SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
8 20975 1/8/2007
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $185.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.43
spacerspacer
8.75
spacerspacer
9.14
1manfrotto-055pro.jpg


(From company literature) Manfrotto 055 PRO. Designed for the professional photographers, this is an extremely versatile tripod, ideal for small, medium format cameras, digital or conventional type. The tripod has a special centre column support that just as easily re-fits as a horizontal lateral arm, this allows the camera to be offset from leg position, and provides the simplest way possible to shoot from directly overhead. The incredible flexibility of the leg angle setting (90 degrees) has forced us to design a special low angle adapter that has been incorporated in the centre column. To complete the selection of accessories included a set of two leg warmers. Diameter legs in mm: 30, 25, 20. Available in silver or black.


Features:


• "Full optional" features
• Very sturdy and stable
• Broad working height range from very low to very high
• High load capacity
• Very flexible camera positioning
• Versatile product for all-round use
• World-wide spares and service back-up


Suitable For:


• SLR cameras with short and/or light fixed-length lenses
• SLR cameras with mid-long focal length lenses and zooms
• Medium format cameras
• Spotting scopes and sport optics
• Outdoor use (protected against damp/cold and easy to transport on foot)



Specifications:

  • Number of Leg Sections: 3
  • Leg Angles: 25, 43, 73, 90 degrees
  • Leg Lock Type: Flip Lever
  • Maximum Operating Height: 176 cm / 69.3 in.
  • Maximum Height w/o Column Extended: 135 cm / 53.2 in.
  • Minimum Operating Height: 11 cm / 4.3 in.
  • Folded Length: 65 cm / 25.6 in.
  • Maximum Load: 7 kg / 15.5 lbs
  • Weight: 2.4 kg / 5.3 lbs

Black version shown (055B PRO).


Keywords: Manfrotto Tripod Rapid


six100

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 10
Manfrotto 055 PRO /055B PRO review by six100
Review Date: 1/8/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $180.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sturdy and tall yet very stable. Center column can be placed horizontally.
Cons: Weight. Wont fit the same carrying handle that the MF3/MF4.

Bought this one right after using Manfrotto´s 681 monopod for a while, in search for the same usability, features and construction quality and I have to say that this tripod excelled in every one of those aspects. I found it sturdy and incredibly stable considering it´s height.


Among the greatest features I found the fact that the center column can be placed horizontally. Of course you´ll loose some stability with heavy camera/lens set-ups but 95% of the time you´ll find it enough stable.


I use this tripod mainly outdoors with a 322RC head & most of the time my camera set-up is Canon 30D (with grip) + Sigma 50-500 (totaling some 3KG+) and I have no complains about it in any aspect. I only wish it would fit the same carrying handle that comes standard with the 055MF3/MF4. That would help to mitigate the heavy weight and the incovenience of carrying it in your hands. (I found some interesting accessory though, that may solve this issue. If you own this tripod and use it outdoors you should consider it: Manfrotto´s 401N quick action tripod strap)
MattLanham

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2
Manfrotto 055 PRO /055B PRO review by MattLanham
Review Date: 1/8/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $200.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Stability, Build quality, Speed
Cons: Weight

After using a Manfrotto 190D for a few years, I decided I wanted something both more solidly built and taller.


The height is fantastic, with an attached head, I dont even need to raise the centre column to use it comfortably.


Defenitely more sturdy than the old 190 and the clip leg locks are also a lot quicker than the old twist lock ones.


Like most people the weight is the only down side, but it is something I am willing to live with since every other aspect of it is fantastic.
amolas

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 6
Manfrotto 055 PRO /055B PRO review by amolas
Review Date: 1/6/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $200.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: stability, build quality
Cons: weight, size

A great tripod if you are looking for stability and easy mounting.


Can be too big if you are planing taking it in your back for a bike trekking for example.
Ross_Alford

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 36
Manfrotto 055 PRO /055B PRO review by Ross_Alford
Review Date: 12/29/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very solid, tall extension even without center column
Cons: heavy

I have had one of these for years; it was the first high quality tripod I bought.


Extremely robust and durable construction, very solid and steady support even for very heavy camera/lens combinations.


I really like the Manfrotto system of leg locks as opposed to the rotation collars found on other brands; I find them a lot faster to operate, and when they are locked you know they really are locked.


Its main drawback is that I usually leave it at home because of its size and weight; it only comes along if (1) I know I'm likely to need a really solid tripod, and (2) I am not going to have to carry that tripod very far from a car. If both of these aren't true, I take something else, for example my Manfrotto 190, which is a lot better for carrying.
Drache

Registered: May 2006
Posts: 3
Manfrotto 055 PRO /055B PRO review by Drache
Review Date: 12/15/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $200.00| Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: Heavy

The was my first tripod and I am very happy with the purchase. The best thing about it is the horizontal center column which allows you to mount your camera of to the side of the tripod for over the head kind of shots and its good for macro work also. You can extend and retract this tripod to very low to the ground to very tall, which is good if you do all kinds of photography from macro to landscape or portrait. Its a little heavy, so i wouldn't recommend carrying it if your going on a photoshoot thats far in the woods or if you have to hike.
razorblack

Registered: February 2006
Posts: 7
Manfrotto 055 PRO /055B PRO review by razorblack
Review Date: 12/7/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $170.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: stable, rugged, tall when needed
Cons: heavy, long, hard to get to go very low

Quite heavy, but that comes in handy when actually using it. It is really straining carrying it around though. It doesn't come with a strap, but you can attach an old camera one to the purpose-made strap loops, which makes it easier to carry over the shoulder.


Although the center column is quite versatile in theory, in practice it is a very long-winded process to unscrew the bottom bit and reposition it. This is a problem most often when trying to get really low (most of the time the height of the center column is your minimum height). The relatively fine thread on that screw bit might also pose reliability problems in the long run.


It can be quite loud if extended carelessly (there's no dampening to the leg movements, so they'll slam downwards if released freely). It also tends to make an impression, as it's quite big (not a shy tripod). You'll need to take the center column off to fit it into most carry-on luggage, and even then it's a squeezed fit.


It feels very sturdy however, and you won't be worried about banging it around the place (as I have Smile ).
bfischer

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 15
Manfrotto 055 PRO /055B PRO review by bfischer
Review Date: 12/7/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $160.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: solid, excellent height, very versatile, bang for the buck
Cons: heavy, large packing size, vibration prone for some lens camera cominations

This excellent Manfrotto tripod already reaches a respectable height even without using the center column. I only extend the center column when there really is no other option because a semi or full extension adds quite an amount of susceptibility for low frequency vibrations.


I'm using it with either a Manfrotto 405 geared head or with a small ball head. The center column can be mounted horizontally like a boom arm, which is very handy for some kinds of macro work.


Unless you have a car with a trunk this tripod is not very portable. It is large and heavy and it is absolutely no device to carry for longer hiking tours.
nikoskard

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 17
Manfrotto 055 PRO /055B PRO review by nikoskard
Review Date: 11/18/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Well build, Versatile, Flexible, Good Price.
Cons: None so far

Very nice tripod, and very high "best value for money" factor.


Very happy with this purchase.


It has almost everything on it, and extends your skills with photography.


Highly recommended.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.