. Other than that they're identical, but it seems like every couple of weeks the shooting data in them gets corrupted somehow. I was in Maui recently and both banks were shooting Auto ISO. I had to go into the presets and change one back to manual ISO. Then I was in the midwest last week and one of the banks started shooting jpegs instead of RAW and both banks were Auto-ISO again. I'm starting to think that the D200 may not like flying because these things always seem to happen after it's been through a security checkpoint at an airport. In any case, it's been frustrating.


I like the camera, despite those quirks. It's got the handling and build quality of a pro camera yet it's relatively small, light and has a handy pop-up flash. If Canon made something like this I'd consider going that route just to give their autofocus technology a try, but for the time being I'm going to keep the D200.
Bobcopeland

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 7
Nikon D200 review by Bobcopeland
Review Date: 4/16/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,651.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Solid, smooth tones, handling,
Cons: Slightly heavy

Wow.
I just upgraded from a D50. The difference is much more than the extra pixels. The smoothness of the images and better exposure make the upgrade worthwhile.
Focusing seems more precise. In fact everything seems more precise.
No more burned out highlights.
At my age this maybe my last upgrade and I won't mind at all.
Wow again.
bulldog

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2
Nikon D200 review by bulldog
Review Date: 1/14/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons: only that I do not have mine yet.

I may have spent the most research on record confirming what you all know to be the "best of breed" - the D200. In the unlikely event I do not win this on the 15th, I will be picking one up shortly and will finally provide my personal review.
Jericho

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 4
Nikon D200 review by Jericho
Review Date: 1/13/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,000.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: AF, metering, speed, design, weather sealing, backwards compatability, magnesium alloy, a 1000 other things
Cons: a bit expensive :)

Just perfect.


If you cant afford the top D2Xs, then just get a D200.


I have this camera for about 4 months. I shoot professional shoots a bit, and when I learned how to obtain what I want from the D200, it simply produces exceptional images.


When combined with a good lens like a 17 - 55 DX f 2.8, the outcome is simply outstanding.


Recommended to everyone...!
bfischer

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 15
Nikon D200 review by bfischer
Review Date: 1/10/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: ergonomically correct, image quality, speed, made for your hands, AF, metering
Cons: noise above ISO 800, not the 15 stops dynamic range I want

Handling:


The D200 is ergonomically correct, fitting the hands perfectly. Instead of digging through the menu structure, all important parameters can be adjusted using dedicated buttons. Additional features like named storage banks for menu settings and a list of recently changed items complete the well thought user interface. Even the most obnoxious task of many digital cameras is solved using a single button: To delete a picture, you simply "double-click" the delete button. All interactive tasks are very responsive, you almost never have to wait for the camera to finish a request. The adjustable HiRes display is bright and clear even outside in bright light.


Image Quality:


Well, if APS-C format digital SLRs are the replacement for 35mm film SLRs, the D200 does it's job perfectly. The 10 MP sensor is quite demanding in matters of lens quality. It is worthwhile to look only for the best lenses, if you want to push the D200 to it's limits. But even with consumer lenses like the often disputed 18-200 VR you can produce gorgeous images.


Now let's talk about noise, although the whole noise issue is heavily overrated anyway. Noise is no issue up to ISO 400. Then it gets visible and from ISO 800 on you have to expose carefully with proper white balance or you will amplify noise unnecessarily. If you use ISO 800 or higher most of the time, the D200 is not for you. Look at the Canon EOS 5D or other 35mm format DSLRs.


AF and Metering:


The D200 has highly configurable auto focus and metering systems. The auto focus is fast and accurate, but not quite on par with the CAM-2000 auto focus system used in the D2X and D2H. Metering and especially flash metering is very consistent and quite accurate.


Conclusion:


You are looking for an ergonomically correct pro or near-pro DSLR in a nice package? Then get the Nikon D200.
jacket123456789

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2
Nikon D200 review by jacket123456789
Review Date: 1/9/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super fast startup/built in flash/rugged and tough
Cons: Bigger body than others in the 'D' series

I've been shooting photos now for quite some time with a Nikon N65 35mm body and a Nikkor 35-135 Af lens, i'm finally deciding to go digital. This camera is amazing. First off its completly sealed, so you're safe from dust and minimal water damage. Second, Nikon has tested it with well over 100,000 shutter releases so you're garunteed a long life and reliability. And lastly, it 'feels' like a quality camera, go to a store right now and pick one up, you'll agree.
wishbone

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 6
Nikon D200 review by wishbone
Review Date: 1/5/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Beautifully well built, usable images up to ISO 800
Cons: Heavy

My other camera is a D70 and the D200 just blows it away out of the water. I was very glad I bought this and I've taken many beautiful images using it. It's truly a delight using the D200. I do not have any major problems with it except perhaps its weight. It is a brick on your neck paired up with good heavy lens and flash. I agonize when I pack for vacations whether to take this or the D70.


Even in low light situations, this camera focuses very well without the assisted light. The camera response is FAST. It'll do everything you ask it to do ASAP. I love the mechanical shutter sound. It's just a beautiful machine to use. I generally set auto-iso up to iso 800 at 1/60. With a good noise reduction software, you can get pretty good usable images.


Overall, this was the best camera buying decision I've made.
npgallaghers

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 1
Nikon D200 review by npgallaghers
Review Date: 12/26/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,999.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great pictures, easy to use, well built
Cons: None

This is my first leap into digital SLR photography. I was looking at the Canon EOS 5D but decided after reading reviews that this camera was the one for me. I am not disappointed with my decision. In fact, I would highly recommend this camera. Nikon has always built quality products, so I am hopeful I will get many years of use from this camera. This camera has now been out for over a year, and the positive remarks just keep coming in.
cottontop

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 8
Nikon D200 review by cottontop
Review Date: 12/26/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,699.95| Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Gets the jobs done gracefully
Cons:

Queued up for a D2X when it was announced, but a "connected" acquaintance advised waiting a few months for the "next shoe to drop". Sure enough the D200 was announced.


The D200 has stuff I need:


- Mirror Lockup for landscapes
- Enough good megapixels for 12x18 gallery landscapes or 16x20 portraits
- Cable release for both portraits & landscapes


It does not have a viewfinder curtain, to which I am accustomed. But that can be jury-rigged. And it does not have the rugged durability; but I no longer travel all over the world either.


After 10 months of trouble-free print sales, must say the camera is most satisfactory.
jking32

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 3
Nikon D200 review by jking32
Review Date: 12/19/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,349.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Megapixels, print sizes, display, fast, built in flash.
Cons: Battery Life

I love this camera! My first DSLR was a D1H and I loved it too, but the ability for larger prints, more room to crop photo's as needed make this a joy to use. I also like the built in flash when I just want to take family snapshots. Still have alot to learn about it, but am loving it so far. Definately the most versatile camera I have ever owned.
Zed

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 8
Nikon D200 review by Zed
Review Date: 12/13/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Feels professional, Lightning fast, Versitile
Cons: Battery Life (300-800 shots per battery)

I could write a long elaborate description of why this is better than "camera X" or "camera Y", but I won't. This camera is amazing. I upgraded from a D70 and I have not regretted it for a moment. It is my primary camera with my D70 as a backup. If you are thinking of getting this and you have outgrown your D70/D80, go for it. If you don't know what most of the features on your D70/D80 are, do not buy this camera!
mbunge

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 10
Nikon D200 review by mbunge
Review Date: 12/13/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,699.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Image quality, low light capability, large screen, rugged construction, wireless flash capability
Cons: None

I bought the D200 to replace my D1 because of my frustration with the D1's poor image quality at ISO 800 and above. This camera blows the doors off the D1. I've been able to shoot RAW photos at ISO 1600 and get great results. Images at ISO 200 and 400 are incredible, too. Color quality, dynamic range, sharpness all exceeded my expectations. The body has a great feel--very rugged. I love having the pop up flash. When I'm taking family snapshots it's great not having to stick my strobe on the hot shoe. The 2.5" viewfinder is bright and sharp. A BIG improvement over the D1. I like being able to zoom in on the image, too. Controls are intuitive and well placed. I like the customizable features of this camera, too. I shoot a lot of high school sports and the autofocus is quick and accurate. The range of focusing options can be daunting, but it doesn't take long to learn the strengths of each, and blurry photos will be a thing of the past. I've fallen in love with the camera's CLS--creative lighting system. I've been mounting my SB800 flash on a stand off camera and using the CLS to fire the flash remotely. You can control several flashes at a time, and adjust the power output of each flash--from your camera. This has taken my photography and portraiture to a new level.


I have two D200 bodies and I don't think I'd replace them even if Nikon comes out with a full frame sensor. This camera has all the resolution and capabilities I need in a DSLR.
stib

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 4
Nikon D200 review by stib
Review Date: 12/11/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Well built/robust; good ergonomics; 5fps is great; decent sized buffer; weather sealing
Cons: battery life just so-so; wish diopter adjust had a broader range

I bought this camera after my old Sony F717 died. While I was happy with that camera, I felt I had out grown that camera. As luck would have it, my F717 died shortly after my daughter was born. Great excuse to buy a camera - and the wifey gave her nod of approval - we actually bought the D200 instead of an HDTV and don't regret it.


First, the construction and ergonomics are great. Although the camera isn't light (coming from an F717), it doesn't not feel heavy in your hands and the grip is well sized for my Asian hands (YMMV).


Although my friends thought I was crazy for taking my D200 on mountain bike rides, the 5fps shooting rate and decently clean images at high ISO are great for improving your chances of getting a decent shot. While many may complain of noise at high ISO, I'm finding shots taken at ISO 1600 perfectly usable, given the exposure is correct.


A couple days ago, I took the D200 with me to take some pictures in a downpour. The camera was exposed to quite a bit of water, but upon examination at home, no water breached the battery or compact flash areas depite the camera getting very wet.


One area of concern is battery life. I've read a lot of people getting 500 shots per charge with review of photos. I'm getting about 200 shots at most. Another minor nitpick is that the diopter range is not very great. Without my glasses or contacts, I cannot get the viewfinder to adjust for my eyes.


Overall, I am very happy I purchased the D200. It's speed, ergonomics, and customizability are fantastic. I'm not a professional photographer, nor will I ever be one, and perhaps it is for that reason that I don't see myself out growing this camera for a very long time. I definitely recommend this camera if you're in the market for a dSLR in the prosumer class, particularly as the price has dropped quite significantly recently. Hope this review helped.
glen

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 8
Nikon D200 review by glen
Review Date: 12/10/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,400.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Image quality, large bright viewfinder, build quality, good in-hand control
Cons: Price

I finally saved up to cash to get a good DSLR and picked the Nikon D200 with the 18-200 lens. I consider this a lot of bang for the buck even when it's quite a few bucks.


I've been using a 35 mm Canon A-1 up until the last two years when I finally picked up a Canon S1 IS point and shoot. (I also used a Fuji P&S I received as a birthday present which made fine pics but had limited camera control and a short focal range.) I still occasionally shoot B&W with the Canon SLR.


I wanted to get a DSLR but realized I would only be buying one at most every five to ten years (I've used my A-1 for fifteen years) so it had to be a DSLR with build quality to last. It also had to clearly be of better image quality than 35mm film. It had to be fast, and have a nice viewfinder. Most of the DSLRs I looked at came up short in the build quality and viewfinder and had funky controls to boot (i.e. you had to dive into the menus too much). If you've lived with a good older 35mm SLR for as long as I had, looking through the viewfinder of most DSLRs is a painful experience, and the controls seem clumsy.


Using the D200 seemed like coming home to a real SLR. The camera has excellent hand and weight. The important controls are on the camera body, not in the menus, and can be used while you look through a big clear viewfinder. It shoots and displays images fast. Getting to mount, meter and shoot almost all Nikkor lens made since 1977 is just pure icing on the cake.


The quality of the images one can get and the ease with which the camera makes it happen continue to amaze me. I'm still learned how I can best configure the camera's controls to work for my style of shooting, and the amount of flexibility is amazing. I have already shot many images which I just could not possibly have captured with my film SLR, and all of these pics look great blown up to big sizes (well at least 8x10 - I need a bigger printer for more than that.)


The two downsides to this camera are price and complexity. My wife does not feel comfortable using this camera despite having run through the basic controls a couple of times so that she can pick it up and shoot, but then she never did too much with our 35mm other than focus and shoot in P mode. I'm still trying to learn how to best use the flash system with older AIS lens in manual mode and look forward to learning how to use the wireless Nikon CLS system (when I buy a couple of Speedlights).


I'm happy to say that the D200 has exceeded all of my expectations for a DSLR.
weisgrau

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 6
Nikon D200 review by weisgrau
Review Date: 12/5/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,699.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great build, ergonomics, logical controls, water sealed
Cons: None of any significance

By am large the best digital SLR I have used, and I have used the Canon 60D, Canon 1Ds, Konica Minolta 7D, Olympus 330, Nikon D100, nikon D70, Nikon D1x, and Nikon D2x. Nikon doesn't classify it a professional camera, but I do. It has the build to take a beating, has water sealing for rain or high humidity, has the best menu system of any I have tried, and feels great in the hand. The 10MP is quite enough for most work and its sensor delivers crisp images with no meaningful noise up to ISO 400. A little noise shows up at 800 and more at 1600, but noise removal applications clean that up easily. I shoot RAW files and use Nikon Capture NX to process them. It does the best job on Nikon's Nef files, and deals with high ISO noise in RAW files better than anything I have tried.


I particularly like the low profile of the camera. Unlike the D2X, the D200 is smaller and does not attract as much attention. Since I shoot a lot on the street the less noticeable my camera is the better I can work. I like to hunt for street shots with the 18-70mm Nikkor attached.


I do mountain hiking, and i have had this camera bang into rock faces and drop from waist level onto rocks. It just keeps on working. I think it is the best.
markeggers

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 1
Nikon D200 review by markeggers
Review Date: 12/1/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,600.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Nice Size, Fast, Great Ergonomics
Cons: Do not like AF assist Beam

The D200 is an outstanding camera. I find that it is very fast and the image quality is outstanding. My Wife and I each have one and use them to shoot weddings and portraits. Color accuracy is very good as is WB. The camera feels well built and the ergonomics are great. My only gripe with the camera is the AF assist beam that must be used to achieve focus in low light. It can be distracting.
abrahamd

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 4
Nikon D200 review by abrahamd
Review Date: 11/28/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,400.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything
Cons: The price I suppose....maybe

OK, I'm a guy who went from a Canon A80 4.0 MP to the Panasonic FZ30.....To the D200. I thought "hey, I want to get into the DSLR scene so I might as well go for one that will last, and will live through some adventures". There are some who think that going from the FZ30 to the D200 is bad because the D200 has no scene modes and does not make compromises with the user.


To those people, I say "hogwash". The D200 is the most intuitive camera I have owned, including film cameras, and it absoutely begs the user to get to know it intimately, which I think is it's greatest strength. This camera wants you to become a better photographer. You will find yourself scanning the manual a lot, like I did, but once all of the functions are understood, and the customizability of this piece of art is realized, you will find that any change you could possibly want to make is there in an instant, at the tip of your fingers.


I have heard some recommend getting a cheaper SLR and a good lens instead of the D200 because the technology changes so quickly. I disagree. It is the tremendous durability and ruggedness of the D200 that makes me believe that this is a body that I will be using for quite a long time. Why would I want to 'upgrade' when the simple truth is that this camera takes wonderful, accurately exposed photos? and is compatible with many of the older Nikon lenses?


I must also note that I did sample other models, most notably the Sony @100 and the Canon 30D, and the weight and feel of the D200 is dramatically different from these other two......What's that worth in dollars? Well, to me, a lot....


The one thing that I would like to see improved is better sealing around the CF door and battery door.
nohm

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 11
Nikon D200 review by nohm
Review Date: 11/27/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

This camera has few weaknesses for its class range.


The new menu layout and exterior options make this camera ever so versatile in customizing your shoots according to varying situations.


I was a bit disappointed that the DOF preview was digital, and that illumination lamp is still required to compensate for the low light autofocusing which isn't quite as good as the D2x.


The built-in flash still indicates semi-pro qualities, but it's still a powerful tool in case of repeating flash and commander mode.



This camera is permanently glued onto my right hand. Smile
jtang2

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 1
Nikon D200 review by jtang2
Review Date: 11/25/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,000.00| Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Solid feel, excellent AF focus, improved battery life over D100
Cons: weight, battery life could be longer, does not accept standard cable release like D100

D200.


Highly recommended as an upgrade from the D100, which I still have as a backup body.
Menu access is more user-friendly, image quality is noticeably improved over D100. After 11 months, sensor dust has not been an issue (D100 was prone to this).
bradjolly

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 2
Nikon D200 review by bradjolly
Review Date: 11/22/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,699.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent build quality, great weight, very fast and accurate AF, excellent pictures out of camera
Cons: Price (value compared to D80)

Any way you slice it, the D200 is an excellent camera. When I first purchased it, I needed to take pictures of our baby girl when she was born. I was concerned about exposure, WB and color; so I shot my pictures in RAW (NEF). When I pulled them into Photoshop CS2, I found that they needed no corrections. Immediately I was impressed. Since then I shoot a lot in JPEG and have found the camera is very accurate in these areas. Also, the AF system is super fast. I never concern myself with focus times. It's practically instantaneous. I have only encountered a handful of images that were not focused correctly with the AF. Incredible. My previous DSLR was a Canon EOS-10D. Its AF was sorely lacking; not the case with the D200. I concentrate on my picture taking not worrying whether my pictures will come out in focus or how much lag time for AF I will need. Just shoot and the camera handles everything perfectly. I don't really know how they can improve this camera. It's perfect. I guess they could lower the price. the new D80 is a lot of what the D200 offers for a much lower price. Still the D200 has the perfect weight, feel and ruggedness that you can't get with a cheaper camera. The long shutter life and the myriad of controls would still make me buy it over the D80. I purchased mine with a 50mm 1.4 lens and a SB-600 flash (which is great by the way). I have ordered the much-acclaimed 18-200VR lens and am anxious to shoot with it whenever it finally arrives. I hope this review helps you in making your decision on which DSLR to buy. (By the way, I chose this over the Canon 30D and have not regretted it. It's just a great camera!)
Dwayne

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 1
Nikon D200 review by Dwayne
Review Date: 11/22/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,399.99| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Well Constructed, excellent weight distribution, good solid feel, metal body
Cons:

I bought the D200 as my first DSLR upgrading from a "point & shoot" camera.
After doing months of comparisons, I chose the D200 over the D80 mainly because of the metal body, seals and ability to have uncompressed RAW images which is not offered on the D80 which is very valuable in post processing of images.
Being a bit of a "Power tool Junkie" to start with, I like the very solid feel and heft of the body as was very turned off by the plastic feel of the D80 and other comparable cameras. The weight distribution is very centered and balanced. Controls are flexible but can be a bit overwhelming to a newbie so I would recommend spending some time getting to know the in's and out's of the camera and experimenting.
colourperfect_co_uk

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 18
Nikon D200 review by colourperfect_co_uk
Review Date: 11/21/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,600.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: image qulaity
Cons: noise at high iso's

Excellent upgrade from the D100. The extra resolution is really noticeable as is the 5 fps max fire rate.


The extra resolution means that poor technique shows up as image softness.


Feels well built and seems to be less aflicted by dust problems than the D100.


Love the built in CLS controller and 10 pin remote shutter.


Would prefer better shadow noise performance, but this is really being picky.


Make sure you buy a few spare batteries as they dont last as long as the D100


Should keep me going until a Nikon Full frame solution arrives.


colourperfect
Chemprof

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 4
Nikon D200 review by Chemprof
Review Date: 11/14/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,700.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent image quality, ergonomics second to none
Cons: None

Best camera I've ever owned. Period. Image quality rivals the much more expensive D2X for a fraction of the cost, less weight, less bulk and virtually equivalently robust constructions. Can't go wrong with this camera.
ericmiami

Registered: October 2006
Posts: 1
Nikon D200 review by ericmiami
Review Date: 10/19/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,700.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Image quality, solid feel, level of customability, external controls.
Cons: Low battery life, camera is not waterproof.

Absolutely lovely instrument. I leave it on ISO 500 for normal use as I do a lot of wildlife shooting in dim light. It has many customizable features to grow into. I lost my first one in an airboat sinking when a fairly small amount of water got into my camera bag. It is not waterproof by any means. Most commonly used control items are adjustable using buttons and one of the two control dials. There is also a quickly accessed and handy menu of recently changed items. The camera feels solid and luxurious. The large LCD screen is a treat after more than a year of shooting with a D70. Focusing is noticeably faster than the D70. The D70 also drowned in the mishap. I love my D200.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.