SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
3 9031 1/11/2007
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $71.33
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.33
spacerspacer
9.00
spacerspacer
9.00
1slik-sprintpro.jpg


(From company literature) SLIK Sprint Pro. SLIK designers carefully examined the trends in compact digital cameras and the needs of those owners then created a new tripod from the ground up. The SLIK SPRINT PRO has the features that are required of a full sized tripod, a maximum height of 64 inches reaches eye level yet the SPRINT PRO folds to an impressively compact 18.9 inches and weighs in at just 31.4 ounces (a fraction less than 2 pounds) for easy travel.


The emphasis on the SPRINT PRO is ease of use. Any tripod should be easy to use, so that more time is spent concentrating on the subject and enjoying photography, than stressing about the equipment. This tripod makes setting up simple and secure with fast, easy to use SLIK speed release leg locks, gearless center column for quick height adjustments, and 3 position adjustable angle legs for easy set up on uneven ground or steps.


The adjustable legs angles can also be used to lower the tripod. When used with the built-in short center column, (the included center column unscrews into two pieces) the camera is just 6.4 inches off the ground for extremely low angle or macro photography out in the field. Another way to get the camera low is to reverse the center column which could be used for macro photography or copy work.


SLIK even designed a new head for the SPRINT series. This ball head features a precision milled aluminum ball for smooth reliable camera movements. This head can easily handle a camera up to 4.5 pounds in weight.


The SLIK SPRINT PRO is available in either Silver Metallic or near Black SLIK Gun Metallic.



Specifications (with head):

  • Head: Ball Head
  • Column Type: Rapid
  • Number of Leg Sections: 4
  • Leg Lock Type: Speed Release
  • Maximum Operating Height: 163.5 cm / 64.37 in.
  • Minimum Operating Height: 16.2 cm / 6.38 in.
  • Maximum Center Column Extension: 30 cm / 11.8 in.
  • Folded Length: 48 cm / 18.9 in.
  • Maximum Load: 2.04 kg / 4.5 lbs
  • Weight: 0.89 kg / 1.96 lbs

Keywords: SLIK Tripod Rapid Ballhead


oversky

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 1
SLIK Sprint Pro review by oversky
Review Date: 1/11/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $55.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Affordable light-weight and stable tripod under $55. Functional.
Cons: Could include a quick release

I bought this tripod in Jan 2004 for my Canon A80. At the time of buying, Velbon MAXi 347E and Velbon MAXi 343E are also in my watch list. After try all three tripods in the store, Slik Sprint Pro stands out for its stability, light weight and versatility. I tested the tripods with my weight, and I can tell the difference in stability. I also tested other white brand tripods in the store, no other tripods can compete with Slik Sprint Pro at this price range.
One of my friend also bought this tripod with my recommendation. His tripod got a crack in one leg after it accidentally dropped from a 2m shelf. Though the tripod should not be treated like this, but I expected it to be stronger.
If you think 0.89 Kg is still too heavy, you can leave the center column at home.
rankatz

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 3
SLIK Sprint Pro review by rankatz
Review Date: 1/9/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $79.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Lightweight, easy to setup, comes with a bag and shoulder strap
Cons: camera and lens weight limit (although reasonable for the tripods weight/price

A wonderful tripod to carry around if your camera setup is light enough - we (my wife and I) use it with our Maxxum 4 and 28-80 lens and there are no issues. I was afraid of the ball head as I didn't have any experience with ball heads before, but, its easy to get used to and I fond it very convenient for still image shooting.
other than being very light (= easy for me to carry around ) \i was also impressed with the height range it has, especially the low side, it is almost as low as my mini-pod, I found this very convenient when trying to take pictures of my son crawling around.
when we got our DV camcorder (panasonic GS150) we also purchased the pan/tilt head that fits this tripod which I found to be very useful when trying to follow my son (the same one that was crawling above...) around, (the ball head didn't work for me with the camcorder).
overall we use the tripod allot and very happy with it, it was the right purchase for us.
johnkeats

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 7
SLIK Sprint Pro review by johnkeats
Review Date: 12/18/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $80.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light, great extension, can lie low to ground
Cons: not for anything heavier than digicam or light slr and small lens

This is a great little tripod. Used within it's limits, it will serve you well. It can extend as tall as eye height, and can hug the ground at about 4". (The center column unscrews into two pieces so you can go low.) The legs can be set to different angles for uneven terrain. The ballhead works well - if the load isn't too great. I'd sometimes use it with a light slr and a consumer grade 75-300 lens and the camera would sag just a bit after tightening the head. A small annoyance, but a sign that I was using it a bit beyond it's capacity. If you have a compact or a light slr with a kit lens -- this could be for you. When you climb the ranks and your needs call for a rock solid tripod, this one can hold you diffusers and reflectors for you. Until then, an inexpensive and light tripod is one you might actually take with you and use. This one gets my vote.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.