SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
13 65910 6/30/2009
Recommended By Average Purchase
92% of reviewers $300.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
7.31
spacerspacer
7.62
spacerspacer
7.77
1EF24-85f35-45a.jpg


Keywords: Canon EF Wide Mid Tele Zoom 35mm USM


alex1962

Registered: June 2009
Posts: 2
Canon EF 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5 USM review by alex1962
Review Date: 6/30/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $150.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, price
Cons: non IS

A very good lens.
climber

Registered: April 2009
Posts: 11
Canon EF 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5 USM review by climber
Review Date: 4/21/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: USM, good image quality on APS-C, lightweight
Cons: CA, distortion, slow

A nice beginner lens with good IQ, USM and lightweight.
peddr

Registered: April 2009
Posts: 1
Canon EF 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5 USM review by peddr
Review Date: 4/13/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $150.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Lightweight, fast and quiet focus. Preety decent range for walk around lens.
Cons: Noa afst lens...no IS

Pretty decent quality. Versatile. Good range. Not as good as the 24-105, but not that much difference. On the plus side it is MUCH lighter and can be had on eBay for little money.
Wojtek

Registered: February 2009
Posts: 8
Canon EF 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5 USM review by Wojtek
Review Date: 2/17/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Small, light, inexpensive and sharp
Cons: Low contrast at wide open apertures

It is quite sharp, with relatively low distortions but only in 'standard' DSLRs. Low contrast causes impression of less sharpness than it really is. Significant distortions at the edges of full frame cameras. You can see the test results on http://pikespeakphoto.com/tests/canonlens24-85.htm. Very good choice for cameras with APS-C sensors, if lower contrast does not bother you.
louisjaffe

Registered: April 2006
Posts: 6
Canon EF 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5 USM review by louisjaffe
Review Date: 12/3/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $350.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: light, compact, quick focusing, sharp
Cons: limited zoom range, geometric distortion

I purchased the lens over six years ago to use with my first DSLR, the Canon D30 (3 megapixel). Have continued to use it with a succession of Canon bodies. Am still using it with a Canon 5d.


I purchased a Canon 24-105 f4L lens to use with the 5d. On comparison it was very little better than the 24-85, which is smaller, lighter, and 1/3 the price. The 24-105 was slightly sharper wide open at the edges of the full frame, but I found no advantage in center sharpness, and the 24-85 cleaned up nicely when stopped down. It also held up contrast-wise. I didn't compare for chromatic aberration.


Decided to stick with the 24-85, and returned the 24-105 for a refund. Am just getting the 5d mkII. I'll be surprised if the 24-85 is sharp enough for the added pixels. But this lens has surprised me before.
onlyone

Registered: May 2008
Posts: 8
Canon EF 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5 USM review by onlyone
Review Date: 5/31/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $350.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Portable , Useful range , Good image quality ( f/8 is recommended)
Cons: Lens slip (I don't know it's just mine or not) , AF doesn't well in low light

One of my favorite lens. Image quality impress me (in range 50-85 is well enough) even in the wide apeture (but f/8 is recommended).


In 24-50 has a little distortion and some CA but accepatable.


Only problem that I dislike is len's slip, for mine, in range 24-50 often slip when put it in vertical direction.


In this cost, for Canon, it has Sigma 24-70 f2.8 as alternative, I've used it too and I thought that pay little more money and get 2.8 apeture wide along range might be a better idea.


However, I love this len and still keep it even I have many more lens (in this range also).
carskick

Registered: August 2007
Posts: 3
Canon EF 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5 USM review by carskick
Review Date: 8/29/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $170.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Amazing Contrast, Consistently good IQ throughout range, Compact
Cons: Wide open is pretty good, but 1 stop down is much better

This lens is older, and was probably originally designed as a mid-priced widezoom, but I find it has a nice home as an outdoor lens on my 20D. My primary walk-around lens is a Tamron 17-50 F2.8 which is awesome except it can be a bit short outside. Well, often I want some available extra reach without going full blown tele, so I got this lens.


I bought it expecting it to be a little soft wide open, but it was actually better than I thought it would be based on the reviews I've read. However, this lens really shows it's stuff between F5.6-11, where while not natively razor sharp, it captures excellent color and contrast throughout the range, and sharpens nicely in PP or if you boost in camera sharpness.


This was also my first USM AF lens, and I really enjoy it, though this is an older USM design, and isn't as smooth as some of the newer ones, and does have a little play in the ring, but isn't a deal breaker. There is some wobble in the barrel, but only if forced, it doesn't wobble while in normal use. Due to the compact nature of this lens, the zoom and focus rings are small, but just large enough to not be bothersome.


In all honesty from the tests I've seen and comparing my lens to others, this lens is not that far behind a Canon 24-105 F4L. The aperture is similar, though it doesn't have IS and it's shorter, it is a lot lighter and less expensive. On a 1.6x body, it has no significant vingetting or CA, and the contrast is approaching L grade even near wide open.


This lens is a diamond in the rough, which is nice, as it is found for about half new price on ebay as I did, and the results are very good.


This is an excellent first lens or kit replacement if you shoot mostly outdoors. Some say it is not wide enough for a walk around on a 1.6x body, but I beg to differ, especially if you have a dedicated wide angle such as the Canon 10-22. Indoors, it is better to have a F2.8 lens, but this is still much better than kit indoors, except for it's less wide stance. However, 85mm F4.5 will allow you to dabble with portraiture.


I think this lens would also be excellent for a travel/walkaround on a 1.3x camera.


While this is by no means a perfect lens, I think it is a great lens for just about any Canon body, though it's usage might be different depending on what you strap it on.



Update: After spending even more time with this lens, my opinion is fairly consistent. The main flaw of this lens is the build quality, which could have been so much tighter. The materials are fine, but the play in the barrel and rings are more on par for a low end lens, not a medium end lens.
minute

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 3
Canon EF 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5 USM review by minute
Review Date: 12/14/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Small, light, excellent zoom range for both full-frame and cropped digital
Cons: Soft corners at wide aperture, some flare problems, zoom creep

I bought this lens to use on an EOS film camera but I am now also using it on a 400D.


On a full-frame camera it makes in my opinion the best walk-around zoom you can buy if you don't have the cash or muscle for the 24-70L. It's light, it's got a very flexible range (I love 24mm), USM and the image quality is very good.


On a digital camera it still makes a useful 37-135mm general purpose lens and I use it almost daily.


I noticed softer corners at wide apertures on 35mm slides, especially towards the wide angle, but to be frank these were not real situations - most of the time at wide angle one has to stop down a bit to get appropriate DOF. It also shows a bit of flare/lost contrast when shooting against the light - probably due to the wider glass elements.


Build-wise there is some zoom creep if pointed downwards - wish it was a bit more damped. Also, I wish the zoom turn would be a bit longer, it takes a very small rotation to go from 24mm to 35mm for instance.


Otherwise it's a lens I highly recommend and I certainly advise against the 28-105 alternative which is less useful if you are contemplating a crop-sensor digital camera.
tvoj

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 6
Canon EF 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5 USM review by tvoj
Review Date: 12/8/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Good range, not too expensive, compact, decent construction, quiet/fast/accurrate AF operation
Cons: Definitely not well-sealed, sometimes a little soft, flare/blooming is an issue with my 30d

I originally bought this lens for my EOS film body. It went nice and wide, back then.


Now on my 1.6x crop digital, it's one of my most-used lenses because the range is pretty good for general use.


It can be a bit soft at times. Contrast/color are OK, but don't really pop out at you.



One thing I've noticed is that flare or blooming effects are pronouned on digital in more extreme/contrasty lighting situations. It's totally apparant with point light sources that are near/on axis with the lens.


This seems to be an interaction with the UV filter I have on the front of the lens. Removing the filter moderates the effect. I haven't tried a multicoated filter, which could help. But I've never seen this extreme effect with filters in front of my other lenses.


This lens got sand or dirt inside within weeks of purchase - I had to send it back to Canon for cleaning.
Michael LV

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 3
Canon EF 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5 USM review by Michael LV
Review Date: 12/6/2006 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $340.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Fairly light, sharp at F#8.0
Cons: Built quality, low res. at open apertures, Zoom ring does not hold position

I used this Lens as universal Lens for for my Canon Elan and for Canon XT
It is a bit softer than I need. It makes sharp images with good color and contrast at apertures around f8.0.
Zoom ring does not hold position and front of the Lens "pulled' out while carried on camera. Need a better seal.
gadgetguy

Registered: May 2006
Posts: 62
Canon EF 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5 USM review by gadgetguy
Review Date: 12/3/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: great range for full-frame; nice color and contrast; reasonalbe price
Cons: none, except for unusual 67mm filter size

As a nice, light zoom for a full-frame camera, this is almost ideal. You get 24mm (wide!) and 85mm (perfect for portraits). It's also reasonably well contrsucted and gives good color and contrast.


Sure, it's not an L but for what you pay, you get close enough - price differnce considred. It's also quite good looking!
pz

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 8
Canon EF 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5 USM review by pz
Review Date: 11/17/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: for its price it is a very good lens
Cons: 24 mm is not ideal for a digital body

On my 300D it was a very good objective, I used it a lot, I liked it.
David Hay

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 8
Canon EF 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5 USM review by David Hay
Review Date: 11/16/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $490.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Light, fairly cheap, good performance.
Cons: Sometimes fails to focus first time at the wide-angle setting.

This is a very useful zoom range on a full frame camera. The difference between 28 and 24 mm is well worth having. Focus is usually fast and quiet but it seems to fail to focus first time at the wide-angle setting more often than other full time USM lenses I have.


Image quality is quite good for the price. A friend does weddings with his one despite it not being an L-series lens. Distortion is quite well controlled.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.