SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
5 11608 1/15/2007
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $73.20
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.00
spacerspacer
8.75
spacerspacer
8.25
1manfrotto-486rc2.jpg


(From company literature) Manfrotto 486 Compact Ball Head with RC2 Rapid Connect System. Same as the 486 but equipped with a 3157N quick-release camera plate. The 486RC2 is a direct replacement of the 3413QR and 3055S Pro Ball and Heavy-Duty Double Action Ball Heads.


A strong die-cast construction, precision machined aluminum housing, and an extremely hard phenolic resin ball provides smooth movements across all tilt positions.


The 486RC2 features a single ratchet locking knob for 360 degree pan and a double groove for -90 to +90 degree tilt movements. Camera plate has a 1/4"-20 male thread, and head to tripod attachment is 3/8" female.



Specifications:

  • Finish: Black
  • Pan: 360 degrees
  • Tilt: -90 to +90 degrees
  • Quick Release: Yes
  • Height: 10.2 cm / 4 in.
  • Camera Mount: 1/4"-20
  • Tripod Mount: 3/8"-16
  • Maximum Load Capacity: 6 kg / 13.2 lbs
  • Weight: 0.45 kg / 1 lb

Keywords: Manfrotto Ballhead Quick-Release


Odradek

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 6
Manfrotto 486 Compact Ball Head with RC2 Rapid Connect System review by Odradek
Review Date: 1/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $30.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Bought it used but in mint condition, and it was my best purchase in the stabilization department up to now. It locks my D70 + any lens I own securely, but I have the fredom to change my settings with just a twist of the lever: landscape to portrait in an instant, without having to hussle with various knobs and levers.
An amateur must have...
_Mike_D

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 12
Manfrotto 486 Compact Ball Head with RC2 Rapid Connect System review by _Mike_D
Review Date: 1/1/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $80.00| Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Solid, well built, sturdy
Cons: Locking arm dosn't quite feel locked (but it is)

This is my first real tripod head, until now I have relied on cheap wal-mart tripods.


This is a fantastic head, it is solid, well built, and easy to handle. Once you torque down the lever, the ball is /not/ going to move.


My only minor annoyance is that when you torque down the lever, it dosn't feel like it is locked. It feels like you should need to torque it down more. But, this is a minor thing because it really is locked down.
Zinger

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 8
Manfrotto 486 Compact Ball Head with RC2 Rapid Connect System review by Zinger
Review Date: 12/23/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $80.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Size, holding power, "safety" lockout for release lever
Cons: None for me thus far

While not as versatile as the 488 due to the lack of separate ball/rotation controls, this is an excellent head for its size and price.


I've used it with the 100-400 Canon L, and it held with no problems (in 10 deg F weather, I might add).


There is a very slight "droop" when using the heavier lenses, but nothing that can't be compensated for easily. My guess (corroborated by others' reviews) is that almost all of the heads under $250 will have some slight droop.


The secondary brass safety catch is a nice feature to prevent catastrophic loss if you accidentally hit the release lever.


In its price range, a very nice unit indeed.
CocoMonGo

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 8
Manfrotto 486 Compact Ball Head with RC2 Rapid Connect System review by CocoMonGo
Review Date: 12/15/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $95.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Good built, secondary locking
Cons: Unlocked, the ball is not 100% free, making it tough to move the head

I have compared Manfrotto's 141RC pan-tilt head with the 486, and decided on this because I found the 3-way head too slow to operate. The head is generally smooth even with a heavy load on it, and with one hand on the locking lever and one on the camera, all 3 axis of the camera can be adjusted, locked shutter released in less then a second. The head on the locked position is VERY secure. Tightened sufficiently, you cannot force the ball to tilt in any position unless you REALLY FORCE it (which I do not recomment).


Locking the camera down is quick very secure as is when the primary lever is released into place, and the secondary locking (small bronze lever) is great in times where you might accidentally release the primary lever. Release is also quick and smooth even when both locks are engaged.


The only problem I have with this head is that the ball (head) is held in 'locked' position by the body and the base plate. Without any springs to separate the body from the ball when released, this head can sometimes become 'not-so-smooth' and difficult to move. Though not a show stopper, it is annoying when you need those fine movements made.
razorblack

Registered: February 2006
Posts: 7
Manfrotto 486 Compact Ball Head with RC2 Rapid Connect System review by razorblack
Review Date: 12/7/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $81.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: sturdy, rugged
Cons: stick-slips sometimes

Good, sturdy, functional, no-frills ball-head.


Movement is not the smoothest or most uniform ever... it's quite lacking in that respect sometimes. But it works well enough, and has a predictable and reliable behaviour. The secondary lock mechanism (the little copper lever in the photo) on the main lock is a nice touch which gives peace of mind once it's on.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.