SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
34 225530 5/9/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
97% of reviewers $1,634.29
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.71
spacerspacer
9.44
spacerspacer
9.41
1EF70-200f28LISa.jpg


Keywords: Canon EF Tele Zoom 35mm L IS Stabilized USM Tested


hansdampf

Registered: March 2014
Posts: 5
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by hansdampf
Review Date: 5/9/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,400.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image Quality, Bokeh, Build Quality, IS
Cons: Weight, Price, Bulky Size

I don't carry many lenses for a wedding, but this thing is always in my bag. I have, like so many I suppose, thought about replacing it with primes just because they are lighter and can open even further to let in more light, but there is just no alternative to it.
The image quality is just amazing, even at f/2.8. It has IS which as for now the primes don't have. It is very versatile as it's a zoom lens (obvious, but still a point) - this replaces a 85mm, 100mm, 135mm ... you name it. So this relativates the heavy weight of this lens.
IS is a must for the zoom range and its weight. I would not be able to get sharp images under dark conditions without going to crazy ISOs.


There is a version II, yes, and it's supposed to be better but this lens has been the very best available for the last 15 years, and having a new one out there does not make this lens any worse!


Here are some real life examples and not stupid test shots of boring ducks and brick walls:


Photographe de Mariage à Genève


Photographe de Mariage à Genève


Photographe de Mariage à Genève
cputeq

Registered: January 2010
Posts: 4
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by cputeq
Review Date: 6/29/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,300.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fast, accurate AF. Sharp throughout range. Decent used pricing now.
Cons: Not as sharp as the MK II at 200mm, MFD is only decent, weight after a while.

I picked up this lens used from the FM B&S forum a couple of weeks ago. Seller had lost the tripod foot, but lens was in good condition and the price was right.


I used to own the 70-200 2.8 MK II, so I had something to compare this lens with. I have also owned the Tamron 70-200 on Sony A77, the Sigma 70-200 HSM II Macro on a D7000, and a Pentax 50-135mm on a K20D. I also owned, for a very short while, the Nikon 70-200 VR I on a D300. Needless to say, I'm not a complete newbie to this range of lens.


Build quality of the Canon is very good, AF is fast even with my 5D Mark 2. I haven't tried it on a better-performing AF body.


OS is very good, not as good as the MK II version, but still very good, and I easily hit 1/60s exposures at 200mm.


Image quality is very good, though not as sharp as a MK II wide open (that lens is simply unreal). Still, it's not like the MK II makes this lens BAD - this lens is still very good and can be found used for a good price.


The only minor complaints I have of this lens is that at 200mm and f/2.8, it's not tack-sharp. I might need to use FoCAL on my setup to see if it requires MA, but it's known to be a bit less sharp at this setting and SLRGear's tests confirm this. Still sharp enough for most people's usage (and sharpens up nicely in post), but I wouldn't attempt to use a TC with this lens.


Still, the results at 200mm are still SHARP, just not eye-bleedingly so.


Weight is something to consider if you don't like heavy lenses - after a while, this lens starts to make its presence felt.


Overall, a great buy on the used market, and I'd rather have this lens than the Sigma OS variant.
Ashley_Pomeroy

Registered: July 2009
Posts: 6
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by Ashley_Pomeroy
Review Date: 10/21/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Solid; consistent image quality; extremely practical
Cons: Heavy; huge; awkward tripod foot

I've had one of these for a while. As of 2011 it still costs a fortune on the used market, but it's very good at what it does, and although there are compromises they are overwhelmed by the sheer practicality of the thing. It was sickeningly painful handing over the cash for it - the same money will buy a used 85mm f/1.2, or a brand-new non-stabilised 70-200mm f/2.8, for example, and that's a tough choice - but and but and and etc. Man up, hand over the cash, take the blow.


A few competing lenses have slightly better image quality (Tamron makes a very nice 70-200mm f/2.8, for half the price) but none of them have the same combination of dependably accurate autofocus, solid image stabilisation, and excellent build quality. Canon's quality control often comes in for some stick, but centring defects and focus faults seem to be far, far more common with the competition.


On my 5D MkII I have no problem with central sharpness at f/2.8 at all focal lengths. At 200mm it's a tiny little bit soft, by a trivial amount that does not bother me. The corners lag behind (the extremes never seem to become 100% sharp) but they're usually outside the plane of focus anyway. In all other respects - distortion, CA, bokeh, falloff, etc - I have no problem with the lens.


No, I have one problem. The minimum focus distance is a bit long. It's about one and a half metres, and limits my ability on a full-frame body to get tight on faces. Two problems, the tripod foot gets in the way and it's not large enough to use as a handhold (and if I remove it, there's an exposed screw). The reversed hood blocks the switches.


With the hood on it's very conspicuous. The f/4 lenses and the older 80-200mm f/2.8 have plain, bowl-shaped hoods that are emotionally neutral; the f/2.8 models used a spiky, shark-like hood that has an intimidating look. With the hood off the lens is less huge than it appears in photos. You may, or may not like the attention it gets you. Actual pro photographers will peg you as an amateur straightaway, because it's not the MkII. Ordinary people will peg you as an ambulance-chasing paparazzi or, worse, an American tourist.


Historically this was the top of Canon's tree, the quintessential general-purpose photojournalist telephoto lens throughout most of the 2000s; an actual bona fide professional lens used by real professionals. Like most professional products it's essentially a mass of compromises raised to a high level. For less money a 135mm f/2 will give you superior image quality, but only at 135mm.


Nowadays it has been overshadowed by the MkII, which is optically superior and has a more advanced stabilisation system. Based on the plots here the f/4 lenses are similar across the shared aperture range, although they apparently have slightly inferior bokeh. I wanted f/2.8.


Oh yes, unusually for Canon you get some accessories. The hood, which costs £50 separately or £7.50 for an eBay clone, and a bag which is actually not bad. And the caps.
tanglefoot47

Registered: January 2009
Posts: 2
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by tanglefoot47
Review Date: 2/13/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,560.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast, accurate, IS, color, contrast
Cons: Maybe heavy

Love this lens I have owned all and this one is my favorite. I have swapped with the 2.8 non IS several times but every time I do this I want the 2.8 IS again. Now I ahve it again and really need to keep it
Badmono

Registered: August 2008
Posts: 15
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by Badmono
Review Date: 8/22/2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 2 

 
Pros: It's a Zoom
Cons: Poor IQ - expensive - Very Very overated

I was expecting so much from this lens, everyone I'd spoken to rated it highly, possibly I had a bad one, But I can only comment on my lens, it was very poor for IQ - Sharpness was non existant, and the weight was excessive, in comparison to my excellent but old canon 70-300EF which cost only 10% of the 70-200 IS L.
I quickly sold the lens, and bought 2 primes with the proceeds - 135 F2 and 200 F2.8, both of which restored my faith in the Canon lenses.
Clearly the 70-200 F2.8 'L' doesn't deserve the 'L' moniker IMO - buy a normal EF70-300 and save yourself a lot of greenstuff, or spend the money you save on either or both of the 135F2 & 200 F2.8 'L's' which have real IQ in them
Rover

Registered: July 2008
Posts: 13
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by Rover
Review Date: 7/28/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,800.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: build, stabilization, image quality, pretty much everything
Cons: weight, color of the barrel

This is the ultimate tele lens in the Canon lineup... bla bla... to put it short, this lens absolutely friggin' rules.


And although my primary lens is a wide angle I can't help but marvel the image quality of this optic whenever I put it on. High max aperture is a must for me as well since I'm an "available light" nutter, and I got what I wanted with this lens. Indoor concerts, portraits or outdoor events - it's all no problem for this baby.


The stabilizer does help out a lot in either dark rooms or at night. Guess I'm a bit spoiled by it because I moved from Minolta where it's body integrated but I just adore it. Even though I have no problem with non-stabilized optics (such as the puny 18-55mm/3.5-5.6 kit) it's a huge asset and to me, well worth the extra money I had to spend on it.


When I hold it, I get the impression of handling a tank gun. That's actually both a PRO (it's tough like nails) and CON (I never thought that I'd be the one to complain about weight... but using it all day does put a strain on me). Last (and least) it's an attention grabber with its white finish.
lextalionis

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 82
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by lextalionis
Review Date: 1/24/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,500.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Probably the most useful lens in my bag!
Cons: Twice the mass as the f/4...but worth every ounce!

Great lens...but you do have to spend some $$ for it! Here are some sample photos:


Sample Photos


-Lex
sivrajbm

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 12
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by sivrajbm
Review Date: 11/7/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,474.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fast, sharp, beautiful bokem, IS
Cons: Not black, price

The only reason for the 9 rating is I've had several soft copies of this lens. My Sigma 70-200/2.8 was sharp out of the box, it was better than every other copy of this lensI had gotten until this one. Finally I'm a happy camper. The only reason I kept trying is for the IS, I do weddings and events sometimes if I wasn't very careful I would get soft blurring. I really like this lens, hate the price. I finally see what others have said about this lens. My only problem is now I need to sell my beloved Sigma. The King is dead, long live the King.
touristguy87

Registered: July 2007
Posts: 36
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by touristguy87
Review Date: 9/6/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp, fast, good IS
Cons: cost and weight but what can you say? :)

Just about as transparent of a lens as I have ever had on my 400D. Long and strong. I rented it from a local store, I intended to get the F4 but they only had the F2.8. What a deal, $100 for a week. I would never actually buy one, it's just too long and too heavy for GP use, but it is fun to shoot.
paralou

Registered: April 2007
Posts: 1
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by paralou
Review Date: 8/13/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,499.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent
Cons: NO so far...

I'm an old Nikonist but since I use Canon EOS 5D with several lenses, I'm in the heaven !


As a mana
buller

Registered: June 2007
Posts: 1
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by buller
Review Date: 6/22/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast focusing, razor sharp images, f/2.8, great handling and built, IS is superb.
Cons: expensive

I am VERY satisfied with this quality zoom. I have tried all the Canon 70-200 zooms, but at last I chose to buy the the 70-200 f/2.8L IS, because i liked it most. The zoom lens is well balanced on the camera and handling is just great. I don´t feel it´s heavy at all. The weight gives quality feel and makes it easier hold steady and get sharp pics. It is sharp thoughout range with great colour rendition. It is a very versatile zoom and the results are always superb.
I can only recommend this lens very highly!
JGLarson

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 6
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by JGLarson
Review Date: 1/13/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,650.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great Sharpness, fast aperture, the IS works AMAZINGLY well
Cons: Not a light, little lens. Causes attention because of it's size, even when unwanted

This lens was one of the first lenses that I got when I switched from Nikon/Fuji to Canon 1.5 years ago. I had always wanted a IS version when I had the Nikon 80-200mm f/2.8, so I was determined to get it when I switched ( getting the tripod collar was an added bonus compared to my older Nikkor). While it wasn't cheap, I am very glad I got IS. I have hand held this lens in places I wouldn't have dreamed of without it.


This lens is one of my 3 main workhorse lenses.


Resolution is supurb at all focal lengths, and very good wide open. Flair control is excellent also. I try to stop down any lens, and the IS helps to balance aperture with hand holdability. Add the Canon 2x teleconverter and you have a very portable and reasonably sharp 400mm Tele lens combo.


The only 2 down-sides of the lens are it's size/weight, and the sometimes unwanted attention that it commands from people because it's big and professional looking.
amk

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 6
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by amk
Review Date: 1/10/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,599.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: SHARP! Great contrast, nice bokeh, and the colors are stunning...
Cons: A bit heavy, but what did you expect?

This lens is a serious workhorse. It spits out great looking images without too much effort. The IS works well and the AF is dead on almost every time. I wouldn't say this is a real "walk-around" lens, but I personally don't mind it.


Comes with all the essentials, which is more than I can say about some other Canon lenses. Come on Canon! Include the hood and tripod collar with all your lenses like you do with this one!
eosphoros

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by eosphoros
Review Date: 1/9/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,725.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fast focus. Great contrast, color, and sharpness.
Cons: None. But it is heavy.

The reputation of this lens is well-deserved. The focus is fast and accurate. I use it to shoot motosports inside in low light and get great results of bikes flying out of the corner; I swear you can see the color of the rider's eyes under their helmet's shield. I had some initial problems with the chip and it took Canon two shots to get it right but to their favor they made it right.
kzr63g

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 6
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by kzr63g
Review Date: 1/9/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,700.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp even with 1.4TC, build quality
Cons: heavy, cost

This is the sharpest lens I have.
Very good also with 1.4TC
I have used it alot on guinea pig shows and there F2.8 is essential.
IS is very useful.
VERY satisfied.
Lee Jay

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 16
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by Lee Jay
Review Date: 1/7/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,700.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great optics, great IS, great range, great flexibility
Cons: Cost, size

My most flexible lens. I use it with stacked 1.4x TCs on a 1.6 crop camera at airshows, and on full-frame at events and for portraits. I can't say anything bad about it, it's just a fantasic lens in every way.
garys

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 12
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by garys
Review Date: 1/1/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,700.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: excellent image quality, image stabilization, fast speed, versatility, weather sealing
Cons: large size and weight, high cost

(on a full frame camera)Resolution is outstanding at 70mm even into the corners and deteriorates only slightly at 200. Fast focusing with a high percentage of "keepers". I like its color and saturation. It has been my intoduction to is, and I have been very happy with the results usually using the lens without the tripod mount. Produces good portraits, candid views, as well as shots for sports events and other moderate telephoto uses. Highly recommended and something you wouldn't want to be without.
Matthew Saville

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 21
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by Matthew Saville
Review Date: 12/29/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build quality, fast apeture, stabilization, sharpness
Cons: price, but well worht it!

If you're going to get a 70-200mm L lens from Canon, you really will be doing yourself a favor if you "go all the way" and get this lens. Unless you truly don't need the stabilization, in which case you can get the non-IS version for a few hundred dollars less.


But shooting with it on a 20D, I am stunned, seriously. It's almost as if the AF is faster than my own eyes could be. And the sharpness is pretty much the best you could wish for, all across the board. Feel free to shoot wide open! I wish I could permanently add this lens to my collection.


-Matt-
logogogue

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 10
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by logogogue
Review Date: 12/27/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,500.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: quality, construction, speed, IS, fast
Cons: WEIGHT, cost.

One of Canon's flagship units. The lens isn't a walk around unit and requires some commitment to lug around. But if you are willing, as others have expounded, it is so worth it. The quality of the image is second to none and have had some extremely pleasing color and sharpness in my images compared to other zoom lenses I have owned. If you are willing to travel with a backpack, it should never stay at home. While you are at it, take a tripod with you.
jcctx

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 4
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by jcctx
Review Date: 12/22/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,649.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: speed, optics
Cons: weight

Love this lens, stabilization works great! Just wish it was a little lighter.
photo Art

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 3
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by photo Art
Review Date: 12/18/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,950.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Build, IS,2.8
Cons: focus at times and 2.8 at 70-100

I have owned the lens for 6 months. The build quality is next to none. Slightly heavy I find, but the befits of IS outweighs the 70-200 F4 (nonIS) that I previously owned. Focus is fast in good light. I find it sometimes misses in less than good light. Mine has been back for calibration, but still front focuses a bit mainly at 2.8 between 70-100. 2.8 is softer at the long end than what I expected from the reviews I had read. It is usable, but is a bit soft. Others say theirs is sharp wide open. The IS works very good and is the main benefit of this lens. Stopped down a bit, it is very sharp at all apertures and is really an excellent pro lens in every respect. Flare and CA is non-existent in most applicatins. Many like this lens for portraits, and I agree. The colour and bokeh is so nice. If you don't need 2.8, the new 70-200 F4L IS is a lens to consider, it's cheaper, lighter and reportedly a touch sharper and has a 4 stop advantage with IS vs 3 stop with the 2.8 IS. The 2.8 non IS is slightly sharper, but not on digital, only on film when scanned. Many have reported it is sharper noticeably, but I haven't seen any direct evidence of this. All in all, a great lens if you can get a good copy, and need the 2.8.
zooomlenz

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 6
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by zooomlenz
Review Date: 12/11/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, IS, IF, Construction
Cons: Size, Cost

Not much to say that the other haven't said. This is an expensive, heavy instrument gray monster that will draw attention wherever you go. You aren't going to blend into the crowd with this baby unless you are part of the white house press corps. A travel lens NO, carry it around all day? Only if you get a membership to a gym. Seriously the 70-200 L IS can be consider one of the best lens' ever made from the Canon side of the fence. So in conclusion, got $1600 and some strong arms plus a strong neck? Then this is your lens.
photogjack

Registered: July 2006
Posts: 9
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by photogjack
Review Date: 12/8/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,600.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: useful zoom range, sharp, image stabilization
Cons: size, weight, price

I have a love hate relationship with this lens and ultimately the hate side prevailed. Well hate is a bit strong. This lens is very sharp, focuses very fast and I think Image Stabilization is the best thing since sliced bread. For spot news, sports and that sort of work it is indispensable. But it is HUGE, very heavy and expensive. I stopped using mine and switched to the 200 2.8 L because the prime is smaller and lighter. I give this a 10 for IQ and build quality but an 8 overall because it is just too big and heavy to carry around all day. jack
bbrat

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 3
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by bbrat
Review Date: 11/29/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IS, 2.8 throughout, build, weathersealed, image quality
Cons: maybe the weight and color of the lens for some? draws attention??

this lens is my favorite to shoot with. everything about it i love! the weight doesnt seem to be an issue for me, actually i feel the heavier a lens the easier it is for me to keep steady and balance better. 2.8 through out is great and if i add a TC 1.4x its still a F/4. focus is fast and silient. of course IS helps too, but low light and fast action this lens is the one.
AHAB

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 8
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by AHAB
Review Date: 11/27/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Crisp, sharp images
Cons: None

Best zoom I have.
I use this for portraits, excellent for when I have kids zooming around and a prime (me) can't keep up with the little buggers!
Produses excellent images, and is fun to use.
Also use this at weddings when there is enough light.
Excellent images.
I would buy this zoom again with no hesitation!
AHAb
henris

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 8
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by henris
Review Date: 11/25/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,599.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: IS, fast 2.8, good for sports and my marching band
Cons: I am sometimes wishing for more range, price

I've always wanted this lens, and bought it last month. Terrific quality! Great wide open, and even better after stopping down. I wish I had bought this earlier!


I've taken great shots of my marching band under stadium lighting, and they turned out fantastic.


I owned a 70-200 f/4 in the past, and hardly used it. Now, I use the 2.8IS all the time. IS lenses spoil me!
cjbowlsby

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 17
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by cjbowlsby
Review Date: 11/21/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,700.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Optical quality, speed and acuracy of focus, IS, build quality, and brightness
Cons: Wife won't give it back :)

Shooting weddings sporadically for the last 3 years, I've been renting this lens, but I finally decided to purchase it this summer.


It's the perfect focal length for indoor candids & portraits. The combination of open aperture & telephoto provide beatiful selective focus. Even in a relatively dim light, the IS & bright 2.8 aperture allow for shots without strobes.


It is large and white, which kind of makes you stand out conspicuously for candids, but the telephoto capabilities compensate for that.


Of course, now my second shooter/assistant/life-partner thinks it's hers, so I might just have to get another one Smile
Ksuji

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 2
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by Ksuji
Review Date: 11/14/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great zoom with 1.6 crop bodies, fast focusing, not that heavy
Cons:

This is one of the lens my university's newspaper owns. I attend St. John's Univ. in NYC and we're a Division I school. I get to use this as a photographer for the Torch, our school paper. It's fast and not too heavy, fast enough and the 2.8 is a must for sports such as soccer.
tukaway

Registered: March 2006
Posts: 6
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by tukaway
Review Date: 3/21/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,590.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Exceptionally sharp and responsive lens, rapid focus, image stabilizer
Cons: weight and long minimum focus distance

To get a long zoom with a wide constant aperture, weight is to be expected. And you'll grumble about that weight only until you see the results. Shots take post-processing well but require almost none. For someone like me who does a lot of candids and thus feels constrained by tripods, the benefit of Image Stabilization is hard to overstate.


Sharpness is consistently excellent even at f2.8. Colors and bokeh couldn't be better. This is my favorite lens for portraits, hands down.
myedor

Registered: January 2006
Posts: 2
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by myedor
Review Date: 1/24/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,700.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: One of the hands down best lenses ever built! Did I mention this is a great lens?
Cons: see the "Pros" section

Indispensible for sports, PJ, and studio work. Yes it weighs over #3 but the optics make up for that. The image stabilizer is insane 1/15 at 200mm no problem. It fully eliminates the need for primes in the focal range. I LOVE THIS LENS!!!
jyli19

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 7
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by jyli19
Review Date: 11/3/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,520.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superb image quality, built quality, super fast focus, IS function
Cons: large, heavy

Best zoom lens ever made.
andrewc

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 3
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by andrewc
Review Date: 10/22/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,695.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: SHARP! fast autofocus, excellent IS, superior performance all around.
Cons: heavy and expensive, but worth every penny and ounce.

This is a stellar lens! The sharpness is truly impressive as is the overall performance of the lens. Color and contrast are excellent, excellent bokeh. I find that it's useful in so many different situations from sports to portraits, as well as a lot of landscape applications. Mated to my 20D it's perfect!
photopilot377

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 5
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by photopilot377
Review Date: 10/20/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,450.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Super Sharp, fast, Image Stabilization
Cons: Big & not light weight

It is an excellent lens! I really appreciate the IS, have handheld as slow as 1/30th with very good quality. If I could change anything, it would be to make it smaller & less weight, but keep everything else about it!
Anakin

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 5
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM review by Anakin
Review Date: 10/20/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,400.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very fast, very sharp , construction quality,
Cons: heavy (but it depends on your arms)

for me, it's the best Canon zoom
the construction is perfect,
AF very very fast, it's like a formula 1 !!
and the image quality is the same as equivalent prime lenses.


I use this lens for sport photos, and reportage. It's a "must have".


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.