SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 12866 1/5/2007
Recommended By Average Purchase
75% of reviewers $125.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacer
10.00
spacer
10.00
spacerspacer
8.33
1canon-ef25II.jpg


(From company literature) Canon EF-25 II 25mm Extension Tube. Redesigned to accommodate EF-S mount lenses and their extended rear elements. Compatible with all previous EF and TS-E lenses, and every EOS film or Digital SLR. The white mount index is for EF-S lenses while the red index is for use with EF and TS-E lenses. Recommended for focal lengths of 50mm and up.


For detailed lens compatibility, AF operation and reproduction ratios, see: http://www.usa.canon.com/eflenses/pdf/spec.pdf



Specifications:

  • Extension: 25mm
  • Dimensions (Length x Width): 27mm x 67mm / 1.06 in. x 2.64 in.
  • Weight: 95g / 3.4 oz
  • Notes: Includes dust caps

Keywords: Canon Extension-Tube


mebailey

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 21
Canon EF-25 II Extension Tube review by mebailey
Review Date: 1/5/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Its a great tube but very expensive.
garys

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 12
Canon EF-25 II Extension Tube review by garys
Review Date: 1/1/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: good build quality
Cons: high price

Very well built and flawless function, but I paid a lot for "air space". If I had an immediate need and a lack of options, I would recommend a third party set for the same price or less
terryf

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 10
Canon EF-25 II Extension Tube review by terryf
Review Date: 12/4/2006 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $125.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: It works just as it should
Cons: Very expensive for what you get.

An extension tube does not provide much to review. When you look at this Canon extension tube it does provide an impression of a very high quality of construction. But there is very little to it. There are the electrical contacts to transmit information from the lens to the camera and the latch to securely fasten them all together - but beyond that it is just a tube. While I have not tried any other brand I can not help but think that they must offer a better value. I will say that this extension tube does work well in combination with a long, fast lens for photographing insects (a situation where you want a tight close-up while staying as far away as possible from your subject). My EF25 works perfectly and I reduced the overall rating only because it seems like it is a poor value. For the same reason I can not recommend it.
gadgetguy

Registered: May 2006
Posts: 62
Canon EF-25 II Extension Tube review by gadgetguy
Review Date: 12/3/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 0 

 
Pros: cheap way to go macro
Cons: light loss (common to all extension tubes), pricey, no infinity focus

This is the cheapest way to get closer to your subject, but do know that you cna focus only on close subject with one of these on. Many times it's better to "focus" by moving your camera back and forth.


This will give you significant light loss, so bright lenses help (for both manual and autofocus). Also, since it's virtually just "space" you're buying you may want to save some $$$ for a third party option which is essentially the same thing.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.