SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
5 52551 8/6/2009
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $439.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.80
spacerspacer
8.00
spacerspacer
8.40
1olympus18-180f35-63.jpg


Keywords: Olympus Zuiko Wide Mid Tele Zoom Four-Thirds


trentdp

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 26
Olympus 18-180mm f/3.5-6.3 Zuiko Digital review by trentdp
Review Date: 8/6/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $428.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Nice light general purpose vacation lens
Cons: It would be nice at 14mm on the wide end

My wife uses this lens on her Olympus E-520 and likes it very much. It covers a nice range and is great for general photography which we do most of the time.


Only small drawback is 18 mm is a little narrower than we would prefer but definately not a deal breaker.


It is a nice balance on the E-520 and we can whole heartedly recommend this lens to anyone who wishes to have an all-in-one lens for vacation or just personal use.
MartinM

Registered: November 2008
Posts: 29
Olympus 18-180mm f/3.5-6.3 Zuiko Digital review by MartinM
Review Date: 5/10/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Versatile focal lenght, weight
Cons: Hunts in low light, wide angle

I had a chance to test the lens. No, i have not bought it. I have enough other lenses, so i won't get this one.


I tested it on E-30 and E-620.


I compare the lens with my Sony DT 18-250 / 3.5 -6.3
This makes sense because it's well comparable


The image quality is surprisingly good. Not perfect, when cropped.


With the focal lenght of 180mm it has an excellent reach and the 6.3 at the long end are not an issue while outdoor and sunny wheather. ISO100-200. With covered skies i change directly to ISO400. Nothing special. I had to do this on the Sony too.


The wide angle is not available. No problem for a walk around lens, but when you want some landscape panorama fotography, you'll need to change lens. I found the 9-18mm match perfect.


CA, yes in some situations is found them. Dramatic? no.


In general the lens is nicely built and well usable. But don't expect the IQ of a 12-60 / 50-200.


I recommend this lens who is looking for a single (twin) lens solution and is not going to crop to much.


Indoors, this lens is more or less not usable. My SAL-18-250 i had to cover indoors with a prime lens and this one you'll need to use a prime too.


The build quality is excellent. Olympus build.
ealatsis

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 4
Olympus 18-180mm f/3.5-6.3 Zuiko Digital review by ealatsis
Review Date: 1/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: great range, lightweight, compact
Cons: hunts in low light

I have switched over to using Nikon equipment, but I used this lens with the EVOLT E-500. I took over 3,000 photos on a trip to Alaska; I didn't bother taking either lenses that come with the kit....I used this lens the entire time and had great results. This lens takes up very little space and the convenience is tremendous. I now shoot with faster lenses and realize how nice it is to shoot in low light without any struggle Smile
Tikkis

Registered: May 2006
Posts: 1
Olympus 18-180mm f/3.5-6.3 Zuiko Digital review by Tikkis
Review Date: 5/12/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Size, Focusing Range, Handling
Cons: Poor Geometry and Definition with Shorter Focal Lenghts

Nice and Compact Lens. Very useable as All-round Travel Zoom. Focuses Nicely Surprisingly Close. Decent Build Quality. Somewhat Disappointing performance in the Shorter End of the Focal Lenght Scale.


Seems to Be Optically Perfectly Identical to Sigma 18-200 f/3,5-6,3 Zoom. So One Has To Come in to a Conclusion That the Lens id Actually Made By Sigma.
olyjack

Registered: April 2006
Posts: 1
Olympus 18-180mm f/3.5-6.3 Zuiko Digital review by olyjack
Review Date: 4/15/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $450.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great range and Olympus quality, compact size
Cons: wish for 2.8, some citoff from shade at 18 even with just haze filter

Bought about 3 weeks ago, Didn't mean to, just went in for E-330 body. Tried lens and have been carrying it since, everywhere. Light, great range, love it.
Good light condition lens. Have to careful as it closes down quickly as zoom increases, but what else is new.
Would also have liked 2.8 at top end, but probably wouldn't have oaid the price.
For planned events, I'll still carry multiple bodies and lenses. This is a good grab and shoot.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.