SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
4 42416 10/4/2009
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $521.50
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.25
spacerspacer
9.00
spacerspacer
8.50
1EF15_28a.jpg


Keywords: Canon EF Fisheye Wide Prime 35mm


Akeyzerr

Registered: May 2008
Posts: 3
Canon EF 15mm f/2.8 Fisheye review by Akeyzerr
Review Date: 10/4/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $620.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: IQ, Size, 2,8
Cons: noisy AF, non FTM

I bought this lens as ultra wide for my Canon 40D and when I upgraded to 5D and 1D Mk III I rediscovered the lens once again. The only non-L lens in my bag.
perpera

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 13
Canon EF 15mm f/2.8 Fisheye review by perpera
Review Date: 12/23/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $616.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp and lightweight, very resistant to flare
Cons: AF noisy

My copy of this excellent lens is sharp wide open in center and sharp from corner to corner at 5.6.
The only con is a very noisy AF when compared to USM.
Very recommendable.
photogjack

Registered: July 2006
Posts: 9
Canon EF 15mm f/2.8 Fisheye review by photogjack
Review Date: 12/8/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $350.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: It is a fisheye
Cons: it is a fisheye

I have this and the 14mm f2.8 L. I prefer this lens. At least in my case, this lens is sharper and has better flare control. (Although my 14 focuses a little faster.) Fisheyes are cool but you should use them sparingly, like once per assignment or maybe just once a month or every couple of months. The look can get tedious pretty quickly. That said, in the right hands this is a really fun, useful lens. On the 1.6 crop bodies this is a useful lens - it crops out most of the Fisheye effect and gives you a kind of interesting wide angle look. jack
cold_fire

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 5
Canon EF 15mm f/2.8 Fisheye review by cold_fire
Review Date: 11/7/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: sharp stopped down, small, light, good build quality
Cons: a bit soft wide open, CAs at image borders, the cap always tends to come off in the bag, loud AF actuator

I'm using it on a 1.3 crop factor body and, although the sharpness remains rather consistent across the frame, CAs almost ruin the picture at the edges and never vanish even at f22. Perspective is really wild and most of the times brings lots of smiles.


Should not be used for more than one picture a mount as the FE effect tends to lose it's appeal when used often.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.