SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
3 9224 1/5/2007
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $250.50
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
7.50
No ratings
spacerspacer
7.50
1gitzo-g2220.jpg


(From company literature) Gitzo G2220 Explorer Tripod. The G2220 is a three-section aluminum version of the Explorer Series. Versatility is the key to this tripod. Quick to set up, rugged in construction, innovative in design, and loaded with features that offer shooting positions that would be virtually impossible with standard tripods.


Features such as ergonomically designed leg-angle-locking that allows the legs to be individually locked at any angle from 0 to 90 degrees.The Explorer also makes ground level shooting a snap with a unique shoulder-knuckle design that allows the column to be tilted 100 degrees, rotated freely through 360 degrees, and locked into any position.


The center column is fitted with an aluminum head plate with reversible 1/4-20" and 3/8" screw, plus a weight hook at the base.


Adding even more versatility to the Explorer is the G1275M and G1276M "off center" ball heads.



Specifications:

  • Finish: Gray & Black Enamel
  • Material: Anodized Aluminum
  • Column Type: Rapid
  • Head Mount: Reversible 1/4"-20 and 3/8" Screw
  • Number of Leg Sections: 3
  • Leg Lock Type: Twist
  • Foot Type: Rubber Over Stainless Steel Spike
  • Maximum Operating Height: 162.6 cm / 64 in.
  • Maximum Height w/o Column Extended: 127 cm / 50 in.
  • Minimum Operating Height: 12.7 cm / 5 in.
  • Folded Length: 63.5 cm / 25 in.
  • Maximum Load: 6 kg / 13.2 lbs
  • Weight: 2.25 kg / 4.96 lbs

Keywords: Gitzo Tripod Rapid


mebailey

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 21
Gitzo G2220 Explorer review by mebailey
Review Date: 1/5/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $225.00| Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Solid, Very adjustable, great quality
Cons: Heavy

Overall a good pod. Very well constructed, solid, good adjustments, very flexible. It does get really heavy if you have to carry it very far.
mrtim

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 3
Gitzo G2220 Explorer review by mrtim
Review Date: 12/5/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $276.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: quality tripod, swinging center column nice for macro
Cons: heavier than some, center post can get in the way

I bought this tripod, with a Kirk BH-3 ballhead, after reading lots of advice to not purchase an "inexpensive" tripod that I wouldn't be happy with. After a lot of looking around I settled on this combination as about the cheapest that would keep me happy.


After using the tripod for over a year, I think this was a fine choice. It's not as light as a carbon fiber would be, but it's quite stable and way less expensive.


Being able to adjust the leg angles independently is fantastic. I don't swing the center post all that often, but when I do it is more stable than I had expected (get an L bracket for the camera, this makes it much easier to maneuver). These two feature combined give you a very flexible platform.


I've read that some are concerned about the twist lock legs, but I got used to this very quickly.
noparallel

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 1
Gitzo G2220 Explorer review by noparallel
Review Date: 9/13/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Very adjustable, decent build quality
Cons: Shims inside the leg tubes are relatively fragile

It's not a lens so the "lens" part doesn't apply to the ratings (substitute tripod.) I shoot 50% landscapes, 20% macro, and 30% everything else. This tripod is quite stable, even in rapids. There is some transmission of vibration in rapidly moving water however so you must be mindful of your shutter speed.


Stability is paramount to me, especially in moving water, so my next purchase will be a wooden tripod because of woods superior damping qualities.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.