SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
27 203811 9/20/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
89% of reviewers $406.45
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
7.04
spacerspacer
9.23
spacerspacer
8.26
1tamron90mmf28.jpg


Keywords: Tamron Canon Nikon Minolta Pentax Tele Prime Macro 35mm Di SP Tested


Trvthseeker

Registered: September 2014
Posts: 1
Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF review by Trvthseeker
Review Date: 9/20/2014 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 1 

 
Pros:
Cons: Lerns fell apart

Purchased the older (Non=Di) model used. Had it mounted on the camera on a tripod, with the lens pointed at the floor. The lens fell apart. The entire telescoping part fell out. I have never had a lens of any price from anyone fall apart. This has to be the ultimate in poor design. The camera store said I would have to send it to Tamron for repair, at $160.00 and up. They also offered to sell me the new Di model for $499.00. With a design flaw like this, I felt it would be sending good money after bad, and did not buy another Tamron. It won't even work as a boat anchor, it is too light. As you can tell, I am really upset.
robberstea

Registered: December 2012
Posts: 1
Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF review by robberstea
Review Date: 12/5/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharpness, smooth bokeh, bargain price, handling, focus limit switch, weight
Cons: minimum focus distance, kit lens build quality

I love this lens. It does everything I need it to do and never gets in my way. The lens has all the features I need and offers flawless handling. The optical performance leaves nothing to be desired. The wonderful bokeh, focal length and focus limit switch make what could be a specialized lens highly adaptable. Whether I’m doing product shoots, taking a stroll through the woods or documenting a wedding this lens is always on hand. With its small size and light weight, there is no reason not to have it in your camera bag. In the less than one year I’ve owned it, it has captured some of my favorite images. All this from one of the cheapest macro lenses available. It’s a no-brainer for me to recommend this lens.


View my full review (including pictures) at: http://jeffreypalmerphoto.com/photoblog/?p=1041
tclune

Registered: August 2010
Posts: 6
Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF review by tclune
Review Date: 12/1/2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $410.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Extremely sharp, creamy bokeh
Cons: CA, too cramped macro focal distance

I picked up the Tamron 90mm f/2.8 1:1 macro lens while the Tamron $50 rebate is still in effect (good through the end of year). I am pretty much limited to lenses that are $500 or less, and have a Nikon D5000, so I was interested in a lens with a focusing motor. This lens, after rebate, was just over $400. One of the things that I wanted was to use the lens for indoor photos of school plays and the like, so I wanted it to be as bright as possible. I don't currently have a macro lens, so that was a plus -- although I am not really into macro photography, and have the Kenko 3 extension tubes set that has met what little need I have for such things so far.


I am very favorably impressed with many aspects of this lens. It is sharper and brighter than the Nikon 85mm f/3.5 micro lens which was also in my price-range. This Tamron is just about as sharp as a lens can possibly be. Its color rendition, contrast, and bokeh are very pleasing. The motor is not silent, but close enough for me. The speed of focus is adequate for my purposes -- I don't do sports shooting and the like. Truth to tell, I don't have the chops for anything that won't sit still for me to figure out what I need to do.


Two aspects of the lens were disappointing, however. First, there is a lot more chromatic aberration (CA) than I was expecting, especially given SlrGear's assessment of CA on this lens. I use the auto-lateral CA removal with Capture NX2 and I never see any CA after that on any other lens I own -- even those that are known for their tendencies in this direction (my other lenses include the Tokina 12-24 f/4 DX II and the Nikon 35mm f/1.8). This lens, however, showed very obvious CA, especially wide open, even after removing lateral CA. The good news is that I am able to fully remove the CA using Capture NX2's axial CA removal slider. I just wasn't expecting to have to.


Second, the clearance distance between the lens and subject at 1:1 is stunningly short. Because the lens trombones and is recessed into its housing, at 1:1 the front of the lens housing is not much more than one inch from the focal point. I was expecting much better working distances from a 90mm lens. Macro isn't that important to me, so this isn't that big a deal. But, if I were actually caught up in macro (which I imagine the target market is) this lens would make me uncomfortable for that use. And it would not be possible to add one of the Kenko extenders to increase the magnification of this lens.


Overall, I am quite happy so far with this lens. It is a very good bargain. But it is not an unalloyed blessing.


I have a small gallery of photos that I took while evaluating this lens that shows the CA issue as well as the wonderful sharpness and creamy bokeh here: http://www.dpreview.com/galleries/6370541681/invite/77B3D176D43E47D6ADAFBF306EC04A51 In addition, the gallery may illustrate a problem that I have heard others mention -- on smooth focal regions, the focusing system does not seem to function as well as many other lenses do. But, as I comment in the gallery, I'm not absolutely sure that the back-focusing on one of the images was the fault of the lens and not "cockpit error." I don't think so, but I can't be positive.


ETA: Having lived with this lens for a year or so now, I wouldn't buy it again. I don't use it much anymore because of the LoCA and its tendency to miss focus at mid distance. I will still use it for macro photography, although I wish it had a better working distance. And, if I am specifically shooting portraits outdoors, I will include this lens in my bag. But, for the most part, it just sits at home. So I've changed my recommendation to a "no," even though the facts about the lens haven't changed over the last year. The lens isn't awful, but it is the only lens that I own that I have such luke-warm feelings about using.
Mac_In_FL

Registered: April 2009
Posts: 5
Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF review by Mac_In_FL
Review Date: 7/23/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $325.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: A bargain. Can serve as macro and portrait. Sharp wide open ... stop it down and it just gets better.
Cons: Focus is slow but not unusual with macro lens. Build quailty is not top tier but good for price.

I continue to be amazed at the quality this lens can provide. It was one of the first I picked up when migrating to Nikon system. In addition to being an excellent macro lens, I have heard the Tamron 90/2.8 called the "poor man's portrait lens" and indeed it can wear two hats.


As a straight macro lens, it leaves little to be desired. Performance is good wide open and continues to improve until around f11 or so. I think the photographers technique will be the only limitation when using this lens.


The Tamron can also serve as a good portrait lens, though a little long on DX sensor. The only drawback is the focus can be a little slow and noisy compared to an AF-S lens but is to be expected considering the wide focusing radius on a macro lens.


To underscore how good this lens is, I later upgraded to the Nikon 105/2.8 AF-S VR. The Nikon is a fine lens and has its own unique advantages but I was surprised to find that the Tamron out performed the Nikon at every aperture regarding sharpness, especially wide open f2.8. I planned to sell the Tamron to cover the cost of the Nikon upgrade but after a year, I still have the Tamron. Considering how little I have in the lens, doubt that I will ever sell it. It is that good.


Very few downsides:
- the lens barrel extends out quite a bit when close focusing.
- build quality is a not professional grade but it doesn't cost $$$ so a fair trade-off.
- focusing is way under-damped. When disconnected from a camera body, the lens barrel will extend if held vertical.


I highly recommend this lens, especially if you are starting a a new system on a budget. Great lens!
lightknight

Registered: November 2009
Posts: 21
Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF review by lightknight
Review Date: 2/5/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: very sharp, good focal length
Cons: build quality

This is a very sharp lens and it is highly competitive with almost any other, whether for macro or landscape: see the following landscape:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/lightknight/670141328/sizes/o/
Macro
http://www.flickr.com/photos/lightknight/607325830/sizes/o/


I would have any number of these and I know that comparing them with other lenses that I have they are around as good as one can get sharpness wise.


The main issue with it for me is that its build quality, while smartly presented (which is why I have given it 6) , leads to it being too unreliable as a day to day lens for a semi or pro photographer. As the lens trombones out during close focusing it has twice broken its internal plastic retaining lugs allowing the object lens to literal fall out. The fist time this cost me about $250 to repair, but the second time I have given up and it now sits in my cupboard unused and unloved. This is a shame.
yanjianh

Registered: October 2009
Posts: 1
Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF review by yanjianh
Review Date: 10/7/2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $460.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Lightweight, sharp
Cons: too easy to get sand in, very special serice

I need a lens for portrait and macro. I narrowed down two choices: Nikon 105mm f/2.8G ED IF AF-S VR or Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di. I searched the internet. Thom Hogan says ” The big difference is this (between the Nikon and tamron): for $400 less money, you give up VR, focus speed, and a bit of build quality from the Nikon 105mm. That's about it. The Tamron 90mm is the poor man's mid-range macro.” (http://www.bythom.com/105AFSlens.htm). I learned the Nikon is bulkier, heavier and cost much more, the tamron is cheaper, optic quality if not better, at least as good as the Nikon, I also learned from somewhere Tamron’s service is good, fast, six years. I am not a professional, not going to use it a lot, so I ordered the Tamron from B&H in May15, 2009.


I tried the lens to shoot a quarter; it IS sharper than my Nikon 28-105mm D. it is summer time, I bring my boy to North Beach in Chicago. I quickly found that the lens refuse to focus automatically without any warnings. It just won’t focus when I press the shutter bottom. But if I power the D200 off and on, or unscrew the lens off the body and put back again, the focus will be back. Tamron uses a push and pull mechanism to switch from manual focus to automatic focus, actually I like this, but the problem is the switch is not smooth. Sometimes I have to first turn the lens about 45 degree before I can pull it back.


I remembered I read somewhere some one is saying it has the same problem. I want the lens, don’t want to return it. Summer is good, I used it for about three to five times on the beach, but the problems are getting worse. So I decided to send it back to Tamron for a check.


Tamron mailed back. Saying it needs 160.0$ to repair and it is not under warranty. The repair listed is
“ SK Evidence of shock damage
F Focus defect or poor image quality
Z Zoom defect
1 General check, clean, and adjust
2 ETA:10, Business days depending on volume”


This morning (Oct 6, 2009) I called 1-800-827 8880. A gentleman answered. I said I just used the lens four to five times, and I never dropped or bumped the lens, how could it be shock damage” He asked me to wait him to get the lens. He came back saying the lens has sand in it, it is the sand causing the problems, so not covered by warranty. I said I did use it on beach, sand could be there, but it might not be the cause of the problems. He then said, actually the lens needs a “major repair”, they are doing me a favor, price it for a “minor” repair. I asked him if he really believes it is the sand that causes the problems, he confirmed and told me to think about it, and I don’t need to make a decision at the moment( to pay the 160.0$).


I hang up, not happy, the estimate did not say anything about sands, instead “shock damage”. So I called again. This time a lady answered. I told Her in a very calm voice” I might not be in a good mood, so I am sorry”. The lady said “I am not in good mood too”. So I tried to tell the story. Not long into it, she interrupted me, saying I can keep going on and on, but it will not change the conclusion, sand causes the problems and not covered by warranty, and she has that lens too, it is the best lens Tamron ever produced, no problems at all. Then I asked if I paid the money, you fix it, and when it gets back, the sand is no more there, but the problems come back, will tamron refund the money because that approves it is not the sand that causes the problems. The lady said no, if the problem comes back, they can repair it again. I said, then it approves it is not the sand causing the problems. She said they could be caused by something else, but they can’t refund you. I asked, why not, and then she said “hold on”. I waited, waited about five minutes, then another voice said hello. I said I was talking to a lady, the lady wanted me to hold, I don’t know how the phone got it to you. Then I was transferred to the lady in the service dept again.


The lady said “sorry, I have another call”. She said she talked to the manager, the highest person in charge of the repairs. The manager said they made a mistake, it is a major repairs, needs to charge more than 300.0$. The lady then said, at least it needs 240.0$ instead of the 160.0 to repair it, but it is their mistake, so they will honor the 160.0$. I began to feel guilty if i don't accept the kind 160.0$ offer, but I stupidly repeated the same question if she really believes it is the sand or the sand particle is coincidental there. She told me to hold again.


I waited this time much longer; the phone went back to the operator again in about 8 to 10 minutes. I asked the lady in the service dept if you asked me to “hold”, will the phone go back to the operator. The lady said” yes, it loops”.


I asked the lady if there is Tamron authorized service agents in Chicao, The lady said”no, there is only one in California, they will charge you three times more”.


I gave them my credit card number, 160.0$, a lifelong big lesson.
Here are a few things I learned:
1.The repairs stated on the Repair Acknowledgement/Estimate” might not be the real cause, as “shock damage” to “sand” in my case.
2. They will make mistakes in estmate, from “major repair” to “minor repair”. They should charge from more than 300 to 240 to 160, they are doing me great favors.
3. Their phone loops. They will ask you to hold, the time during “hold”, the phone will loop from the service department to the operator of the company. However, the operator is nice enough to transfer you back to the service agent you were talking with, and the line was not cut.
4. No Tamron authorized service agent in Chicago, only one in California, it might charge three times more.
5. Sand will easily get into the lens (my years old Nikon 28-105mm is not, taking so many pictures on the beach). Sand particles at least will stop the auto focus that can be saved by power off the body and void the warranty.
sgnirts

Registered: January 2009
Posts: 7
Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF review by sgnirts
Review Date: 2/6/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Sharp, f2.8,
Cons: build

I like the range of the Tamron 90mm macro. this is a fairly versatile lens, but best for macro work. the build quality leaves much to be desired, the autofocus cooked some time ago.
Badmono

Registered: August 2008
Posts: 15
Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF review by Badmono
Review Date: 11/24/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Cheap lens - nice 'n sharp wide open
Cons: The Brand Name

I was given this lens by a friend over a year ago, being a Tamron I never found a reason to use it, however I recently give it a try when I had to do some Bug shots- To say I was pleasantly surprised is an understatement, this lens is damn sharp - plenty good enough for my amount of macro useage, and the colours were crisp and true. What else can anyone ask from a lens.
Well done Tamron.
My only whinge the black paint job is very flaky and with the small amount of use this lens has had it looks fairly battered. So I would say its a good lens for amateur use, but I believe Pro's would hate to see their kit look so used after so little careful usage.
x-other

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 2
Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF review by x-other
Review Date: 3/6/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Sharp
Cons: Build quality, slow focus, hunting on dim light conditions

The image quality is excellent with my D200, but within 4 months I couldn't focus on infinite despite of any lack of damages on the lens or camera. The clutch focus is more facile than A/M button, but shows some lack of precision (must be a little bit rotate before switching from one mode to another).
I have to take it back from the service and I have to decide if to keep it or to add another 300 EUR for 105 VR.
I really don't know if mechanical construction and some trouble with it worth to spend some more money for almost the same image quality. I'll let you know!
grahambo

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 8
Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF review by grahambo
Review Date: 2/24/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $390.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, bokeh, handeling, cluth mechanism, logical limit switch
Cons: Old style focus mechanism (sorry D40/D60 owners), Not a zoom?

Tamron has been offering a great rebates on this lens. I got $90 back. Smile


I don't use is as much as my zooms, but when this is the right tool for the job, there is no substitute. Image quality is impeccable on my D80.


Consider carefully what length macro lens you get. At 90mm (actually longer when focused close, that's just how macro lenses work), I have to stop down a lot for depth of field. For flowers, a 50mm or 60mm might be better, but you have to be careful not to shade the subject. 90mm to 105mm is really the starting point for doing bugs and portraits. It gives a better working distance and stronger bokeh. The 90-105 lenses seem very general-purpose. For seriously chasing bugs, consider a 150 or 180 and a good flash.


Pictures with the 90mm macro on my photoblog: www.photograhambo.com/index.php?x=browse&category=21
lextalionis

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 82
Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF review by lextalionis
Review Date: 1/31/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $385.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp and good color
Cons: Lot of plastic, slow AF, no IF (trombones)

This is probably the only Tamron I will ever buy. It's a very good macro and portrait lens. Once you overcome some of its weaknesses it will serve you well at decent price.


Here are some shots taken with a Pentax K100D:


Sample Shots


Lex
rainerknappe

Registered: May 2007
Posts: 24
Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF review by rainerknappe
Review Date: 1/8/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $390.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharpness, light-weight, easy to use
Cons: too much plastic

A real brillant macro-lens. I am using the Pentax-K-mount (DSLR Pentax K 10) and the lens works really fine and giving fantastic results, even at f2.8. Strong sharpness, very good contrast, exellent bokeh.......
The construction is very solid, but there is a little bit to much plastic in. Together with the Sigma EX DG 70mm f2.8 the best macro on the market. 1000% recommended!
SETI

Registered: April 2007
Posts: 20
Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF review by SETI
Review Date: 4/26/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Lightweight, sharp, non-expensive, amazing bokeh !
Cons: chromatic aberrations, slow focus

Got it for my old D50. Great... portrait lens =))) Macro is good too, but it's 9 rounded aperture blades makes very expressive images !
It's weak point is ability to catch CAs ! I had even long correspondence with Tamron about it and they tried to tell me that it's impossible. I had change it to another and got same problems (tried it at my D200 too). So... I sold it =)
Also AF is slow... So, I can recommend it as a portrait lens with good macro included =)
italy74

Registered: April 2007
Posts: 8
Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF review by italy74
Review Date: 4/23/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $580.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great sharpness and value for money
Cons: As many other similar lenses, it doesn't keep F2.8 at closer distances

Definitely a great lens for the money paid. Optically excellent, it "pays" only the barrel extension which isn't really a problem in macro shots, rather in close portraits, where a shallow depth of field could be required. Not its problem, though, since almost all macros (except the Nikkor 105 VR and Sigma 150 F2.8) behave the same way. An inner motor could make this lens much faster in focusing. For macro, it's better working in manual focus and not choosing wider apertures than F/8 unless you are a wizard. Despite its "plasticky" finish, optically is really great and well worths the money paid. Highly recommended!
jdf

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 8
Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF review by jdf
Review Date: 1/12/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I have used this lens, in a very short time, but it did gave me great impressions, it's very light and compact. The AF is somewhat slow in comparison to a USM lens but very good.
The best is the image quality. it's superb! Very sharp wide open, to f16! A very good alternative indeed.
higly recomended.
thomiz

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 16
Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF review by thomiz
Review Date: 1/11/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp, lightweight
Cons: Not to sturdy

Excellent lense. The IQ of this lense on a DX body is wery good. I does extend to an obsene amount. I owned the earlier version (before Di) and it did not have great build quality, it was totally acceptable, but not among the best.
_Mike_D

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 12
Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF review by _Mike_D
Review Date: 1/1/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $425.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Perfect focal lenght (for my taste), Sharp, Lightweight
Cons: Purple Fringing in extreme highlights

This is a great lens. I had previously owned a sigma 105, but the sigma was just a little too much on the tele side for my taste.


The lens appears sharp across the entire frame and the images it produces are a pleasure to look at.


My only complaint is the lens seems to generate more purple fringing around extreme highlights (sun reflections and such) than my other lenses. This is almost never a problem, but it can be annoying.


Highly reccomended
mortensven

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 2
Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF review by mortensven
Review Date: 12/18/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good build, good optics
Cons: no stabilizer

I only use it occationally, but it does deliver some fine shots. For portraits and macro stuff (for which it was build), it draws superb images. If you can handle it, that is. Because it isn't exactly very well balanced on the 20D. It's too long for it's light weight, I gather. I have to use 1/180 sec exposure time or less to be sure to avoid motion (photographer's) blur. Could use my tripod, but usually can't bother logging it around. If this just had the gyro-things (Image Stabilizer), wow...But it doesn't.


In daylight situations, it is a pleasure to work with. The focus ring is nice, big and smooth. It's f/2.8 aperture delivers a bright image in the viewfinder. The recessed front element and included hood gives good protection from raindrops, dust and sunshine.


Sharpness isn't really topnotch on my specimen, but so far it hasn't given me any tension. Other optical issues: Nope, it performs brilliantly.
diamondpete

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 2
Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF review by diamondpete
Review Date: 12/17/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp, light
Cons: slow focus at times

I use this lens mostly for macro work, though occasionally for portraits as well, because it is the right focal length for portraits. It is a very sharp lens, especially for macros. Although it has a good build quality, it is light, which also argues in favor of using it for multi-purpose. I have found it to be somewhat slow in the focussing, especially in low light situations. All in all I recommend this lens.
zooomlenz

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 6
Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF review by zooomlenz
Review Date: 12/11/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $440.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp (WOW!), Did I say it was sharp?
Cons: None

Probably the best non Nikon ED or non Canon L lens I have ever used. I have no complaints on this one. A fine addition to any photographer's camera bag.
rbh8252

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 3
Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF review by rbh8252
Review Date: 11/27/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $440.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent image quality at a great price point
Cons: Noisy AF drive

I've been shooting with this lens for 5 months now and find it to be a great Macro and Portrait lens. Over all this is an excellent prime lens that is getting more use than I expected when I purchased it and have no regrets in its purchase.
planefreek22

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 2
Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF review by planefreek22
Review Date: 11/25/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $435.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: VERY sharp, focuses a lot faster than I expected
Cons: not silent, clutch

Great build and image quality. Great value too. My friend has one that he let me play around with. The only drawbacks I can see are the fact that: 1. it's loudish 2. I prefer the full time MF overide on Nikon's AF-S lenses to the clutch mechanism
Lawrence88

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 5
Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF review by Lawrence88
Review Date: 11/24/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $310.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp lens, light
Cons: Extending barrel, hunting AF in low light

The Tamron 90mm f/2.8 is a very good macro lens for the price. It is a very sharp lens and does what it's supposed to do, good color, contrast and excellent sharpness. The build quality is decent, although I am worried about the long term life of the mechanism used to switch focusing mode from auto to manual.


Most of the use of this lens should be in manual mode, as macro is about working distance. Here the lens allows very fine manual focusing as it turns around 180 degrees compared to Canon's 100mm. Its AF performance is also inconsistent in available light (room with ambient lighting), where it will keep hunting without stopping to focus. It's not a problem with a flash attached (580EX in my case).


Last thing, due to its extending barrel (about 50% of its total length), hunting bugs/live small animals could be a problem.


All in all, a very nice macro lens for the price. I highly recommend it.
julioalperi

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 15
Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF review by julioalperi
Review Date: 11/20/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $399.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Resolution,distortions,vignetting,CAs,bokeh.price.
Cons: None.

This is an excellent lens. Resolution is extremely high strait from F:2.8 ( my D200 reads 3 ),Good contrast, vignetting is very low, CAs are low and distortions are extremely low ( not visible ). Very nice bokeh.The build quality is good. I highly recommend this lens.
nikoskard

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 17
Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF review by nikoskard
Review Date: 11/14/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, True Macro, Light Weight, Price.
Cons: Feel not quite well build, extend a lot for 1:1 macro, Loudy AF mode

Very Sharp, true Macro Lens. Well Build, although, not feel like.


Not so smooth control, but defenetlly a superb IQ. Sharp from Center to Corners with high Contrast and well flare control.


The only thing i would like to have is inner focusing, especially when shoot macro life.


Highly recommended, but also have a look in Sigma 150 and Canon 100/60.
dumbo

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 3
Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF review by dumbo
Review Date: 10/25/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $540.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, Great Bokeh
Cons: Gets longer when focusing closer

This lens is super. It's sharp and have wonderful bokeh. It's light and compact.
The front lens is recessed pretty deep into the lens. This give a little less working distance, but makes the use of a lens hood (bundeled with the lens) unnecessary most of the time.
This lens has one downside, which applies on all lenses that does not have internal focusing, and that is that it becomes longer as you focus closer. No big deal IMO.
Under some extreme backlit surcumstances I've noticed a little more decrease of contrast than you normally would like. This can be used creativly also, of course. It's nice (at least sometimes) to fill the entire frame with a golden glow when the sun stands low.
I have not notices any flare yet, though.
It's not boult like a tank, but I think the bould quality is pretty good. As long as you don't use it to hammer nails when building your house it should serve you well for a long time.
Oh... And the push-pull AF/MF selector is very neat. AF is farily fast on my D70. Faster than I though it would be. I've used it so catch flying birds with good results.
wtfgary

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 1
Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF review by wtfgary
Review Date: 10/21/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, Affordable, Reasonable weight and build
Cons: Focus speed, noise of the motor

This is one hack of a great lens. I have been using for one and a half year. Yes, it is a prime but it is my favourite lens in my collection because of great sharpness, good bokah, and it's affordable price.


Bad thing is, it does extend quite a bit and make sound motor noise when it's focusing.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.