SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
6 68576 10/13/2008
Recommended By Average Purchase
50% of reviewers $487.50
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
6.33
spacerspacer
6.50
spacerspacer
6.83
1EF75-300f4-56ISa.jpg


Keywords: Canon EF Tele Zoom 35mm IS Stabilized USM


Spaceclown

Registered: October 2008
Posts: 3
Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM review by Spaceclown
Review Date: 10/13/2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $650.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: IS and cost/performance ratio
Cons: It is past its prime

First, my ratings are based by 2008 standards and not the 1996 standards. In 1996 the ratings would be 9 overall, 8 construction, and 9 image quality (with IS on)


I bought the this lens in Tokyo when I was stationed in Japan in 1996 for around $650 (it was a heck-of-a-bargain in '96). I was using a Canon ELAN IIE 35mm.


When I got this lens it knocked everyone's socks off. My friends with Nikons with consumer xx-300mm telezoom lens couldn't compete. The Canon 75-300mm IS is soft above 250mm; however in 1996 the IS more than made up for the optics' flaws.


Now years later, this lens is past it prime. Especially with APS-C (1.6 crop) digital SLRs. One could say it now has a 480mm focal length, but the image quality is sub-par (you can compensate a little by setting the ISO to 1600+, and let the larger grain mask some of the softness). In 1996 this lens was king, but now is too long in the tooth.


I won't sell this lens, I have too much respect for it and will make it part of my collection (after all it was the first interchangeable SLR lens with IS). But it will sit idle as I move on to its successors.
Lee Jay

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 16
Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM review by Lee Jay
Review Date: 1/7/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Cheap, IS
Cons: Slow focusing, rotating barrel, no FTM

This lens doesn't have anywhere near as bad of image qualty as others might lead you to believe. That said, the new 70-300IS is better in every way.
tdotduffman

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 10
Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM review by tdotduffman
Review Date: 12/31/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Fairly lightweight, pretty fast AF in good light, sharp enough to ~250mm
Cons: Very soft above 250mm (in certain conditions — it's not all bad up there)

Sure, it's an older, consumer lens, but if that's what you have then that's what you've got to use. Rather soft between 250-300mm, and CA is high around those ranges as well. AF can miss sometimes, and that's a huge range for the glass to cycle through when it doesn't catch. Manual focus is difficult due to the looseness of the ring.


All that said, the IS is useful (makes a loud *thunk* when activated, but that doesn't affect performance). Moreover, under 200mm, the image quality is really quite decent. The zoom ring sounds harsh (sounds like sliding a cardboard box over felt carpet) but is easily wieldable and not sticky. The front end extends significantly, but one doesn't notice at all when caught up in the action of the event. This lens is a splendid budget tool for outdoor sports, and can achieve high enough shutter speeds that the softness at 300mm is unnoticed if one catches a contorted player up close. However, I would advise against using it in any indoor situation without flash if there is to be any subject movement at all; still life could be fine, but even slow-moving novice ice-skaters will force the ISO up to 1600. Lastly, it's rather light and good for traveling.
SteveR12682

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 10
Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM review by SteveR12682
Review Date: 12/30/2006 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros:
Cons: Soft at the long end of the focal range

This lens becomes very soft once you get past 200 mm, and, unfortunately, this is where it is most likely to be used. The IS system works well. It appears that the new 70-300 IS is a much improved lens compared to this version.
jeffn

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 6
Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM review by jeffn
Review Date: 11/25/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: It works as advertised.
Cons: Soft on the long end.

In the 75-180mm range, this lens is very good. After that it's a long descent into marginally acceptable softness. At the long end, you really do have to stop down to f11 to get any kind of reasonable sharpness.


So above 200mm the IS is simply compensating for the lens' other shortcomings.


This is Canon's first generation IS so there is no panning and it's good for a two-stop advantage max.
Abdee

Registered: January 2006
Posts: 2
Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM review by Abdee
Review Date: 1/23/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: IS, IS and, yes, IS
Cons: Focus on slow side, not very robust

I got this lens last week at very nice price. Thanx Axel (:


I got it but i had some reserves based on reviews on internet and mixed feedback from forums. First thing that you notice is it's IS system that keeps worries about 1/300 or 1/400 away from you and lets you concentrate on shooting. Optical performance is very nice up to 200mm. Even at 250mm you still can get good results if stoped down. At 300mm it is good only at f10/f11... IS, although first gen, works nice and gives me 2-3 f stops of "freedom". Build quality i OK. I won't shoot in Iraq so I don't bother with fact that it's made of plastic... I'm happy with it. Younger brother a.k.a. 70-300 IS is much better but it's also very expensive so if youre on a budget and still need that nice silver badge on lens try to find one of these...


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.