SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
7 23218 1/25/2011
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $130.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
7.63
spacerspacer
8.43
spacerspacer
8.13
1kenko-extubesetdg.jpg


(From company literature) Kenko DG Teleplus Auto Extension Tube Set. Extension tubes are designed to enable a lens to focus closer than its normal set minimum focusing distance. Getting closer has the effect of magnifying your subject (making it appear larger in the viewfinder and in your pictures). They are exceptionally useful for macro photography, enabling you to convert almost any lens into a macro lens at a fraction of the cost while maintaining its original optical quality.


The DG extension tubes have no optics. They are mounted in between the camera body and lens to create more distance between the lens and film plane or imaging sensor. By moving the lens father away from the film or sensor in the camera, the lens is forced to focus much closer than normal. The greater the length of the extension tube, the closer the lens can focus. This DG Extension tube set has been upgraded to work better with digital SLR's and some digital only lenses while maintaining compatibility with full-frame lenses.


The Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set contains three tubes of different length, a 12 mm, 20 mm, and 36 mm, which can be used individually or in any combination to obtain the desired magnification. Kenko also makes a DG Unitube 12 mm or 25 mm which can be purchased individually.


Kenko's Auto Focus extension tubes are designed with all the circuitry and mechanical coupling to maintain auto focus and TTL auto exposure with most Canon and Nikon lenses, given there is enough light to activate the cameras AF system properly.


Please Note:

  1. When using extension tubes the lens will not focus to infinity. The focus range will be greatly limited to a very close focusing distance.
  2. There is light fall off when using any extension tube, sometimes the equivalent of 3 f-stops of light is lost when using multiple extension tubes together. This light lost can affect the camera's ability to auto focus. Manual focusing is recommended should the lens begin to "hunt" (not lock onto the subject).
  3. Canon EF-S lenses will not mount on the Kenko DG Extension Tube Set. These lenses include but not limited to EF-S 10-22, EF-S 17-85, EF-S 18-55, and EF-S 60mm Macro.
  4. Nikon "D" information is not transmitted because the lens is focusing closer than its programmed to focus.
  5. Kenko Auto Extension Tubes are not auto focus compatible with Nikon AF-S (Silent Wave) lenses, manual focusing is required with these lenses.

Specifications:

  • Extension: 36mm, 20mm, 12mm or any combination
  • Dimensions (Length x Width): 36mm/1.42 in., 20mm/0.8 in., 12mm/0.5 in. x 62mm/2.4 in.
  • Weight: 125g/4.4 oz, 85g/3 oz, 60g/2.1 oz (36mm, 20mm, 12mm respectively)
  • Available Mounts: Canon, Nikon
  • Notes: Diaphragm and metering coupling for full auto-exposure; Includes front and rear caps

Keywords: Kenko Canon Nikon Extension-Tube Set DG


steve

Registered: January 2011
Posts: 2
Kenko DG Teleplus Auto Extension Tube Set review by steve
Review Date: 1/25/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Cheaper then canon
Cons: front and back caps flimsy

You mite note that they are same as the canon tubes it's made Buy Kenko but one canon is $230 cn but the Kenko is $279 cn for all three.They really work well i use them on all my lenses 50mm to 100-400mm canon .There are some cheaper tubes out there but the contacts on them may harm your lens or camera body contacts so stay away from them, Kenko contacts are well made and won't harm your lens or camera body......
nathanielgeorgeweir

Registered: December 2009
Posts: 3
Kenko DG Teleplus Auto Extension Tube Set review by nathanielgeorgeweir
Review Date: 12/23/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $200.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Maintains full sharpness of lens, Light weight, can get 3:1 life size, small, many different combos
Cons: Severe loss of light, cannot focus to infinity, af is imposible

I am 14 years old and got these tubes to get a taste of macro. I was totally surprised when I found out that with all three tubes on, I could get 3:1 life size on a 24mm lens. Only bad things about these tubes is loss of light and cannot focus to infinity. Overall an amazing product.
thomiz

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 16
Kenko DG Teleplus Auto Extension Tube Set review by thomiz
Review Date: 1/11/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: inexpensive, lightweight
Cons: Not the same sharpness and versatility as real macro lense

I have used these extention tubes with Canon 50mm 1.4, 200mm L 2.8 and Carl Zeiss 35mm 2.8 and 85mm 1.4. You actually get full AF and stop down action with Canon lenses and these tubes. The greatest enlargement is achieved with the 35mm but then there is no working distance and therefore it is not very good to work with. I think they work OK with the EF 50mm but it is not really sharp across the field even at f/8. The best combination in my opinion is the 36mm and the 200mm L. I have shot some nice bug pictures witht this combination, but the magnification is not great enough, so you also get a lot of background. I do miss a real macro lense to the extent that I am planning to get one.
NYCMario

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 4
Kenko DG Teleplus Auto Extension Tube Set review by NYCMario
Review Date: 12/14/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $150.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Gets you closer
Cons: Results may not be what you expect

I wasn't really impressed with the build quality of these tubes, but in all honest there isn't much to them as they are hollow. But mounting and unmounting them just felt 'odd'.


You can't rate the image quality of these items because there is no glass. But you should be aware that the way that extension tubes wind up magnifying the flaws of the lens you use with it. So if you it with a soft lens, expect it to appear softer.


Extension tubes also work best with smaller focal length lenses, like 50mm. Longer lenses like telephoto lenses will benefit less.


As to focusing, with some lenses you will find your focusing range to be so small that you will basically have better luck focusing by moving the camera back and forth instead of using the lens.
killersnowman

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 10
Kenko DG Teleplus Auto Extension Tube Set review by killersnowman
Review Date: 12/12/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $50.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: make any lens a macro lens
Cons: none

great peices of equipment. retains auto focus. has not effect on image quality because there is no glass.


i took the ef mount off the smallest one and put it on an old 400mm f4 sigma lens that i got a great deal on! very usefull.


a must have for macro enthusiests
Neogene

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 8
Kenko DG Teleplus Auto Extension Tube Set review by Neogene
Review Date: 11/30/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $120.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: No glass so perfect pictures, Auto still usable.
Cons: Price. No af for af-s lenses.

I preferred this to the non Af enabled model because i believed that it worked better.


No, the AF isn't able to block with my 50mm if i use the three rings.



So i suggest a non auto and save some money. Suggested for build quality.
ddesimoni

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 12
Kenko DG Teleplus Auto Extension Tube Set review by ddesimoni
Review Date: 11/18/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great way to enjoy macro photography
Cons: none

purchase on ebay through a seller from japan, took about 2 weeks to receive.


found that my 50mm 1.8 gave me the best macro but my 400mm gave me a 2:1 apx macro but my distance from the subject was far enough from the object (bugs) to not scare anyone away.


since there is no lens element, the sharpness resides in the quality of the lense used.


fun time to spend to see objects in a completely difference perspective.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.