SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
7 68638 1/4/2010
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $794.29
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.29
spacerspacer
8.71
spacerspacer
8.00
1tamron200-500f5-63.jpg


Keywords: Tamron Canon Nikon Minolta Tele Zoom 35mm Di LD SP


mikekovach

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 1
Tamron 200-500mm f/5-6.3 Di LD IF SP AF review by mikekovach
Review Date: 1/4/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Excellent results from 200-500, no distortion, CA or loss of detail.
Cons: Difficult to hand hold at full extension.

I have been using this lens on a Sony A700 and have never had an issue with the quality of the images. I do wish that the lens has SSM and a much faster focus. With that said, I found for my sensor setting the ISO at 800, SS at 500-1000 and aperture between F9\F16 really improves the sharpness of the images. From my experience with this lens on the A700 ISO 800 and 1600 seems to be the best fit. On the down side the huge hood far to large, in fact, during overcast days, or if the sun is at your back using it is not necessary. I have learned to manual focus with my drive button hand since the focus ring in neat the body, make for a much quicker focus response. Also, I never shoot in modes other than A or M with this lens and I always use Spot metering. These things turn the lens and its use into a fine tool on the camera I use.
alemdar

Registered: July 2009
Posts: 2
Tamron 200-500mm f/5-6.3 Di LD IF SP AF review by alemdar
Review Date: 7/30/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $950.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Pros :
Tamron SP AF 200-500mm sharpness,contrast and colors lens.
Cons:
─░mage Stabilizers.
David Bickle

Registered: August 2008
Posts: 4
Tamron 200-500mm f/5-6.3 Di LD IF SP AF review by David Bickle
Review Date: 1/1/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $850.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: shoot wide open and pics are very usable.
Cons:

I have used this lens for about two years now on a D200. The images are sharp and very usable. This monstor is hand holdable in good light however I use a tripod or monopod when exceeding 300mm in focal length.
This is a very good lens in the price range.
Stuke

Registered: December 2007
Posts: 2
Tamron 200-500mm f/5-6.3 Di LD IF SP AF review by Stuke
Review Date: 8/7/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $880.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great quality and build, smooth rings, sharp pictures, excellent lens bag
Cons: slight looseness at lens connection on Sony A700, long with hood on

Received it today, nicely packaged, and immediately set to work taking pictures. I like the strong build, great attachment ring to my monopod, and excellent balance at that. On my Sony A700, the lens is a tiny bit loose when twisted and snapped on the camera body. This doesn't affect pictures but gives a slight uncomfortable feeling when handling the camera/lens on a stabilizer (monopod/tripod).


You need an external flash rather than the built in flash to avoid dark regions due to the lens (with and without the hood...when extended to 400+mm zoom).


Free hand, I shot sharp images out to 400mm but after that I needed to prop myself or move to a stabilizer for sharpness. At 500mm, I found I need to run with MF rather than AF; but, if I changed the AF mode to spot (rather than wide), AF worked OK.


After researching this against the Sigma 50-500mm, I'm very satisfied I chose this lens...you will be too!
buphaintr

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2
Tamron 200-500mm f/5-6.3 Di LD IF SP AF review by buphaintr
Review Date: 1/7/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $800.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very sharp 200-450. light weight
Cons: Slow AF with my Eos 20D, corner sharpness

I started dSLR two years ago as a hobby.
Telephoto is not my favorite, so Tamron 200-500 is my first and only telephoto experience. This len is also my first 3rd party len.
I got this len one week after Christmas. It is very sharp from 200 to 450. Sharpness declins at corner rapidly of the picture.
I had no chance to test outdoor since there is raining almost every weekend. I tested indoor on 5 meter s far from subject with flash on, I love the results including at 500 zoom. Handheld is perfect.
AF is slower than other my canon lens on 20D.



Before I bought this len, I decided between fixed lens (canon 300mm f/4 L and 400mm f/5.6L) and Canon 100-400L. I prefer zoom over fixed lens (even they are sharper), then after compared many reveiws between tamron and canon 100-400, I final with tamron with a cheaper and an extra zoom. Canon might sharper, but tamron is sharp enough for my test. Smile


I am really happy so far. I am waiting for an outdoor test.
zooomlenz

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 6
Tamron 200-500mm f/5-6.3 Di LD IF SP AF review by zooomlenz
Review Date: 12/11/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $879.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Light weight, Sharp, Cost
Cons: No IF

Excellent sports lens for a photographer on a budget. Extremely sharp considering it's not a Nikon ED or a Canon L lens. I've used this lens for outdoor sports mainly soccer and found it to be very manageable. The only con I have is that internal focus would be nice as when this monster is racked out completely it's a bit long. Otherwise go for it!
Powerdoc

Registered: February 2006
Posts: 7
Tamron 200-500mm f/5-6.3 Di LD IF SP AF review by Powerdoc
Review Date: 2/9/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,200.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp, well build, easy to handhold
Cons: no USM, no IS

This lens is a true alternative to the bigma. it's very sharp on both the 20 D and the 5D from 100 to 400, and it's sharp at 500, even if you need to stop down for increasing the sharpness in the corners. The maximum chromatic abberation is encountered at 500 mm, but it's not that bad.


It's well build, easy to handhold (1200 g), have a not so bad AF (but not USM). The zoom ring, and the MF ring are smooth. If you want something sharper at 500 than this zoom, you have to take a prime.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.