SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
7 9726 1/15/2007
Recommended By Average Purchase
86% of reviewers $34.60
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
7.50
No ratings
spacerspacer
7.80
1lowepro-toploadzoom1.jpg


(From company literature) Lowepro Topload Zoom 1. This compact bag includes a reverse-open lid, inner mesh pocket, front zip pocket and padded hand grip. Use the non-slip shoulder strap or slide a belt through the loop on the padded back.



Specifications:

  • Type: Holster Bag
  • Available Colors: Black, Forest Green/Black, Navy Blue/Black, Red/Black
  • Outer Fabric: Water-resistant 600D TXP™ and 600D TXP™ ripstop
  • Type of Closure: Zippers
  • Capacity: Compact SLR with wide angle or compact zoom lens and accessories
  • Interior Dimensions (W x D x H): 16.5 x 11.5 x 19.5 cm / 6.5 x 4.5 x 7.75 in.
  • Exterior Dimensions (W x D x H): Unspecified
  • Weight: 196 g / 7 oz
  • Notes: Use the optional Topload Zoom Chest Harness for rock-solid stability, even in extreme conditions and demanding sports; Slide your own belt or an optional Belt & Buckle through the belt slot; The reverse-open lid provides easy access in rugged conditions

Keywords: Lowepro Holster-Bag


matthewporter

Registered: August 2006
Posts: 12
Lowepro Topload Zoom 1 review by matthewporter
Review Date: 1/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $38.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Protection, Price
Cons: None!

Actual amount paid: £20(GBP)


Having purchased this bag six years ago for my film SLR I was pleased to find that it fitted my Nikon D50 perfectly. The elastic film loops are a little redundant but the internal pocket is ideal for memory cards. The external pocket is good for a filter and lens caps but can expand to take both the charger and data cable when away for longer.


This bag is a good size and I can fit the D50 in with either the fairly long Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6G fitted or a shorter, bulkier lens such as the Sigma 30mm f/1.4 EX DC HSM with hood inverted. Plenty of attachments points are provided on the sides for additional lens cases and the provided shoulder strap is very robust.


It provides the protection I have come to expect from a LowePro bag and while it does add a fair bit of bulk I can be sure that the camera will be in one piece when I need it.
hbcc100

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 6
Lowepro Topload Zoom 1 review by hbcc100
Review Date: 1/14/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I am using this bag for a Nikon D50 and it fits very well. The downside is that you can't take any spare lenses in it, but because of that it is small enough to fit in a rucksack. The padding is adequate, but I probably still wouldn't recommend dropping your camera from great heights in it!
thomiz

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 16
Lowepro Topload Zoom 1 review by thomiz
Review Date: 1/10/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Adequate
Cons: A little small, lacks AW cover

A nice bag for one lense/SLR combination. But I soon grew out of this one and had to purchase it larger brother the TLZ AW. It can really only hold one small extra lense and then without any padding.
rankatz

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 3
Lowepro Topload Zoom 1 review by rankatz
Review Date: 1/9/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $30.00| Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Small, lightweight, fits small SLRs with "not too large" zoom lens perfectly
Cons: not enough storage space

Like other reviewers have said, it fits the camera perfectly but not much more - we can fit our Minolta Maxxum 4 with its 28-80 zoom lens perfectly (with some room to spare on the lens end).
however we can only fit about 2 rolls of film and a pair of batteries in the storage compartment, we didn't have room for the camera's instruction manual (a small booklet) which was a bit disappointing when we just got the camera (and bag) and needed the reference with us...
Apart from the storage space it is great to walk around with and we are happy with the purchase.
JoeSchu

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 5
Lowepro Topload Zoom 1 review by JoeSchu
Review Date: 12/5/2006 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $40.00| Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Compact
Cons: Too compact, zipper pulls broke

I made a mistake w/ this one. I hoped a good top-loader would save me from needing a better strap, unfortunately, this one is just too small, and there's no substitute for a good strap. I think a toploader is a good idea, I'd just go w/ a much bigger one!
xavier

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 12
Lowepro Topload Zoom 1 review by xavier
Review Date: 11/24/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $40.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: small bag, for a cheap price, good protection of the equipment.
Cons: limited storage.

I have used both the current and the previous version of this bag, and fitted in it the following cameras:
- Minolta Maxxum 404 Si, with 28-80 lens
- Minolta Maxxum 7, with 24-105 lens + hood
- Canon 10 D, with 17-40 lens with hood reversed.


I found the storage rather limited, which is the reason why I mainly use a Nova 2 instead now. I stoped using this series of bag, when I found I was too upset removing the hood of my 17-40 every time I would put the camera back in the bag.


That being said, these bags are great for their reasonable size and price and for the protection they offer, even though these are not "All-Weather" bags. In particular, I fell in a creek in Iceland, with my Minolta Maxxum 7 + 24-105 lens in Topload Zoom 1 in backpack; even though I went out after a couple of seconds, most of the stuffs in the backpack were wet and so was the exterior of the Topload Zoom 1, but the inside was still ok; so it did slow down the water for these few seconds, which saved my equipment (in fact almost all the group fell in the creek in the same time, and many cameras were dead this night). This day, I knew I would use Lowepro bags for a long time! (and I was not wrong).


I found the newer version a little less convenient due to the tight zipper lock, but that is no big deal. In the other hand, the new version features a front pocket, which is very handy to store compact flash cards and an extra battery.


I think this bag should work very well for a small DSLR kit (like 400D + 17-85 or D70 + 18-70) and recommend it.
maxx

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 6
Lowepro Topload Zoom 1 review by maxx
Review Date: 4/24/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $25.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Compact; reverse opening lid for quick access while carrying it
Cons: Front pocket has no padding

This is my vacation and "walk around" camera bag. I bought it for my Nikon F80 35mm film SLR. Now I use it with my D70s DSLR. This bag is the perfect size for a D70 (or D50) with a mounted 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6 lens, plus a 50mm f/1.8 lens and an extra battery or two in the front pocket. I keep lens paper and CF cards in the lid pocket.


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.