SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
5 71428 3/3/2008
Recommended By Average Purchase
80% of reviewers $1,600.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.20
spacerspacer
6.80
spacerspacer
7.20
1EF14f28a.jpg


Keywords: Canon EF Wide Prime 35mm L USM Tested


lextalionis

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 82
Canon EF 14mm f/2.8L USM review by lextalionis
Review Date: 3/3/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,000.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Build is very solid and distortion is low.
Cons: Flare and soft edges

Honestly $2000 is hard to justify on this lens. Don't get me wrong, it a very nice lens and IQ is definitely very good among its class.


Here are some sample shots taken with a 5D (take note to some comparison shots between the MkII version and this lens, interesting finds with flare and soft edges):
Sample Photos


-Lex
rainerknappe

Registered: May 2007
Posts: 24
Canon EF 14mm f/2.8L USM review by rainerknappe
Review Date: 5/17/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: good construccion
Cons: bulky and not very good picture-quality

I made a very long test with this Canon L 14. Not worth even 1000$. The only good fact is the solid construccion. The pricetag of 2000$ is a bad joke. Strong resolution-fall-off at the borders, only the center is quiet good. Colours are a bit washed out and flare is a real big problem. Distortion is only acceptable and you will see some cornershading. May be this lens is made for film, but on digital its realy nothing special. There are a lot of good L-lenses around, but the L 14 is not worth a deeper look! If you like extrem wideangels you can buy the very good prime Sigma EX DG 14 (550$) or the fantastic zoom Tokina 12-24 PRO AX (450$).
gadgetguy

Registered: May 2006
Posts: 62
Canon EF 14mm f/2.8L USM review by gadgetguy
Review Date: 1/5/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: W-I-D-E
Cons: image quality not right up there

This is one of the widest rectilinear lenses you can get, and with L-series quality to boot. However, it's not quite on par as other L lenses (maybe it needs an updated version).


For it's price, though, I'd recommend the 16-35/2.8L zoom - sure it's not as wide, but optically better and you get the zoom to0.
cjbowlsby

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 17
Canon EF 14mm f/2.8L USM review by cjbowlsby
Review Date: 12/28/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: size, focal length, built in hood, wide aperture, speed of focus
Cons: flare, goofy lens cap

I really like this lens. It's REALLY fast & accurate to focus. It's 2.8 aperture is very usefull in dark environments.


It gets pretty soft in the corners on a full frame wide open. But on a cropped sensor, it's a very useful 22mm equivalent, and sharp to boot.


I keep flip-flopping between keeping this on my 20d, or the 10-22. They are roughly the same size. The 14mm is brighter, but the 10-22 is less prone to flare & has the flexibility of zoom (and is less expensive).


I dislike the large metal lens cap. It doesn't fasten to the lens very well.
photogjack

Registered: July 2006
Posts: 9
Canon EF 14mm f/2.8L USM review by photogjack
Review Date: 12/8/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,200.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: really, really wide
Cons: a flare monster

This is my least favorite Canon lens. When you need a really wide lens (on full frame) this is it. On cropped bodies, the 10-22 is probably a better choice. But my copy flares almost uncontrollably and is not terribly sharp. (My 15mm fisheye has better flare control and I think it is sharper, but it obviously has the FE thing going.) I recommend this lens for people who really need a wide angle and are prepared to deal with its foibles. But I think a lot of people will be disappointed with it. jack


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.