SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
8 97033 10/12/2012
Recommended By Average Purchase
88% of reviewers $538.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
7.00
spacerspacer
7.75
spacerspacer
8.25
1tamron11-18f45-56.jpg


Keywords: Tamron Canon Nikon Minolta Wide Zoom APS-C Di-II LD SP Tested


dugong5pm

Registered: October 2012
Posts: 51
Tamron 11-18mm f/4.5-5.6 Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by dugong5pm
Review Date: 10/12/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $550.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: light, good IQ, price
Cons: none for the price

I have owned this lens since 2005 (it was new back then). This is a great lens for the price. For me, it's been a landscaper's dream lens. It goes wide, very decent performance, without having the backpain (it's light).


It gives very decent performance. you'll get rather soft corners wide open, but it's great at f/8 - f/11 (that's what you need for landscape). AF speed is on the slow side, but it's never been a problem if you're shooting stills. Build quality is OK, it has taken the beatings and survived for about 7 years now, and still kicking!
I love this lens. I always bring this when travelling. It's a keeper.
roaniecowpony

Registered: March 2009
Posts: 4
Tamron 11-18mm f/4.5-5.6 Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by roaniecowpony
Review Date: 3/10/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $375.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: inexpensive, lightweight
Cons: cheap build typical of Tamron

I bought this lens about 2 yrs ago now, used on ebay. I hadn't really tested it much until I bought the Tokina 11-16 and set up some tests (see my Tokina 11-16 review). The Tamron AF accuracy was very good and required only -3 units (backforcused about 5-6 inches at 7ft subject) of AF correction on my D300.


In comparing this lens to the Tokina, I found the Tamron had a much lower contrast and lower color saturation level. It also had a sort of warm color cast to it.


Currently, Tokina has some quality control issues with their AF calibration, so the Tamron is the better choice for those that don't want to hassle the repair work or don't have cameras capable of AF correction.


I've worn out a Tamron recently, to the point that the front barrel is wobbling around. The Tamron construction is such that it has plastic parts as wear surfaces on the zoom and focus parts. So, for those contemplating this lens as longterm investment, I'd say go for another choice such as your camera brand or the Tokina (with consideration of the backfocus issue).
EF-S10-22

Registered: July 2007
Posts: 20
Tamron 11-18mm f/4.5-5.6 Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by EF-S10-22
Review Date: 9/28/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $650.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: light , compact, excellent color and contrast , very good resolution
Cons: CA,no USM.

As I got stolen my EF-S10-22, I am testing all UWA lenses for my 40D .


This one was tested this moring and I tested many things in a little city area of Bangkok.


The resolution is great , its peak is at about 13mm f8.


The lens is a bit sharper than my Sigma 12-24 , but a bit less sharp than the Sigma 10-20 at center , though at borders and edges the Tamorn beats these 2 Sigmas.


The Tmaorn 's biggest con is the CA and a bit more complicated shape of barrel distortion than that of my Canon EF-S10-22.


Also , it is more prone to flare than my Cnaon lens .


But it is so small and sharp with vibrant L-like color , I may keep it for a long time , for a short vacation.


I will buy the Cnaon 10-22 again but I may also keep this Tmaorn , I like this Tmaorn color and its resolution figures much better than that of the Sigma 10-20Ex , which I also tested.


I may but the Tokina ,but not sure if the 12mm end of the Tokina is wide enough for me.


It is expensive(in BKK, it is more expenisve than the Canon 10-22) , though I highly recommend it .
lor

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 1
Tamron 11-18mm f/4.5-5.6 Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by lor
Review Date: 9/3/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $550.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: image quality
Cons: limited zoom range, focus speed

I bought this lens by mistake. I needed a wide lens for a holiday in Morocco and I wanted a Sigma 10-20 for my Nikon D200. Since I was about to leave, and the dealer only had this one available, I decided to go for it. At first I was disappointed because of soft edges. What I found out is that edges are good indeed, they just look soft because of high levels of chromatic aberration. Run the raw image through the excellent Nikon Capture CA correction feature and it looks quite good even wide open. No difference from my trusty Nikon 18-70 at 18mm for sharpness, color and constrast, and the results look extremely consistant through the whle zoom range. Great indeed and a very pleasant surprise. What's bad is the focus speed (ssslllooowwww.... and noisy) but so what I use hyperfocals, and the zoom range. The upper limit at 18 forces to switch lenses more often than I wished. Is the non corrected CA to cause bad reviews on Canon bodies? Or was I just lucky and picked a very good sample?
Shoot RAW with Nikon and you will be extremely satisfied. Oh, I forgot: NO vignetting!
griggsjl

Registered: February 2007
Posts: 1
Tamron 11-18mm f/4.5-5.6 Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by griggsjl
Review Date: 2/24/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $550.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Nice feel and handles well. Seems to focus fastbut then it doesn't need to focus much at 11mm
Cons: Not very sharp around the edges especially at 11mm regardless of f/stop. Had I seen the tests I would have bought something else. OK lens but not pro quality unless you zoom to about 13mm and keep the f-stop between 8 and 11

Not sure if I am too picky or not but I have been disappointed with the results of this lens so far. I have to shoot at f/8 but no smaller than f/11 and it helps if you zoom closer than the widest setting of 11mm. Construction quality seems to be excellent and focus speed is adequate. It seems that people would buy this lens for the 11mm setting so Tamron should concentrate on making it sharp at 11mm. It is excellent at 18mm but I already own a Canon 16-35L/2.8 that is sharp there as well.


had I seen these tests I wouldhave opted for the Sigma or Tokina versions but maybe I just got a les that just barely passed the tolerance tests.
SteveR12682

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 10
Tamron 11-18mm f/4.5-5.6 Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by SteveR12682
Review Date: 12/30/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Light weight
Cons: Edge sharpness

This lens is a good ultra-wide angle lens but not a great lens. Image quality is good, but gets a little soft on the edges. Build quality is adequate. Other lenses like the Sigma 10-20 may be slightly better in these areas if you get a good copy.
leprechaun

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 7
Tamron 11-18mm f/4.5-5.6 Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by leprechaun
Review Date: 12/24/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $580.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good wide angle range, light and well balaced
Cons:

Okay, this lens is built out of plastic, but these days many are. The fit and finish are good, and operation is smooth. The construction makes it light to carry on and off the camera and makes it easy to orient the horizon on landscapes or sight lines within a room.


It goes wider than a 12-24mm and doesn't give me a big overlap in focal lenth with other lenses. Most of us have 18-24mm covered. This is al ens I can pick when I know the kit lens won't do. Makes life simple. It's way wide and ready when I need it.


Manual focus is smooth and easy, the ring is right where I need it and good size. Autofocus is fine. Zoom is precise with no drift/creep. It's easy to compose shots.


Optically it's fine. As good or better than anything in it's price range. I've borrowed/used others and they don't impress me as much.


This is a good sharp lens that's a pleasure to use.
ggriffith

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 4
Tamron 11-18mm f/4.5-5.6 Di II LD Aspherical IF SP AF review by ggriffith
Review Date: 10/19/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $549.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: VERY WIDE, Great Price!
Cons: Some vignetting if on a pro body, but this can be dealt with

I've been very pleased with this lens. I usually stick with first party gear, but after borrowing a friend's 11-18 I was convinced and bought my own! This is a VERY fun lens!


There are your usual tools that you'll use a lot but when you really want to get creative...Get Wide!


I've had a blast using this lens and for the price you can't go wrong. Much easier to fit than Nikon's $1200 14mm or Canon's 15mm!


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.