SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
7 10184 1/15/2007
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $35.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.25
spacerspacer
8.00
spacerspacer
8.50
1manfrotto-676b.jpg


(From company literature) Manfrotto 676B Digi Monopod. What's even more compact, even lighter, even quicker to set up than a DIGI tripod? A DIGI monopod! When you don't need the total "hands-free" support of a tripod, a monopod is a convenient shoulder to lean on. A Four section, lightweight monopod with rapid action extension locks for compact spotting scopes. 1/4"-20 fixing screw. Specifications:
  • Material: Black Anodized Aluminum
  • Number of Leg Sections: 4
  • Leg Lock Type: Flip Lever
  • Mount: 1/4"-20 Screw
  • Maximum Height: 153.9 cm / 60.6 in.
  • Minimum Height: 48 cm / 18.9 in.
  • Maximum Load: 4.54 kg / 10 lbs
  • Weight: 0.4 kg / 0.88 lb
Keywords: Manfrotto Monopod


TorontoJim

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 3
Manfrotto 676B Digi review by TorontoJim
Review Date: 1/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $35.00| Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Lightest + sturdiest in its class, short collapsed length
Cons: ratchets require too much tension for the diameter of the pole, foot peg is fixed

This is a very good travel monopod or when weight is an important concern. I travelled around the world with it, strapped to the outside of my backpack, and at 400g, it was barely noticeable on my shoulders. As for the type of head to use, it would be up to what you already have or prefer to use.


Pros:
- Foam grip is welcome on cold days. Trust me, holding your had to a cold piece of aluminum on a frosty morning is not pleasing.
- 4 sections extend to a height suitable for someone up to 6-1/2'. The extended length is important as you don't want to find yourself crouching down all the time with a shorter monopod.
- 5-sided flat walled aluminum material is very, very strong and is nearly impossible to dent, which would affect it's collapsibility.
- Price for a sturdy monopod is average to good.
- Once extended and locked, the rigidity is quite good. It is not rock solid like it's bigger siblings, but this is expected for something so compact and lightweight.


Cons:
- The ratchet style locking mechanisms work well closing down, but trying to flip them open are sometimes awkward, requiring me to brace the monopod with my legs (my other hand is holding the camera). It is awkward because the diameter of the tubing is too small to wrap my hands around it and hold it firmly while flipping open the clasps. Is this a design fault? No, since it's supposed to be a small monopod. I would have preferred twist-style mechanisms for this model.
- The foot is fixed to the last section, so buying an optional foot with a spike or a ball-action is not possible. That's shortsightedness by Manfrotto, in my opinion, because they assumed that someone using this would not appreciate this functionality, yet they provide it for all their other models. It will be up to you if this is a critical factor - depending on where you will be using your monopod. If your shooting nature or standing on uneven surfaces, then this may be important to think about.


To sum up, this is a traveller's monopod. The weight and size of my other regular monopod simply means that I wouldn't take it with me on those occasions where this one comes along conveniently. For the price, it will be great for making those early morning and dusk shots that much nicer.
silverbluemx

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 16
Manfrotto 676B Digi review by silverbluemx
Review Date: 1/14/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Light, easy to use, not too expensive.
Cons: None

I own a tripod and borrowed this monopod to a friend when I wanted to shoot events with more mobility.
It has a high quality for the price, and a monopod really helped me.
With a weight of 400g, it is light enough.
A good quality low-price monopod!
rcoder

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 6
Manfrotto 676B Digi review by rcoder
Review Date: 1/14/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $35.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: light, compact, affordable
Cons: no ability to shoot in portrait orientation

I've used this monopod to shoot weddings and social gatherings, both for the 1-2 extra stops of stability, and to give my arms at least a brief respite from the weight of camera + flash + lens during all-day shoots. It's relatively quick to extend and collapse, and light enough to not make the whole kit too difficult to lug around. Construction quality also seems quite good, especially considering the price.


Unfortunately, without investing in a ball head, (which would likely cost more than the monopod itself) it pretty much locks you into "landscape" orientation for all your shots. (Not that this is unique to this monopod design, of course.)


In short, if you want a little bit more stability for event or sports photography, and need to be more mobile than a tripod allows, this little 'pod might be just the ticket.
cottontop

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 8
Manfrotto 676B Digi review by cottontop
Review Date: 12/23/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

This monopod gets the job done. Both grab shots with a digicam, or panned action shots with a (too-heavy-to-hold-long) AFS 80-200mm f2.8 zoom on a D200.


In this part of the country, tripods on the sidelines at sporting events are considered a danger to the athletes , and are increasingly prohibited.


A Bogen 3229 adapter for Bogen 3157N QR plates remains on the monopod for use with the P&S


A screw-on Kirk "Bogen-to-ArcaSwiss" adapter is on top of that for either the dSLR L-plate (RRS) or the Arca-Swiss Kirk Replacement collar on the 80-200mm zoom
gadgetguy

Registered: May 2006
Posts: 62
Manfrotto 676B Digi review by gadgetguy
Review Date: 12/6/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 0 

 
Pros: lightweight, cheap
Cons:

Good lightweight monopod for giving your arms just a little more stability (especially with those long lenses!).
Tomti75

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 13
Manfrotto 676B Digi review by Tomti75
Review Date: 12/5/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Lighweight, cheap, well built
Cons:

I used this monopod a lot in SLR days for surf / windsurf shooting.


It's very lightweight and makes it really easy to move when changing your point of view, when you would be more stuck to your place with a big heavy tripod.


It is now completely eaten by salt and sand, and I can't extend it anymore... but I really wouldn't blame it for that...
nikoskard

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 17
Manfrotto 676B Digi review by nikoskard
Review Date: 11/18/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: LightWeight, Nice price for manfrotto, easy to use.
Cons:

Nice monopod, and easy to carry.


I use it with 234 RC2 head, witch has the same quick release mechanism, as 488RC2. So i don't have to change plate every time i want to use any of monopod/tripod.


Recommended, for small to medium comb lens/camera.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.